We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites New Orleans to your Saves list
Homewood Suites New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #84 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Chicago
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Close enough to the French Quarter to walk, but far enough to enjoy quite during Mardi Gras. Outstanding value. Clean, friendly staff, above normal complimentary breakfast. Plus Managers greeting snack, more like a lite meal, weekday evenings. 2 room suite with full kitchen was great for a weeks stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    250
    100
    71
    38
See reviews for
303
126
22
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

-- slow internet
-- only one elevator was working, and it was slow
-- average, at best, breakfast
-- rooms cheap (although big) -cabinets, wallpaper, fixtures, etc, all bottom of the line
-- old - carpeting and wallpaper worn
-- location: to me, not a plus, unlike other reviews I thought it was a long walk to get anywhere.
-- no newspapers
-- rooms dark (because of balconies, but still . . .)
-- sensor turns off AC if it fails to detect movement, but can be disabled

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We love Homewood Suites. We went to NO with a 9 and 13 year old. The hotel is perfect for families. We enjoyed breakfast and the dinner and drinks in the evening. The people who served the food could not have been nicer. We also loved the location. We walked everywhere we went except the zoo. The hotel is situated so you can get almost anywhere you want to go. My 9 year old loved the pool. We stayed on the 2nd floor in room #213 right above the pool. Although we did not hear any noise, our room smelled like chlorine. I think next time we will ask for a different floor. I would highly recommend this hotel! Nice to get those Hilton Honors points, too!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

The room was very spacious. There was great hot breakfast and a nightly dinner. The staff was very friendly. Great place for parade watching. Only had to walk 2 blocks!,

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Breakfast AND dinner- if you can tear yourself away from all of NOLAs area restaurants- Emeril's nearby and cozy Mother's for pivots and gumbo. Real food that changes daily, stuffed flounder one night, bbq hamburgers the next served with fountain soft drinks, wine and beer you serve yourself. Rooms come complete with pots and pans, dish ware and dish washer. Coin operated laundry room next to the fitness room and overlooking the pool to check on your teens and tweens. Rooms have soft beds, pull out sofa, chaise lounge and French door bedroom but you pay $20 for parking. Super walmart is less than five mins away.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed here six years ago and were happy to book another stay as we attended a conference at the convention center. If you are an able walker, this location places you between the convention center and the French Quarter. Our room was clean and quiet. The breakfast selection was good. Our pre-paid bill was accurate. We were very pleased with our return stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I can honestly say I've experienced better customer service at a DMV than at this establishment.

There was a misunderstanding regarding payment. On our second day there, we arrived back to the room to find ourselves locked out of our suite. When we came back down to the lobby, DENISE at the front desk pointed at our party and said scathingly "YOU! Come here" and beckoned us to the desk with her index finger like we were schoolchildren. She then proceeded to rudely tell us that she was reprimanded by her manager for allowing us to stay in the room when it was unpaid for, then blamed US for "getting her into trouble." OBVIOUSLY we were going to pay for our room, we had 7 ppl's personal belongings in there all day! Yet they felt the need to lock us out, then speak to us like we were complete trash.

From the mgr, we received NOT ONE apology for Denise's rude behavior. When told that we'd decided to check out IN THE MIDDLE OF OUR STAY for another hotel, the manager STILL did not apologize ONCE, nor did she try to maintain our business.

We knew we had had it when we went to the desk one more time on our final few hours there. Denise saw us standing on line to the desk, rolled her eyes, and said loudly to the other employee "Can you see what THESE PEOPLE want?"

We ended up going to the HILTON ST CHARLES down the street, which turned out to be the same price, and whose employees I can't speak any more highly of. They were so courteous and professional and went out of their way to make sure we had a seamless remainder of our stay.

To have an awesome time in this amazing city, the only tip I have is to steer clear from Homewood Suites and anyone associated with it.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#83 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans ...
#118 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites New Orleans

Address: 901 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated 166 all suite hotel in downtown New Orleans. Many complimentary amenities are included in the rate that is provided such as a hot buffet breakfast, free wifi, and a light dinner meal with beer/wine service Mon-Thu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Homewood Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Homewood New Orleans
New Orleans Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.