We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Street Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Canal Street Inn to your Saves list
Canal Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3620 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70119 (Formerly Block-Keller House)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond, Texas, United States
1 review
“Amazing Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a last minute anniversary trip to New Orleans. Monica at the Canal St Inn was very accommodating and made us feel like we were home. The Bed & Breakfast is absolutely beautiful and has so much history in the home. We will definitely be returning in the near future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Manager at Canal Street Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you Jennifer for your kind review. I'm glad you were able to have a relaxing and enjoyable anniversary weekend. I look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
46
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We can recommend the Canal Street Inn and its lovely and gracious hostess, Monica, wholeheartedly. My husband and I spent almost a week at the inn, and our daughter and son-in-law joined us for a few nights, and we were completely pleased with the entire visit. Our suite was comfortable and spacious; the house itself is charming; the garden is perfect for a cup of coffee before Monica serves her delicious breakfast, and mid-city is a great location, close to City Park, the Sculpture Garden and New Orleans Museum of Art as well as cool restaurants and bars. But again, the best part of the Canal Street Inn is Monica and her family--including the dogs--who made us feel pampered and at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Manager at Canal Street Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
My sincere thank you for the recommendation for others to stay at the Inn. I love it when guests enjoy not only the stay here, but also the local art, food, and culture of the neighborhood. I'm glad we could serve as your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast was exactly what I was looking for: quaint, quiet, unique, romantic, beautifully rennovated, historical architecture, feeling of "home away from home", convenient to French Quarter and other land marks via street car, great personal service from Monica, and reasonably priced. I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Manager at Canal Street Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and stay at the Inn. Next time maybe you will be able to come for a longer trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a fantastic trip to New Orleans, and loved our stay at the Canal Street Inn! The home was beautiful, our room was comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, and the location was perfect! 15 minutes to the Quarter by streetcar, plus walking distance from some cool places in the neighborhood like Chickie Wah Wah and Finn McCools. And of course, Monica was the best part! She gave us lots of great suggestions, made lunch reservations for us at Commander's Palace, and made sure we were able to get ahold of her day or night if anything came up. She also left out teas, water, and small snacks, which were a nice touch. Highly recommend Canal Street Inn and would definately stay again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Owner at Canal Street Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
My gratitude for your kind review. I am so happy you were able to take advantage of the wonderful things to do in this neighborhood, as well as the rest of the city! I hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Beach
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our first trip to New Orleans and we only had one night at the Canal Inn but it was delightful. The house was charming, breakfast was lovely and so was our hosts who were very welcoming and helpful. Great location, about 10 minutes on the trolley to Bourbon Street, you do pass through a bit of an 'average' area between the B&B and Bourbon so you wouldn't walk but it's very safe on the trolley. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Manager at Canal Street Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Canal Street Inn. I'm glad your first visit to the City was a great experience. I hope to see you again for a longer visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My entire family would like to thank Monica and her staff for making Alexsa & Dan's wedding reception on September 15, 2012, a beautiful, fun and relaxing experience. Monica took care of my daughter so well that it gave me time to actually catch my breath. Also, the test tasting at the restaurant with my daughter, sisters and mother was so stress free and delicious!! From the gorgeous Inn, food and hospitality to the wonderful outdoor atmosphere, she truly made their day special…And she even took unobtrusive photos of the reception!! Who does that?? Monica does!! Being a Louisiana native, I appreciate a good person with a great heart!! I would recommend anyone looking into having a special event to take a serious look at this Inn. You would do yourself a great injustice not to! From having food and drinks to a special cake then a beautiful suite to retire to for the night, all without worry or hassle. Have fun, like we did!
Leslie w/Mr. & Mrs. Woods-West

Room Tip: All the suites were beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Manager at Canal Street Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We truly enjoyed working with you and your family for this special event. I am so glad we could create a stress-free wedding reception for the bride/groom as well as yourself. My sincere gratitude for recommending Canal Street Inn to others looking for event and room space. Hope to see you at the Inn when you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My sister and I stayed at this wonderful B&B . This home is beautifully decorated and our suite was spacious and comfortable. Monica thought of everything including shampoo and conditioner. She also provided great suggestions for restaurants, tours and spa services and made all the reservations. I would recommend this Inn to anyone who is visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica R, Manager at Canal Street Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for the kind review. I enjoyed yours and your sisters visit to the Inn. I hope that you were safe from "Sandy".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canal Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Street Inn

Address: 3620 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70119 (Formerly Block-Keller House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canal Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal Street Inn (circa 1912), a beautifully restored Neo-Classical style villa, is nestled under centuries-old live oaks on world-famous Canal Street, just a short streetcar ride from the French Quarter. We are right on the streetcar line – with direct access to St Charles Avenue, the Superdome, the Garden District, the Mississippi Riverfront and City Park. We offer free parking too. Whether you are taking a short vacation for Jazz Fest, French Quarter Fest, Voodoo Fest or going on an extended stay business trip let our bed and breakfast be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canal Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Street Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.