We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff in New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Homewood Suites New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off for Military!
Ranked #75 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Austin, United States
2 reviews
“Great staff in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The staff at this hotel is very good. Had a security issue that was handled quickly and quietly by Lucy at the front desk. I would feel safe at this hotel. The pool is beautiful. The coffee was good and the breakfast offered good variety. The hotel is close to several good restaurants and the Amtrak station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    184
    70
    58
    19
See reviews for
214
90
20
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed here for June-July 2013 for a business trip where I commuted daily to Norco (west of the airport). My wife came with me.

We enjoyed the staying at the hotel, particularly the large rooms with kitchen and the free breakfast/dinner service daily (dinner is Monday-Thursday). The hotel gave free Abita Amber from 5-7PM which was amazing. Some rooms do have a perpetually humid/damp smell, but you can ask for a dehumidifier and they are happy to oblige. This is pretty common of hotel rooms in the south.

The location is excellent for those wishing to enjoy the sights of New Orleans but who want to avoid terrible traffic/parking/crime of Canal Street just a few blocks over. Poydras is a great street to commute from, and I found the daily parking lot next to Homewood to always have room. The concierge helped us pick out several tours when we first arrived, and we found our location very accessible for exploring beyond the normal short-term tourist.

This is a great hotel to stay at for a long-term business stay, particularly if you like to cook. There is a Rouses grocery store (similar to Whole Foods) with great selection just 2 blocks away, and a variety of gyms (such as Elmwood's 2 week free trial) nearby if you want more than the hotel gym. We are staying here again in August because we were completely satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor to avoid long elevator wait times
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Love love this Hotel. Stayed here 2 years ago and was so excited to be going back. Staff is amazing! Powell, Cheryl, Kylie, Johnny and Calvin to name a few. Everyone I came into contact with was so helpful. There is a grocery store I went to just a couple blocks away that was not there before. Location is very desirable. Close to everything but a nice peaceful property. the best of both worlds. full kitchen is an added plus when you will be there for more than an overnight. Homewood Suites are known for their amenities. good breakfast and light dinner Mon-Thurs. we even got birthday cake for August Birthdays while we were there. This Hotel is a Class Act. Thanks again for another fabulous vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Kylie showed us exactly where the safest and most tourist friendly places were. Everywhere she recommended was amazing. Had one of the best steaks I've ever had at Crescent City Brewhouse(a place I would have never known about without her). The tours she suggested were also much better than I even expected.

The hotel needs better maintenance. My furniture was excessively worn and in very very poor condition. I wish I could upload the pictures for you to see how bad it was.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed last week at these Homewood Suites. It was great! The service, facilities and location were excellent, but not the best part. Kylie, the concierge was fantastic. When we first arrived we sat down with her and she helped us plan all four days, minute by minute. The tours and restaurants she recommended were all fantastic. She gave us a walking map, tips about traveling around the city and some great money saving coupons. I would highly recommend letting her help you and be sure to make her desk in the lobby your first stop!

Room Tip: We were in the two bedroom suite. It was a kitchen, living room with a pullout and flat screen TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel has it all: A great location, an excellent and friendly staff, and squeeky clean, high quality accomodations. By far the most noticible aspect of this particular Homewood Suites is the absolutely superior Concierge service provided by Kylie. Her over the top recommendations, discounts, and friendly smile made the entire trip one of the most enjoyable I have ever been on. New Orleans is a maze of activity and can be overwhelming to a first time visitor. Kylie was able to put everything in perspective, and laid out a comprehensive and customized itinerary, down to the last detail. I cannot say enough about this hotel, it's staff, and the great experience it presents. If staying in NOLA, stay here. And see Kylie!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location. Helpful and courteous hotel staff. The breakfast is great and the evening manager's reception is like a complete meal. No complaints. I'm recommending it to my son who frequently goes to New Orleans on business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.