We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B & B, lovely neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Magnolia Mansion to your Saves list
Magnolia Mansion
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   2127 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful B & B, lovely neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

For starters, we were upgraded to the Gone With the Wind room. This room is lovely. This mansion is beautiful. Yes, it is quiet, clean, and secure in a beautiful part of town. Being located one block of the trolley line was awesome. The coffee was on every morning and very good. An authentic, hot Southern breakfast would have been nice. We learned that B & B's are required to get an additional license to do this.The double, claw-foot tub was great, but a hand-held shower wand doesn't replace a real shower. There was ample hot water, which isn't always the case. The site manager was very nice. The owners were around and always asked us if we had what we needed. I would recommend the Magnolia Mansion to couples seeking a friendly, quiet stay in a beautiful mansion and a good night's sleep. We felt safe in the area and enjoyed the Garden District. We plan to return to New Orleans and will consider staying here, again.

Room Tip: The Gone With the Wind room does not have a standing shower, but is easily accessible on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    28
    6
    8
    17
See reviews for
8
63
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I are so disgusted by our experience that we feel it must be known even though we began to hate online reviews, period.

We booked more than 7 months ago for our third stay. We absolutely fell in love with the place during our initial visit, having happened upon it randomly on the internet. It is truly grand, with lovely themed rooms and the overall feel that you've stepped back in time. The breakfast isn't the best, but it's New Orleans and there are many tasty restaurants just up the street on historic St. Charles Ave and via the streetcar downtown. Hollie the owner and Jay her houseman were extremely helpful, gracious and we felt that they really wanted us to have an excellent NOLA experience on both our 1st and 2nd stays.

We stayed over this past weekend. Upon check-in, with no one really there to great us, we found out from a housekeeper that the property had been sold. Without creating many paragraphs, here is the summary:
*On Saturday, no one was around to help us with a cab or with a few small questions about the streetcar - literally, no one. We walked around the first floor, knocked on the kitchen door, knocked on the innkeepers door and even rang the bell but not a soul was around to help us. We could've robbed the place blind!

*Sunday breakfast was horrible. Some frantic woman was throwing disgusting muffins from Costco and Sunny Delight bottles on the table with old bananas. Even though the sign said that coffee is available at 7:30AM every day....there was no coffee until after breakfast was being set out.

*When my husband went back downstairs to check on coffee, the new owner was at the table, on his cell phone with paperwork and wads of money laying in front of him, he was shouting on the phone and the phone was ringing constantly. It was Sunday morning at a Bed & Breakfast! Usually the places are quiet and serene like a library - this man was ranting and raving like a lunatic.

*The doorbell starting buzzing and ringing non-stop. After about 10 times, I walked and peeked thru the staircase to see what the h*ll was going on and saw a bunch of people coming in and sitting around. We both went downstairs again to get coffee but the owner was still at the table taking to someone and had others sitting at the table with him having a meeting. We were too uncomfortable to ask for any coffee so we decided to go out. While walking out of the gate we met a woman who was coming in with what looked like a file so I asked, "Out of curiousity, what are you coming here to do?" She said, "A job interview." The new owner was conducting job interviews and letting unknown people walk all around the place. Unacceptable!

We got back late that night after a terrific dinner at Sylvain's, actually looking forward to leave the next morning. Went down for coffee to again find the frantic woman there again this time with pre-packaged powdered donettes (!!!) and tiny juice boxes and the same crummy Costco muffins. No thanks! On our way out, we were going to drop our keys with the owner who was now at the table on his phone actually (you can't make this stuff up) yelling at someone, so we stood awkwardly at the front of the table waiting for him to get off, which he never did. We put our key on the (unoccupied) host desk and left. It was the most bizarrely inappropriate business transaction we have ever suffered. We will NEVER stay here again and are making a formal complaint to Expedia and to the BBB.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
288JenniferD, Manager at Magnolia Mansion, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hello,

We are very sorry to hear about your experience. We did transition recently to new ownership and as with anything new there were some kinks and bumps we had to work out.

I personally brought your review to the owners attention and he sincerely apologizes for the noise and awkward interaction during breakfast. We are sad to hear you won't be staying with us in the future and certainly hope to remedy that.

Should you like to give us another chance, now that everything is running smoothly and we have a fully staffed location, we would love to prove to you that we appreciate your business.

Thank you,
Jennifer Dredge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I couldn't believe my eyes when I walked into this place...WOW! Its beautiful inside and out. We were greeted by Holly like she was welcoming us into her home. We were told about the rules and they were all very resonable. Never made it down during breakfast time but when we did make it down, we were offered pastries and other snacks are always available. The only thing I would change is to have coffee available all the time as apposed to just during breakfast hours. We were given great recommedations of things to do and check out. Our room was perfect and the place was very romantic and quiet. This was our 1st trip together and we were very pleased and enjoyed our stay immensely. Would recommend this place for anyone looking for a quieter place away from all the French Quater hussle and bussel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I didn't realize when I wrote my impromptu review, intending to counterbalance what I thought was an unfair review, that once written, one may not review again for an extended period of time. You get one chance! So here I am again simply to say that our visit to Magnolia Mansion felt like such an immersion in the history and flair of this amazing city. Lovely period-decorated guest rooms in a gracious manor was what we experienced. While, yes, it is a mansion with many rules, and I was a bit taken aback by this at first, I quickly learned to appreciate the importance of good stewardship in maintaining and sharing such an historic and opulent residence. How fortunate we were to be guests of Hollie and her staff. Would we go back? You bet!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Magnolia Mansion was the highlight of our trip to the States. We spent 3 nights there. I actually had a tear in my eye when we left. Hollie and her staff were amazing. They could not do enough for us. From the second we arrived we were made to feel so special. I cannot speak highly enough of our experience there. Dont listen to the breakfast reviews. No idea why people are negative about it. We looked forward to our breakfast each morning. Especially the experience of sitting at the dining table. Hollie your are the best.

Room Tip: Any room will do. They are all exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Magnolia Mansion is a lovely, historic property in the garden district with all of the charm of an era past. We enjoyed three nights in the Gone With The Wind suite. The decor of the suite and common rooms is opulent. Hollie Vest, the owner, was simply wonderful and works tirelessly to ensure that her guests have a delightful holiday. She provided us with fabulous concierge service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnolia Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Mansion

Address: 2127 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults Only-21 Years or Older -No Children/No Pets. Known for Peaceful Leisure Travel and Romantic Getaways, Elopement Packages, Business Travelers, and those seeking a quiet stay in a historic property (built 1858). We are centrally located in the Garden District, just steps from the Saint Charles Street Car, Mardi Gras Parade Routes, and only minutes from the Superdome, F.Q., Convention Center, Restaurants, and most major attractions. Non-Smoking property, however smoking is allowed outside in a designated area on our wrap around Veranda. Magnolia Mansion is 14,000 Sq. Ft. and the Courtyards and Grounds are Gated and Locked. Only Registered Guests are allowed on Property at All Times, Unless Approved by Management or Owner in Advance. Office hours are 9am-4pm CST Monday-Friday / Saturday – Sunday 9am-2pm CST. Check- In Time- 2:00pm - 6:30pm CST. All Guests Requiring Early or Late Arrivals Must Call Magnolia Mansion Directly to Notify and Arrange Prior to Arrival Date, as Special Arrangements Must Be Made in Order to Accommodate this Request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnolia Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Mansion Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.