We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Time in NOLA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites New Orleans to your Saves list
Homewood Suites New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Atlantis Offer!
Ranked #82 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Harahan
1 review
“Fabulous Time in NOLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had family and friends stay here while in town for a wedding. We received many wonderful comments about how much they enjoyed their stay at the Homewood Suites. They loved the spaciousness of the rooms, the manager's reception during the week, breakfast in the morning, having the exercise room to work out in and how polite and helpful the staff was to their needs. Some are already planning return trips to the City and plan to stay again at the Homewood Suites. Thank you so much for taking care of our guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
We are delighted that your family and friends had a fabulous time in our city, and at our hotel. We are also very pleased that you found our staff to be quite helpful and friendly. Our staff loves what they do, and will be thrilled to hear your wonderful comments. Thank you for staying with us. We truly appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    212
    79
    65
    30
See reviews for
245
107
21
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenner, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Keith and his staff went above and beyond our expectations. We arrived a little early and they offered to keep the bags until the rooms were ready, so we could go get lunch. When we came back, there was a little delay in getting the rooms, so they gave us a complimentary bottle of wine and bent over backwards to accomodate us. I would recommend this hotel to any of my family or friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Hi Glenn T,

We are thrilled to hear that our staff went above and beyond your expectations. We also appreciate the fact that you would recommend us to your family and friends. New customers are very important to us, but everyone knows that referrals and repeat clientele are definitely the back bone of any business. Thank you for staying with us. We really appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Rooms were spacious, our suite had two queens and a small kitchen. Well kept and the hotel had a guest happy hour at 5PM with food and alcohol for everyone. Breakfast was also included with the usual assortment of eggs, ham, fruit cereals etc. Not too bad and the coffee was good.

Hotel personnel were very friendly and helpful in a genuine way. The only opportunity is their room A/C controls; they are motion triggered! With high humidity in New Orleans this makes for an uncomfortable time. When sleeping at night no one triggers the A/C so it gets stuffy. Maybe they could try humidity control instead? Other than that it was a great place to venture out and about in New Orleans and with access to the streetcars as well as walking distance to many attractions this one is worth a stay. If they would only fix the A/C!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Hi Schwartz-Family7,

We are delighted that you enjoyed our spacious suites, and very friendly staff. We are here to please our guests, and nothing pleases us more than when we receive feeback from our guests! We are sorry that you had difficulty with our motion sensor airconditioning. I will pass the info on to the maintenance department so that we can make sure that there is not an issue with that room. Once again, thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with my family for spring break, and the service was outstanding. The staff was very professional and assisted me quickly with all of my questions and concerns about the best way for me to travel around town on a walker. The hotel was very clean and well kept. The breakfast and managers reception was hot and delicious, the manager gave out coloring sheets to the children during breakfast. We will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Hi TimekiaF,
Thank you for staying with us! We are delighted that everyone enjoyed their stay at our hotel, and would stay with us again. I know that children usually have a blast staying in hotels, and I am glad that we could make their stay even more enjoyable by handing out coloring sheets. Once again, thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, MD
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel. Very clean rooms, great breakfast. Rooms were very clean. However the staff could have been a little more friendly. Jasmine was the only one at the front desk that was very friendly. Hotel is convenient to trolley cars and within waling distance to the French Quarter and the Riverfront.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Hi JanWaldorf_MD,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to New Orleans. We are delighted that you highly recommended our hotel! We appreciate your kind words about Jasmine, and will also review our hospitality policy with the rest of our front desk staff. Once again, thank you for staying with us. We really appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

6 of us stayed here for a NOLA bachelor party. Rooms were nice. Location was nice. The breakfast was good. For the cost, I would have thought the rooms would have been a little nicer (they were very plain). This is probably a great business hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Hi Mattaci13,

Thank you for hosting your Weekend Bachelor Party in New Orleans. We are thrilled that you thought our rooms and location were nice. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can ever be of future assistance. My contact info is keith.normand@dimdev.com or 504-581-5599. Once again, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed here for two nights for business beginning Ash Wednesday. It could be the staff was exhausted after a busy Mardi Gras season, but they seemed lackluster and unenthusiastic. Other than the check-in person Wednesday afternoon, no one was downright rude.

The room was very clean and in fairly good condition except the plumbing fixtures could use some updating. Toilet seat was loose (I tightened it - but I shouldn't have had to!) and the water faucets were leaking. Sink didn't drain well.

I was on 9th floor and heard no street noise. Kitchenette well furnished.
Breakfast was outstanding! Excellent spread, plentiful and at correct temperature. Light supper also great and good to have menu listed in room so no surprises. Again - employees were not very outgoing and seemed unhappy. (Maybe they need a raise or some time off?)

Internet free and speed ok. Coffee pot worked but only one coffee package. All other appliances functional. Toiletries great - all Nutrogena stuff, as is usual with Homewood.

It was odd that there were no employees (bellman, etc) to assit with luggage or cabs. Door very hard to open and NOT ADA compliant. Taxis difficult to find - finally went across street to other hotel and tipped their bellman to get cab. Again - could have been the post Mardi Gras slump hitting the whole city.

I'd stay at and recommend Homewood Suites again. Location good for work and fair for meals. Rouse grocery store 2 blocks away and well stocked with ready-to-eat and other foodstuff at decent prices.

Room Tip: Higher floor - less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith N, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us this past Ash Wednesday. Mardi Gras was a very busy time for us, but I am sorry that you did not receive the enthusiastic welcome that our hotel is usually known for. We also appreciate that you would stay with us again!!! New customers are important to us, but repeat clientele is definitely the back bone of any business. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can ever be of future assistance. My contact info is keith.normand@dimdev.com or 504-581-5599. Once again, thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.