We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites New Orleans to your Saves list
Homewood Suites New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #84 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked the 2 King Bedroom, 2 Bathroom Suite since there were 4 of us (2 couples) traveling together and were very pleased with our room. Our room was on the 11th floor and one of the bedrooms had a balcony overlooking Poydras Street. We were within walking distance of everything we wanted to see for our one night (10/06/2012) in New Orleans. Probably walked a total of 5 or 6 miles that afternoon/evening but the weather was beautiful and the streets were alive!! This is the third Homewood Suites we have stayed in when traveling and I will continue to book Homewood Suites whenever and wherever possible. The front staff was very friendly and accommodating. Even though this is an older building, it was beautiful and clean and the breakfast was very good. Parking is about $20 and is about a block away but was still very convenient. The only thing I will warn about is the fact that there are NO ice machines in this hotel. So if you want/need ice, you have to turn on the ice maker in the freezer in your room and wait on it or go to the front desk and they will give you a small amount of ice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, General Manager at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!
Warm regards,
Dennis Pearse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    250
    99
    71
    38
See reviews for
303
126
22
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was my first trip to New Orleans with my sister and best friend and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Homewood Suites. I called a few days before our arrival to see if I could change my room selection from a 1 bedroom to a 2 bedroom but the hotel was completely booked. But when we arrived, the desk advised that I had recieved a complimentary upgrad to a 2 bedroom. The suite was spacious, clean, modern; the beds were comfortable; the bathrooms spotless. And the fact that we had a full size refrigerator, stove top, microwave and dishwasher just added to the delight. We did have a problem with small ants that visited the kitchen sink whenever we left standing water, but the house came up and exterminated right away, and we made sure not to leave any water standing. The complimentary breakfast each morning was superb and the complimentary Monday thru Thursday nightly dinners were good and plentiful. The hotel was situated close to all the areas of New Orleans we wanted to go to (French Quarter, River Walk) either by walking or by bus/streeet cars, The house staff was very accommodating, professional and friendly. And the price just couldn't be beat for all the the Suites had to offer!!! I would recommend the Homewood Suites to anyone i know who is traveling to New Orleans and wants a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you change your mind and want a larger room, just call. They may just be able to accomodate you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi Lmr333,
Thank you for the review. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel, and in our city. Our front desk staff will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to one of our spacious two-bedroom suites. Thank you for your business, and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a 2 bedroom suite at this hotel. It was wonderful! 2 separate bedrooms and baths, living room, and full kitchen. Nice and spacious and homey feel. This was a great quite location for all of our activites. Breakfast was good and food was fresh. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi Scrappette,

Thank you for the review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our spacious suites, and complimentary Full American Breakfast buffet. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I'm from Dallas, TX, and every hotel in the DFW area is non-smoking so it's unexpected when I enter a smoke friendly hotel. I couldn't smell it in our room, but as soon as I stepped into the hall, I was gagging at the stench.
Other than that, we liked the hotel a lot. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was bigger than most hotels, the staff was wonderful, and the location was convenient for walking to the touristy areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi PMann,

Thank you for staying with us this past September. We are thrilled that you like our hotel a lot. We also appreciate your comments regarding the smell on the smoking floor, and we have addressed the issue. Our staff will be delighted to hear that you thought they were wonderful. Once again, thank you for staying at the Homewood Suites New Orleans. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend with my family. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly. The included breakfast and dinner were good and the hotel was in a good location. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi snuffy813,

Thank you for staying at the Homewood Suites New Orleans this past September. We are ecstatic that you, and your family, enjoyed a long weekend in New Orleans. Nothing can beat a few days of rest and relaxation. We also appreciate the review. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

After a night in a terrible Hampton Inn in Natchez (see our rating) we arrived in New Orleans. The first impression was absolutely positive. Our suite was not newly renovated, but everything looked neat and tidy. Everything was so clean and perfect. The room was very spacy and we found everything we needed. And this for only 30 Dollar more than in Natchez. The breakfast was delicious, the tables were clean, the chairs, too! It is unbelivieble that both hotels belong to the same chain!
It is situated in walking distance to the french quarter. An Friday evening going by feet is three times faster than a taxi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi Heinz B,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate your business, and are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We always share our trip advisor comments with our staff, so they will be very pleased to hear all of your kind words. Once again, thank you for staying at the Homewood Suites New Orleans. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is within walking distance of many attractions including the French Quarter. We parked our car in the lot across the street from the hotel and walked around most of the time. There is a parking fee. We had a party of four adults and one infant. We stayed in the two bedroom suite. This was the perfect size for the family. The kitchen came equipped with cooking utensils and dishes. This was perfect considering we had a small baby with us. The rooms were clean. The linen and living room furniture were in great condition. The indoor pool area is nice but the pool itself is a little small. The front desk and breakfast room attendants were all very friendly and helpful.
One of the nicest perks was the coffee bar remained open and stocked all day long. The hotel breakfast was not typical and offered something different every morning. The breakfast bar had fresh fruit, yogurt, assorted cereal, apple and orange juice, toast, bagels, meat (sausage or bacon), and eggs.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi wanderinghorse,

Thank you for the great review. We are thrilled that your family enjoyed staying in our spacious 2 bedroom suites. Our 2 bedroom suites are approximately 800 square feet. Believe it or not, they are actually bigger than a lot of the apartments in our immediate down town area. Our staff will also be delighted to hear that you found them to be friendly and helpful. Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#81 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans ...
#118 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.