We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parisian Courtyard Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
Save
You added The Parisian Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
1726 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Longpre Guest House) (Lower Garden District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Murphysboro, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Definitely going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was mine and my husbands first trip to New Orleans and I can say will be returning! Jesse was very kind and helpful as was all of the staff !!! We knew nothing about things to do in NOLA so we asked Jesse and the staff , there were all very helpful in suggesting places to eat , places to visit , and things to do in the area and in the French Quarter . The neighborhood is very nice as are the neighbors . The house is amazing , I love the older homes and this was nothing but amazing !! The room was always clean , nice lite breakfast , and quite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
30
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bossier City, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Parisian Coutyard Inn is a rempvated Greek revival inn which is absolutely gorgeous. Jesse, a part-owner and manager, is the perfect host. We stayed in the front, balcony room which faces Prytania and has floor to ceiling windows allowing access to the balcony. The location of the Parisian Courtyard Inn is perfect for accessing the streetcars, and within walking distance of many fine eateries.

Room Tip: Splurge on the balcony room -- it really gives you the feeling of "stepping back in time".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

To start, the location is fab- as a former New Orleanian returning for a reunion this hotel gives you the benefit of the beautiful Lower Garden District area on Prytania, JUST off St. Charles, and close to both downtown and the Audubon area. Also, if you are like us, we arrived late, hungry, and in need of a drink- walk 1 block out of the hotel and you have yourself a 24 hr bar/kitchen at the Avenue Pub. But more importantly, the accommodations are perfect. The rooms are updated so you have the old world charm with modern amenities such as iron, hair dryer, walk in shower, great air conditioning, and a well kept, beautiful property overall. Finally, there is Jesse, the proprietor. What can I say- a true native who makes you feel as if you are an old friend stopping in for a weekend visit. He's helpful, friendly, and just a delight to work with. I cannot say enough about this property except that I encourage you to experience it for yourself.

Room Tip: Jesse upgraded us to the very top (literally) room in the house. You have to climb stairs but we are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed here while in town to pack up our daughter after her first year at Tulane and hope we will be able to stay here on all of our subsequent visits to New Orleans. Jesse is a gracious and generous host. We had a lovely room next to the courtyard. It was raining when we arrived, and Jesse offered us umbrellas to use while we were there- he even loaned us his bicycle pump when we realized our daughter’s bike was in need. Breakfast was just right- coffee, juice, yogurt, croissants, muffins, fresh fruit- everything you could want to start the day, and Jesse generously offered to have our daughter join us for breakfast even though she was not staying at the inn. The inn is beautiful and is nicely located- parking was right out front- we spent the first afternoon/evening in the French Quarter – street car stop just a couple of blocks away- and the second evening (after packing all day) at a local restaurant that Jesse recommended. We have stayed at many other B&B’s but I have to say this is one of our favorites and we hope to be frequent visitors!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed last year for a week and couldn't wait to come back and bring friends with us. The home is beautifully restored and every room has its own personality. Jessie is very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is perfect with fresh fruit, yogurt, and delicious baked goods. We are staying for six days this time and are only moving on to another B&B down the block because a wedding party has booked the entire house. We have encouraged friends to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

Jessie has a great place here. Beautiful building and awesome location. If you'd rather not stay in the quarter or want to be close to great shops this is your place! Highly reccomended. Nice place, nice people, nice price what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at The Parisian Courtyard Inn for a night on Jan 13, 2012 and had a wonderful experience. We stayed in Room #6 on the second floor, it felt roomy and comfortable with two very large windows which faced the back courtyard, it had floor length drapes for privacy. The room was very quiet and the bed comfortable.
A typical home for that era, the room had 14 foot ceilings. A modern update was an individual thermostat in the room. The water pressure in the bathroom was quite powerful,however a funny quirk we noticed was that the cold water in the sink in the bathroom when first turned on would run hot before running cold...We never did figure that one out.
The breakfast buffet had a wide assortment of teas, coffee, danish, sweets, fruit, cereal hot and cold, yogurt,toast and jams and jellies, and was served in the grand dining room downstairs.

The location is excellent -a short trolley ride from the French Quarter, and there is a Walgreen's Drug Store just a block and a half away, which sells postcards, suntan lotion, etc.

If you happen to be Norwegian, or Norwegian-American or are interested in Scandinavian things-we ran across by chance, The Norwegian Seamen’s Church, which is just a block away at 1772 Prytania Street, New Orleans. The church is very interesting and we had the opportunity to meet the young Pastor and his wife and family .who are from Norway, (Snakker du Norsk? Ja). and have waffles and coffee with them. The church also has a small gift shop where you can buy candies, gifts, t-shirts, calenders and other things from Norway.

Jessie who ran the B&B is knowledgeable of the history of the house and area and can also give you tips on things to do and visit. The house was lucky enough to avoid the flooding that hit a large part on New Orleans with Hurricane Katrina...as it sits on high ground....Approx 6 blocks away many homes had 4.5 to 5 ft worth of flood damage.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Parisian Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parisian Courtyard Inn

Address: 1726 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Longpre Guest House)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in New Orleans Lower Garden District, 1846 historical mansion. Walking distance to street car, French Quarter, Convention Center, Magazine St. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parisian Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.