We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange hotel, mixed feelings....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   931 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #49 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Strange hotel, mixed feelings....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Ended in December 2013, I visited this hotel for 4 nights due to a convention. First I must say that New Orleans in December is not fun because of the weather and the visible effects of Katrina. In the evening creates an annoying and sometimes aggressive atmosphere around Bourbon Street, despite many great bars.

Now the hotel. Of course, the birthplace of New Orleans jazz, but a 24-hour loud music in the elevator and in the lounge is too much of a good thing. The rooms are good, but not exuberant, beds are perfect. Nice bathroom.

This is the first hotel I me worried how I would find. Emergency exit in an emergency This is due to the strange blue lights in the hallways. It gives a disorientating feeling.

.The breakfast was very mediocre, despite the good care of the staff.

Was very impressed by the atmosphere in the bar, cozy and regular live music.

Again it is a real hotel for business with little extras, well situated for the Congress, nothing more.

Room Tip: Take at least a room in the center and not near the street regarding the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl H, General Manager at The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Saint Hotel. Thank you for your comments about our bar, live music, decor and beds. We appreciate you staying with us during your time in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    186
    70
    25
    15
See reviews for
39
206
16
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have spent 4 nights here and found this hotel to be very unique. It would have been a top recommendation except for our house keeping experience. The second day we had no coffee replacement for the Keurig. Then OU room wasn't cleaned the next day and today while the room was cleaned when we got back they had forgot to leave us towels in the room. We liked this hotel. It is convienent to Bourbon st and all the places here on Canal St. which includes the street cars. We enjoyed the bar as well. Nice front desk folks on every interaction. If the housekeeping was fixed this would have been a perfect stay. I would stay again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl H, General Manager at The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Saint Hotel. Thank you for your comments about our location, great bar and friendly staff. I do apologize about the housekeeping situation you encountered. I will speak with the staff immediately about this. Thank you for again for staying with us at The Saint, we do hope you come back to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This is my 1st night at the hotel... I left the hotel around 9AM to sightseen. I've just got to the room - around 6PM - and guess what? No room service was ever done to my room. The towels were dirty and wet on the floor, the bed was a mess. I could never think such high standard hotel could "have forgotten" to do your bed

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Darryl H, General Manager at The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Saint Hotel. I apologize for the lack of service - I do hope you spoke with the front desk and they were able to get you taken care of. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We recently spent a four day weekend at this hotel and it was a very memorable experience. We typically stay over in the French Quarter somewhere and this was our first time on this end of Canal St. The location is perfect if you're interested in Bourbon St. and it's an easy walk to Jackson Square and the market area. The rooms are very modern and they follow the same saint/sinner theme as the rest of the hotel. We found the hotel staff to be very attentive to our needs and very friendly every time we entered the lobby area. The bar was very cool with a great bartender the nights we met friends there....there's even a pool table to kill some time on while you wait for people to show up. All in all, a very good stay.

Room Tip: Stay as high as you can and ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl H, General Manager at The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are so delighted you had such a lovely stay with us at The Saint Hotel! Thank you for all of your comments about our location, modern decor, cool bar and friendly staff. We hope you come back and visit us again soon and have a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

In New Orleans you want a hotel with a good, easy to reach location, The Saint is in a great spot right next to the Ritz Carlton on Canal St. Lobby is awesome, hallways to the guest rooms are very cool with blue lighting and easy on the eyes. Room is very modern, nice bedding, really liked the shower and bath. Hotel is new and it shows it, nicely maintained. Didnt try the food so wont comments. Staff was great. There is street noise in this area-it is the French Quarter.

Far better choice than the Mariott or the Sheraton, will stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl H, General Manager at The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We are so delighted you had such a nice stay with us at The Saint Hotel! Thank you for your comments about our location, modern decor and great staff! We hope you come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Well, I think I have found the all-around worst Marriott property in the world. Where to start......
The parking is $40/day. I called for my vehicle and went down to no vehicle. The excuse I was given was that it was too busy and nobody went to get it. UNBELIEVABLE. I was listening to some wonderful music in the lounge on Thursday night when the clock struck midnight. There was such a rush by the staff to close, the bar back (or somebody) took my drink. I complained and the bartender brought me another but charged me. Again, UNBELIEVABLE to question a guest. Screaming, crying kids on my floor both days. My favorite, however was the two bottles of body lotion instead of conditioner and three caffeine free coffees in the room. I guess even color coding doesn't work. Lol

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl H, General Manager at The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
I appreciate you expressing your concerns about your stay with us at The Saint. Thank you for staying with us and bringing these matters to my attention. I will speak with my Bartenders immediately in regards to the service you experienced. Our parking rates are competitive but we are happy to say we offer one of the lowest parking rates in the French Quarter. I will also speak with my Valet team in regards to the your waiting time. Unfortunately we cannot control the crying babies you had on your floor but we can control the products offered in your room so I do apologize for that mishap. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so we can show you how your comments were used constructively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed there for 1 night in October, 2013 and enjoyed our stay. Staff was friendly and welcoming and the room was sufficient for a one night stay. The hotel definitely has some quirks but overall I would recommend it for couples/young people. The blacklights and "play naughty" blanket on the bed may not be totally appropriate for families.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl H, General Manager at The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for tell us about your experience at The Saint Hotel! We appreciate all of your comments about our hip decor and friendly staff. We are delighted you had a nice time. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 931 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.