We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Atlantis Offer!
Ranked #88 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
socal
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Three of us stayed for a week in a 2 bedroom/ 2 bath suite with a kitchenette. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of room for us all to relax. There are flat screen TVs in both BRs + one in the living room. We were on the 11th floor which was very quiet. The breakfast is very good - hot items that change each day, fresh fruit, bagels, grits, etc. Monday - Thurs. they serve a simple evening meal and drinks. Some guests are on extended stays so once a month they celebrate birthdays and serve cake to everyone. Nice touch! All in all, a very good choice in NOLA!

Kudos to Kylie the Concierge who arranged many fun things to do and Karla at the front desk.

Room Tip: High floors are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. The comments are greatly appreciated and I will certainly share with the staff. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    194
    77
    65
    29
See reviews for
233
100
21
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked the 2 King Bedroom, 2 Bathroom Suite since there were 4 of us (2 couples) traveling together and were very pleased with our room. Our room was on the 11th floor and one of the bedrooms had a balcony overlooking Poydras Street. We were within walking distance of everything we wanted to see for our one night (10/06/2012) in New Orleans. Probably walked a total of 5 or 6 miles that afternoon/evening but the weather was beautiful and the streets were alive!! This is the third Homewood Suites we have stayed in when traveling and I will continue to book Homewood Suites whenever and wherever possible. The front staff was very friendly and accommodating. Even though this is an older building, it was beautiful and clean and the breakfast was very good. Parking is about $20 and is about a block away but was still very convenient. The only thing I will warn about is the fact that there are NO ice machines in this hotel. So if you want/need ice, you have to turn on the ice maker in the freezer in your room and wait on it or go to the front desk and they will give you a small amount of ice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!
Warm regards,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was my first trip to New Orleans with my sister and best friend and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Homewood Suites. I called a few days before our arrival to see if I could change my room selection from a 1 bedroom to a 2 bedroom but the hotel was completely booked. But when we arrived, the desk advised that I had recieved a complimentary upgrad to a 2 bedroom. The suite was spacious, clean, modern; the beds were comfortable; the bathrooms spotless. And the fact that we had a full size refrigerator, stove top, microwave and dishwasher just added to the delight. We did have a problem with small ants that visited the kitchen sink whenever we left standing water, but the house came up and exterminated right away, and we made sure not to leave any water standing. The complimentary breakfast each morning was superb and the complimentary Monday thru Thursday nightly dinners were good and plentiful. The hotel was situated close to all the areas of New Orleans we wanted to go to (French Quarter, River Walk) either by walking or by bus/streeet cars, The house staff was very accommodating, professional and friendly. And the price just couldn't be beat for all the the Suites had to offer!!! I would recommend the Homewood Suites to anyone i know who is traveling to New Orleans and wants a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you change your mind and want a larger room, just call. They may just be able to accomodate you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi Lmr333,
Thank you for the review. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel, and in our city. Our front desk staff will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to one of our spacious two-bedroom suites. Thank you for your business, and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a 2 bedroom suite at this hotel. It was wonderful! 2 separate bedrooms and baths, living room, and full kitchen. Nice and spacious and homey feel. This was a great quite location for all of our activites. Breakfast was good and food was fresh. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi Scrappette,

Thank you for the review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our spacious suites, and complimentary Full American Breakfast buffet. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I'm from Dallas, TX, and every hotel in the DFW area is non-smoking so it's unexpected when I enter a smoke friendly hotel. I couldn't smell it in our room, but as soon as I stepped into the hall, I was gagging at the stench.
Other than that, we liked the hotel a lot. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was bigger than most hotels, the staff was wonderful, and the location was convenient for walking to the touristy areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi PMann,

Thank you for staying with us this past September. We are thrilled that you like our hotel a lot. We also appreciate your comments regarding the smell on the smoking floor, and we have addressed the issue. Our staff will be delighted to hear that you thought they were wonderful. Once again, thank you for staying at the Homewood Suites New Orleans. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend with my family. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly. The included breakfast and dinner were good and the hotel was in a good location. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi snuffy813,

Thank you for staying at the Homewood Suites New Orleans this past September. We are ecstatic that you, and your family, enjoyed a long weekend in New Orleans. Nothing can beat a few days of rest and relaxation. We also appreciate the review. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

After a night in a terrible Hampton Inn in Natchez (see our rating) we arrived in New Orleans. The first impression was absolutely positive. Our suite was not newly renovated, but everything looked neat and tidy. Everything was so clean and perfect. The room was very spacy and we found everything we needed. And this for only 30 Dollar more than in Natchez. The breakfast was delicious, the tables were clean, the chairs, too! It is unbelivieble that both hotels belong to the same chain!
It is situated in walking distance to the french quarter. An Friday evening going by feet is three times faster than a taxi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi Heinz B,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate your business, and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We always share our trip advisor comments with our staff, so they will be very pleased to hear all of your kind words. Once again, thank you for staying at the Homewood Suites New Orleans. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.