We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Canal Street Inn to your Saves list
Canal Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3620 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70119 (Formerly Block-Keller House)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
1 review
“Home away from home!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here for the Essence Festival! It was an amazing stay. We were treated with nothing but exemplary Southern Hospitality!! The owner, Monica, greeted us upon arrival and ensured our needs were met throughout our entire stay. Teresa made sure we didn't get lost and provided us with great tips on dining and sightseeing! I will never stay anywhere else in New Orleans!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Manager at Canal Street Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. I am so happy you enjoyed your time in the city for Essence Fest! We hope to see you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
36
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I've never been to New Orleans and had no idea where to stay or what to do when I arrived.

The house was built in 1890 and has all the original warmth and charm of the times. It's beautifully maintained and has all the amenities needed to keep up with the modern world. Wifi throughout the house and central air conditioning make it very comfortable.

The furnishings represent what may have been part of the original furnishings of when the house was constructed.

Monica the innkeeper was extremely helpful in helping us find the things we wanted to do during our stay in New Orleans. She was also most helpful in helping us find our way around and locating the food we were searching out in the city.

Monica and Teresa made us feel welcome and comfortable during our stay.

Breakfast was included daily and was thoughtfully done.

Maid service provided by Dawn made our rooms comfortable, clean, and refreshed upon our arrival back home each day in the French Quarter.

We were worried about transportation upon our arrival but were relieved to find that the street car line was at our doorstep and for 3 dollars for a day pass we could go back and forth at our leisure.

I can't say enough about this place. It's the best!

Thank you Monica, Teresa and Dawn!

Room Tip: We stayed downstairs and I never heard any one's coming or going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Manager at Canal Street Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Canal Street Inn on your first visit to New Orleans and for taking the time to share your experience here with others. I am so happy you felt so comfortable and taken care of at the Inn. Also, thank you for pointing out the convenience of our location, literally steps from the streetcar! Hope to see you back at the Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I am a big fan on New Orleans. I've been lucky enough to visit about 10 times (so far) in my life and plan on going back many more. When my then fiance and I were looking for a fun place to elope, New Orleans was top of the list. After running around and checking about 100 different BnB's online, we decided on The Canal Street Inn.

Boy, did we chose well. The Canal Street Inn is an elegant belle epoque mansion in the heart of Mid City. As we were there for Jazz Fest AND my husband had never been to the Quarter, this location - right in the middle of everything - was perfect for us.

The rooms are huge, elegantly furnished and well appointed with rich linens and thick fluffy robes. The breakfast is sumptuous and cooked to order each day. In the evening you can enjoy the huge front porch or the parlor with a glass of wine.

Best of all, is the staff. The proprietor, Monica Ramsey, is amazing! She went so far out of her way to make our wedding perfect - she even ran around and found my bouquet for me from a local florist since it was impossible for me to bring one from California. She is a true gem, generous to a fault!

Since our wedding there in April of 2012, my husband and I have returned twice, once as we meandered cross country for a move to North Carolina to catch some R&R between the move and again for Jazz Fest 2013.

The Canal Street Inn just keeps getting better and better. We already have our room booked for Jazz Fest 2014 and plan to return to our home away from home every year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Manager at Canal Street Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your very kind and detailed description of your experiences at Canal Street Inn. It was a great pleasure to host your wedding here and then an added bonus to have you return on a few occasions! It's like greeting family when you return! Have a great year, we will see you at Jazz Fest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I love the Canal Street Inn, for the following reasons:
1. location- Streetcars are a great way to travel in New Orleans. Look at the other reviews. The great neighborhood , with actual people living in it ( unlike the Quarter), has excellent architecture and well patrolled.
2. Great restoration and exquisite taste- The 1920's house ( original burned down) is tastefully decorated and every convenience is available. The sitting room and rooms are beautiful. New mattresses and bedding, rob es, great bath accessories and wonderful towels are just some nice touches. An iron ( and board) dryer are available.The period replicas in the rooms create a luxurious, southern stay.
3. Service: Mrs. Monica and Ms. Tereasa were friendly, knowledgeable and available . They keep red wine and other drinks in the period sitting room and the mini sitting room upstairs. Breakfast is great as they hang around and talk to the guest!
4. Neighborhood- Midcity has excellent restaurants, bars and little stores for every need,City Park is about five minutes away, and Jazz fest is in walking distance. A Mardi Gras Parade travels right in front of the inn. Angelo Brocato has the best pastries, gelatos and coffee right around the corner. Theo's is a Zagat rated restaurant down the street. Mandina's has excellent New Orleans cuisine as well, and all within walking distance.
I hate to write this as I know more people will go and it will be hard to find a room!! But the owner has done such an excellent job in the last two years creating the best Bed and Breakfast in New Orleans. Stay out of the Quarter and see the other parts of this great city. Take a street car !

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Go on the website to find which room will work for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Manager at Canal Street Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a lengthy and very descriptive experience at Canal Street Inn. I appreciate you pointing out that we are in a nice neighborhood with many local restaurants and sights to see, yet close enough for easy access to the French Quarter. Hope to see you again when you are in Nola!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Truly a wonderful week with a gracious hostess, a wonderful classic home, great breakfast and a location that offers quiet while still providing easy access to all the French Quater and Mid Town has to offer. Morning coffee on the front porch before breakfast was a delight and the perfect place to plan your day. Monica's warmth, hostitality and if you will, "aloha," (we're from Hawaii) made us feel very much at home. The home was lovely, well cared for and a true classic. We will be returning I hope soon and look forward to another stay at Monica's Canal Street Inn.

Room Tip: All very nice, suggest the master suite if you have kids, check it on line and do book early if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Manager at Canal Street Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about the Canal Street Inn and your experience here. It is our goal to have people feel like they are in their home away from home...I am glad you felt that way! I can't wait to see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beautiful home in a great location. Street car stop is right in front of the house with about a 15-20 ride to Bourbon Street. We parked on the street each night without any problems. Only about 3 vehicles can be parked in the back and then the parking is very tight. Breakfast varied and was very good each morning. Our only complaint was our room was Very Dusty! The shelves, blinds, woodwork, etc all seems to have not been dusted in a very long time. The bathroom was the same way. So sorry to have to give this negative because overall, it was a very lovely B&B

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Manager at Canal Street Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Canal Street Inn. We always like honest feedback of the experience of our guests. I appreciate the positive note about our convenient location in regards to parking and the street car. Our sincerest apologies for the dustiness of your room. We take pride in the cleanliness of the Inn and apologize that the cleaniness was not up to your standards, nor our own. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention, we most certainly will make sure that doesn't happen again for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and will stay here again. Monica is very friendly and welcomed us into her home. The home is very nice with large living area, large dining, and ample sized rooms. The backyard has lots of green and colorful flowers, and a pergola with a cover, nice to sit outside while it is raining and not get wet. The front porch is large and over looks Canal Street. The trolley stop is right in front of the inn and makes it very convenient to get around.The breakfast we had was really good, better than any hotel would make available. The location and friendly relaxed staff make for a winning combination for a great time, (bon ton roulette).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Manager at Canal Street Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for such a positive description of the house! I am grateful you were able to enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the house, both inside and out. Hopefully your future travels will bring you back to Canal Street Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Street Inn

Address: 3620 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70119 (Formerly Block-Keller House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canal Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Street Inn (circa 1912), a beautifully restored Neo-Classical style villa, is nestled under centuries-old live oaks on world-famous Canal Street, just a short streetcar ride from the French Quarter. We are right on the streetcar line – with direct access to St Charles Avenue, the Superdome, the Garden District, the Mississippi Riverfront and City Park. We offer free parking too. Whether you are taking a short vacation for Jazz Fest, French Quarter Fest, Voodoo Fest or going on an extended stay business trip let our bed and breakfast be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Canal Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Street Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.