We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mardi Gras at the Parisian Courtyard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parisian Courtyard Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Parisian Courtyard Inn to your Saves list
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1726 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Longpre Guest House) (Lower Garden District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mardi Gras at the Parisian Courtyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We have stayed twice for MardiGras weekend and reallly had fun. We missed last year because Jess books up with weddings. Old house,beautifully restored,in a central local for parades. 1 block from st.Charles good corner bar near by Aveune pub. Clean rooms, nice welcome gifts each time. Close to parade so you can restock or use the downstairs common RR. Jesse takes care to provide a variety of breakfast juices,coffees and rolls,cereals etc. We will be here ready to party for 2012 Mardi Gras.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    10
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
48
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thibodaux, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I took my girlfriend to New Orleans for her birthday and wanted somewhere nice and quiet to stay. This place was perfect!! Jesse and Rose are wonderful and do everything to accomodate you and make your stay simply amazing!! Rooms are large and comfortable. Minutes from downtown. We had a great time and will definetly be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I saw the pictures, and I knew how pretty the Garden District is, but walking through the front door of the Parisian Courtyard Inn was still a perfect thrill. This is a gem. Restored from a run-down hostel, it's a perfectly located oasis with balconies around the second floor, a grand staircase made for photos, and a double parlor with beautiful light. Each room is different and uniquely decorated (couples, try and book Room 4!).

I brought 10 of my friends with me to New Orleans for three nights over Halloween weekend, and we took over 5 rooms in this B&B. I can't say enough good things. Jesse bent over backward to be hospitable and take care of everything we needed (even so far as to let us use his computer to print out event tickets), Annette told us about its history over breakfast in the parlor, and Rose, the housekeeper, took such good care of the rooms and our stuff in our absence. Especially for the price, this is an unbelievable value. I'll stay here every time I come to New Orleans (and there will be many more times). My entire group was impressed - you should've heard the 'oohs' and 'aahs' when we checked in!

We took the streetcar (easy, and close), walked when we had time, called cabs when we didn't (never more than 5 minutes to call a cab). The neighborhood is quiet and beautiful.

Thanks, Jesse! We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This year marks my second stay in New Orleans, both of which I've spent at the Parisian Courtyard Inn, and I highly recommend it to anyone, especially those looking for a place to stay within walking distance but not shouting distance of some of the city's more... 'active' districts.

The building is gorgeous, a renovated 19th-century plantation house. The rooms are beautiful, and well-kept. Plenty of closet space and a minifridge, which can be a rarity but a lifesaver if you are collecting leftovers from the many great restaurants in the city.

It's about one block to the St Charles Ave streetcars if you want to use them to get up or downtown, but it's a shame not to just walk. Took me around 10 min to get to the warehouse district, 15-20 to Canal St, 25-30 to get the whole way across town to Frenchmen St. There's plenty of nice places in the immediate vicinity as well -- multiple coffeeshops and homey bar/restaurant type places.

In all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbottstown, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and I went to New Orleans for our 10th wedding anniversary. It was our first time there. The Parisian Courtyard Inn is in the Garden District. The part of town that this B&B appears to be in the midst of revitalization. This place was like a diamond in the rough. It is beautiful inside and out. The neighborhood close by, while not necessarily the most beutiful is quiet. The wold famous Streetcar is only one block over. We took the Streetcar to the French Quarter and Downtown eveyr day.We also took the Street Car as a way of viewoing the Garden District. We rode all the way from one end to the other. The Parisian has been restored to it's glory days. It is just beautiful. Jesse, the host was very accomodating. He arranged for a bottle of wine for us upon finding out it was our anniversary. The breakfast was a wonderful assortment of fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, yogurts, juices, etc. It was a great way to start the day when we had tours scheduled for early pick up. We stayed in the front room with the large balcony. It does cost a little more, but if you have the opportunity, I definately recommend that room. There really isnt much to see from the balcony, yet, but after a long day of walking and touring it was a nice place to just sit and enjoy New Orleans. I did alot of research on places to stay when I was planning our trip. I am so glad that I chose to stay here. It was perfect for our first New Orleans experience. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We were in town for 4 nights during Jazz Fest and loved our stay at the Inn. Staff were very friendly, and the room was spotless. Very comfortable room looking out onto enclosed patio. Bathroom was updated and had plenty of soaps/shampoos/etc. We will look forward to staying here again! Breakfast included fresh fruit, cereals, bagels and really good, fresh crescents. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a comfortable place near the Saint Charles streetcar line (1 block walk)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

My daughter lives in New Orleans and I visit there often, but this was an unexpected visit. .she had a serious injury and was facing possible surgery, and I needed to get there within 48 hrs. because of the circumstances, I didn't want to stay in the Quarter, so searched for a B&B near my daughter in the Lower Garden District. With this short notice, I was getting desperate after several No Vacancies. Then we talked to Jesse, the insure manager/owner at the Parisian, and explained my situation. Needless to say, he made room at the inn, and after a few days upgraded me when some guests checked out. He and his excellent houeskeeper kindly and generously tended to my every need, and every time I returned from care taking I felt a sigh of relief as if I was coming home. The house and patio are lovely and comfortable, every room has access to a balcony or the patio, the breakfasts are delicious with the best croissants and fresh fruit in New Orleans. There are always treats of some kind in the beautiful double parlor for guests. It is a great location, quiet yet a block from the St. Charles parade route and street car. I have never stayed at a B&B before, and always stayed in the Quarter, but The Parisian will definitely be my choice on return trips.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#9 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,793 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#22 of 144 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parisian Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parisian Courtyard Inn

Address: 1726 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Longpre Guest House)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parisian Courtyard Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in New Orleans Lower Garden District, 1846 historical mansion. Walking distance to street car, French Quarter, Convention Center, Magazine St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Parisian Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parisian Courtyard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.