We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites New Orleans to your Saves list
Homewood Suites New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Atlantis Offer!
Ranked #88 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I spent a week here and the hotel & location couldn't have been better. The hotel was within an easy walk of the French Quarter and the accomodations were wonderful. The nightly dinner was great and we celebrated a friend's birthday one evening with the staff. The only slight inconvenience is the somewhat limited parking which is accomodated in the parking lot across the street (which can become overfilled). This hotlel was also within easy access to the major roads.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear chichimom5,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. The Homewood Suites by Hilton certainly appreciates each and every guests' input. We love to hear you thought our "hotel & location couldn't have been better". We are also thrilled to learn you enjoyed our Manager's Reception and that we could celebrate a special time in your friend's life. We strive to treat our guests like family here at the Homewood Suites. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you next time you venture to New Orleans.

Best,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    197
    77
    65
    29
See reviews for
234
100
21
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

EXCELLENT hotel!!! Kylie, their concierge, is outstanding. The location is in the Central Business District, close to everything yet not in the middle of too much noise (the French Quarter). The staff is so friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Liz S.,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our Hotel. It is very much appreciated. We love to hear you think that we "couldn't be better" and that our staff are friendly and attentive. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you next time you make your way to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We arrived after a two week T/A cruise and showed up at the hotel at 9;30 a.m.. not anticipating that a room would be ready. The young man at the desk had a room ready, checked me in in a very few minutes and invited us to have breakfast. Our suite was quite nice, very clean and on a high floor with a balcony that I had requested. The location of this hotel is convenient to the St. Charles streetcar route, three blocks from Canal Street and the French Quarter close to the casino if you are so inclined, and within walking distance to a variety of restaurants.

The pool area is great and a welcome respite after a day of walking through the Quarter.

On our next trip to N'awlins, we will definitely stay at the Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear CaptainRonn,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am thrilled to hear you had such a great experience here at the Homewood Suites New Orleans. I will certainly let our Front Desk staff know how impressed you were with them. We hope to see you again the next time you visit our city!

Warm Regards,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We arrived on Friday, Nov 30th for a 3 girls weekend trip. This hotel was FANTASTIC! Rooms were clean, spacious and very comfortable! The personnel at the hotel were simply the best! Housekeeping, Front Desk, Concierge (Kylie), Breakfast staff -- they work to ensure you are happy! The breakfast buffet is WONDERFUL - you have so many choices and the food was delicious! Location is great as well to get to the French Quarter area. There is a grocery store 2 blocks away (Rouses) which had everything we needed for our stay. We would cab over to the French Quarter area in the morning and walk back at night (easy walk - well lighted streets). Getting cabs was very easily handled via Kylie (Concierge) - she was wonderful and shared her history of the city with us. I have stayed at other hotels (Marriott on Canal) and this hotel suited our needs perfectly! If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, spacious hotel for a trip to NOLA - you need to pick this hotel! They also had a pool and hot tub which was very nice, however we didn't use them. I couldn't have asked for a more pleasant hotel experience! I am a very loyal Marriott person and tried to find a similar Marriott hotel which compared to what Homewood Suites offered (location, rooms, etc) -- this hotel was TOP NOTCH!

Room Tip: You can ask for a high floor (which we did) and we were put on the 10th floor with a bit of a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Deat Kristine54,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our Hotel. We truly appreciate all of the kind words. We love to hear that you "would pick this hotel again in a heartbeat"! I am thrilled to hear we could exceed your expectations, and hope to see you again next time you visit New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Absolutely the best all-round client services I have experienced in hotels. REALLY! Kylie, the concierge was extremely helpful and informative. Housekeeping services were above board (I accidently broke a glass and housekeeping arrived in less than 3 minutes with vacuum, broom and sweet attitude in hand. Breakfast was a buffet of many (great) choices. I will be returning to this hotel next spring for another vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Janine C.,

It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the NO Homewood Suites November 27 - 30. Although the room accommodations are rather basic they were very clean and neat and the beds were very comfortable. It was my Granddaughter's birthday during our stay. The concierge, Kylie, heard about it and went out of her way to make a big deal out of it for one little 8 year old. The rest of the staff.were really sweet to her (and us) as well. The breakfast were good, the dinners (couldn't believe they even provided dinner 4 nights a week) were simple but tasty. It is a great value and a great location.
We would go back there in a second.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Catherine P.,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It is much appreciated! I am thrilled to hear we could make your daughter's birthday such a wonderful experience. We strive to make each and every guest feel like they are among family when they stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans. I am happy to hear you also enjoyed our breakfast and dinner options, too. Thanks for staying with us, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, PA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This place remains the best bargain in the city; you can get a suite, breakfast and dinner for a price that is amazingly reasonable. I also determined on this trip that this is undoubtedly the best property; a large number of college kids were in the next suite playing very loud music that was clearly heard in the halls and not one note was heard in the room. It is amazingly well designed and constructed.

While the physical plant is impressive, the people make it one of the great hotels of the world. (I say that having sampled many five star hotels in many different places.) Even a new guest is treated as both special and a member of a select family, a family that accepts and supports every member of the community. This is something so subtle and elusive that it took me many visits to really identify that this so defined this place; it is something that was always there, but it takes time to really understand it.

The housekeeper, Miss Lisa, is a wonderful person who also works to make sure that every guest has every service that is needed. The concierge, Kylie, really works to make sure that the tours you choose are the very best for the money and satisfy your desire to be educated and enterntained, but she does more than that; Kylie strives to make sure that she gets a quick read on your wants and needs and does everything possible to meet them. The fact that so many of the guests knew that Johnny was on the desk was, in fact, the clue that caused me to understand how important the people were to this place.

If you want to pay more, then this is not the place for you. If you want the quality of a suite and service that should be associated with the Hilton name, then this is exactly where you should stay. Meanwhile, you should take the time to observe the exceptional service that is being rendered by everybody from the housekeeping staff (Miss Lisa, as an example), the conceirge (Kylie, as an example), the desk clerk (John, as an example), and the managers of this property that put this staff together.

If the managment of this hotel read this review, I would kind ask that you commend Lisa, Kylie, and John for a job exceptionally well done!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but I do have a tip. Excellent food and adult beverages are available at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Reage55,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice, detailed review of our property! We certainly appreciate all of the kind feedback. We love to hear that you consider the Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans the "best bargain, best staff, [and] best property”. Our employees strive to make every guests' stay a memorable one, and we are thrilled to hear we could do just that for you! I will certainly relay the wonderful things you've said to Johnny, Lisa and Kylie, and recognize them for another job well done. Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future!

Best,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;