We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest places I've stayed.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Homewood Suites New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off for Military!
Ranked #65 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Beverly, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the nicest places I've stayed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The room we shared (6 of us!) was very spacious with 2 bathrooms with vanities outside the room with the shower and toilet. VERY handy when 6 ladies are trying to get ready in the morning. Friendly staff, particularly Kylie, the concierge. Helped us at every turn. Downsides - it took a few calls to get extra towels, the phone in the queen bedroom rang about 9 times starting at midnight on Friday night and going until 5:30 in the morning and no one was ever there (after futile attempts to get someone to check it we just unplugged all the phones in the room), and the breakfast was only mediocre (make your own waffles, institutional eggs, breads and bagels, juice and cereal). Much prefer the Embassy Suites breakfast. Also, we drank the in-room coffee the first morning and it was never replaced after that, leaving us only with decaf which did us no good after a night of hurricanes on Bourbon St. But the comfort of the rooms more than made up for the other inconveniences, especially since the front desk was very accommodating in printing our boarding passes while the printer in the business center was being worked on. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear jediknitmaster,
Thank you for staying at the Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans and for your detailed review. It is much appreciated and assists us in making our guests' future stays even better! We are thrilled you said our hotel is "one of the nicest places you stayed". I am also happy to learn you and your girlfriends enjoyed our large, comfortable suites when getting ready in the mornings. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies to your group in regards to the phone situation you experienced as well as the coffee not being replenished. These are certainly not standards in our Hotel, and they will be addressed with our staff. I am also sorry to hear you didn't care for our breakfast options as much. We strive to provide a variety of items each morning so that all guests will be able to enjoy something. We hope to see you the next time you venture out to New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    171
    59
    45
    15
See reviews for
191
80
20
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratham, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My 5 girlfriends and I stayed here for 3 nights. We were in a 2 bedroom suite, that was very spacious. It had a living room with couch, chair, ottoman & large screen flat tv. The kitchen had a full size frig, microwave, 2 burner stove, sink, dishwasher & small table. The bedrooms were very spacious with 1 king & 2 queensize beds, which were very comfortable. There was a balcony off of the bedroom with the kingside bed. The best part we're the 2 BATHROOMS, each bedroom has it's own bathroom, with the sinks & vanities being in the bedroom. The staff here is VERY friendly & Kylie, the concierge, is very knowledgable & helped us out with tours and restaurant reservations. The free breakfast is plentiful, hot and a very nice variety.
Definitely would stay here again the next time we come back to this great city !!!!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear maita90,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to provide us with this positive feedback. It is always welcomed and appreciated! We are thrilled to hear that you and your five girlfriends were able to enjoy our spacious two bedrooms suites while here in New Orleans. We are also pleased to learn you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed our plentiful breakfast options. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans, and we hope to see you soon!

Best,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here oct 27. We were previewing the unveiling of Carnival Conquest FunShip 2.0 on oct 28. It also happened to be the weekend for the VooDoo Festival. When we booked the room the only available at the time was a non-smoking handicapped room. We put in a request for a smoking non-handicapped room if one became available. When we checked in we were given a non-smoking Balcony room and told that we could smoke on the balcony just not in the room, which was fine. It turned out to be a 1 bedroom suite with a separate living room and kitchen. The room was super clean. The beds were very comfortable. Only thing wrong with the room was the toilet would keep running unless you jiggled the handle ( not a big deal) BUT the microwave did not work and neither did the coffee maker. Since we were checking out anyway we did not try to have someone come up and fix it, but if we were staying longer we would have asked to have it fixed. The breakfast buffet was good. Everything was hot and fresh. The staff did a good job keeping the area clean and fresh food available. The front desk staff was very friendly and informative when we asked numerous questions about where to go and how to get to where we wanted to go. Since we would not be back from our tour of the cruise ship until late afternoon, they let us store our luggage until we got done. Will definitely stay there again. We are hoping that someone cancels in Feb 17, 2013 so that we can stay there when we get off our cruise. Keeping our fingers crossed

Room Tip: book early if anything is going on in New Orleans
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Becker1959,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this useful feedback. It is much appreciated! We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed our clean, comfortable accommodations. I do sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced with some of our appliances not functioning properly. I wish we would've known as we would've had a staff member come address these areas right away. I am happy to hear you were pleased with our hot, fresh breakfast in the morning and our staff's helpfulness. We hope that we see your family again soon-if not in February, then shortly thereafter! Thank you again!

Best,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a two bedroom suite and it was large with two separate bedrooms. It was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was included as well as evening goodies. Beds were very comfortable. Staff was very accommodating and helpful. Parking was outdoors and fairly reasonable for a downtown location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Jennie B,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans. We are happy to learn you enjoyed our spacious, two bedroom suites for their comfort and cleanliness. We are also pleased to hear you liked our daily breakfast and dinner options Monday thru Thursday. We hope to see you at the hotel next time you stay in New Orleans!

Thank you,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Grzesik
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights before heading off to Biloxi, MS and had a clean comfortable room to crash in after partying on Bourbon St. Only a few blocks away, we found a great diner in the back of a bar, close enough to shop, eat, and sight-see! Best value on the block!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear fierceangel,

Thank you so much for staying here at the Homewood Suites New Orleans! We love to hear that you enjoyed our clean, comfortable suites after a night on the town. We hope to see you here at the Homewood next time you venture to the city of New Orleans.

Best,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed a couple days for the Saints vs Chargers game and found the hotel perfect for our needs.
Breakfast selection was not as plentiful as other hotel chains but food was good and fresh.
Staff and concierge were great. Don't complain about the daily parking rate as downtown space is at a premium and that just how it is these days. Hotel rooms were spacious, clean and relatively quiet (on the 6th floor anyway). Location for us was great...short walk to the Superdome and of course the French Quarter. I would recommend this facility and it was one of our best football travel cities!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear santeepat,
Thank you for the kind words. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us from our fresh breakfast to our clean suites! I am thrilled to learn you thought our staff was great as well. The Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans is centrally located in the downtown New Orleans Business District, so the Super Dome as well as the French Quarter are just blocks away from us. Thank you for your business, and we hope to see you back at our property very soon!

Sincerely,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at another of Hilton's minis (we previously stayed at Embassy Suites DC), and although the rooms were really, REALLY spacious, the beds and pillows comfy and the service, especially from the concierge Kylie, amazing - the complementary breakfast was only okay with the light dinner being quite poor. There was a variety at breakfast with the eggs always good, but the light dinner - or Manager's Reception - was not. We chose to pass on this 'freebie' and buy local fare instead.

For those wanting to purchase food to cook - there is an amazing grocery store (market) only a block or two away called Rouses. All-in-all, we would definitely stay at Homewood again should we be in New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear DebG1965,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this useful feedback. It is always appreciated! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our large, comfortable suites. We loved to hear that you were pleased with our service and staff as well; Kylie is truly an asset to the Homewood. I apologize you didn't enjoy our Manager's Reception in the evenings. We try to vary our selections each night to keep each guest satisfied. We do know there are tons of wonderful restaurants right outside our doors though! I'd like to thank you so much for staying at the Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans, and we certainly hope to be seeing you again soon!

Best,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood
New Orleans Homewood Suites
Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.