We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a funky hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   931 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #59 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Pittsburgh
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay in a funky hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I spent a few nights at The Saint in New Orleans before our recent cruise. Normally we are the kind of people who stay at a Hyatt Regency or Renaissance, but as this was a bit of a special celebration I thought we go a little more on the contemporary side. From the minute you walk into the very minimalist lobby you know this is going to be a different type of hotel. Even though we arrived late (and had a Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride cab ride from the airport) the staff at the desk greeted us warmly and sped us up to our room. The hallways on the guest floors are lit primarily with black light which casts a cool blue glow. Our room, by contrast, was almost all white. The walls and the furniture were all white, while the dark blue carpet had a white pattern to it. The ceiling is a dark blue. The bathroom, again, modern and comfortable, was all white (with a black light under the vanity that you only noticed when the lights were out).
The staff at the desk was quick to point out several good restaurants in the area for a late bite, but we ended up in the lobby bar. The bar is decorated in red. Kind of new age bordello or maybe vampire porn. Kind of funky, but you know what, it fits with the hotel and it works.
We spent the next 3 days wandering the city, eating fried food and enjoying the sites.
One thing neither of us liked was the fact that the bed was lumpy and bordering on torture to sleep on. For a fairly new upscale hotel, the mattress was as cheap and crappy as it gets.
Now for the good stuff. The hotel is clean, the rooms and public areas airy and spacious, great location (being right on Canal near Bourbon and Royal) and fairly quiet. They said they were over 80% full and we almost never saw anyone else. But I really have to give the staff a round of applause. From the girls at the front desk to the bell staff, always very friendly and eager to help or suggest someplace to eat. And a special thanks to JP, not sure what his real function is at the hotel, but when one of my orthotics broke on the 2nd day, he made 3 or 4 trips up to our room bringing me various tools to try and repair it. After about 30 minutes, we finally hit on the right tool and got things squared away. So thanks JP.
The staff and the hotel itself made our first time in NOLA very memorable.
Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl H, General Manager at The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your wonderful experience at The Saint Hotel! We are so delighted you had such a pleasant stay and that JP was able to help you!! We appreciate your comments about our lobby, decor, bar and friendly staff. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    134
    58
    23
    11
See reviews for
25
138
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Updated and fashionable rooms - reasonably priced on Canal Street on the northeast corner of the French Quarter. Very nice, large and modern bathrooms. Rooms are very modern. Includes free Internet although that wireless service was weak. Needs to be improved. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floor away from any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl H, General Manager at The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Saint Hotel. We appreciate your comments about our property, location and decor. We appreciate you pointing our your issue with the internet service and will get that worked on immediately. Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I booked through Priceline and was a little concerned after reading a few not so stellar reviews on tripadvisor. I booked 2 rooms as we were traveling with my in-laws. When we arrived we were told that there would be a $50 up charge to get 2 double beds. This is something I had never encountered with a Priceline booking. After a pleasant conversation with the extremely helpful gentleman at the front desk the fee was waived. The entire hotel was an experience unto itself! From the huge leather chair in the lounge to the blue hued hallways to the magnificent chandeliers in the bar they truly paid attention to detail. Yes, there is some not so perfect workmanship in the room but this certainly did not affect the quality of our stay. As another reviewer pointed out...beware of the bed corners...3 out of 6 of us received complimentary bruises! The Niven Morgan spa products that are in the room are to die for! I seriously considered buying the $125 robe...absolute luxury! The first night we were given complimentary pralines. Nice touch. The valet was pricy but that's to be expected. They were timely and polite. Actually, every staff member we encountered was more than pleasant and helpful! The location was perfect for the French Quarter and shopping. I would highly recommend a stay at The Saint.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl H, General Manager at The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We are so delighted you discovered us on Priceline and booked your stay! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Saint Hotel. We appreciate all of your kinds words regarding our property, decor, location, ammenities and friendly staff! We are so glad the front desk was able to take care of you. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Merrick, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I cannot rave more about the location - on the border of the French Quarter the location of The Saint allows you to be close to the action but far enough away that the debauchery stays away at night allowing for sleep. A short walk into the quarter provides a plethora of food options and entertainment. Close to the St Charles streetcar stop if heading to the Garden District/Uptown.

Friendly staff and excellent recommendations from the concierge - there is no concierge desk but they are often standing in the lobby waiting to assist.

Definitely has the boutique hotel feel - trendy decoration and a nice change of pace from the traditional Marriott line.

Excellent drinks in the Burgundy Bar though a little on the pricey side.

Only major issue was the lack of response to a maintenance issue. Our party had, in total, 3 rooms. Two had no issues with the rooms. The third, however, struggled for hot water in the shower - struggled even for warm water! Even after daily (polite) complaints and requests for repair, the situation never improved. In hindsight, we should have requested to switch rooms, though that was never offered (even on day 3 of complaint/request for repair). We were given minimal compensation, but had to ask for it rather than it being offered to make up for the unfortunate situation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl H, General Manager at The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Saint Hotel. We are so glad you had such a nice time. We appreciate all of your kind words regarding our location and friendly staff! Thank you for bringing the maintenance situation to our attention. I will speak with my staff to resolve this issue. We hope we have the opportunity to provide your lodging accommodations in the future and show you how your comments were used constructively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Saint is wonderful boutique hotel in a great location--the heart of the French Quarter. It's close to lots of great restaurants, shopping and jazz clubs and far enough away from Bourbon Street.

The blue and white rooms are designed in an Art Nouveau motif. The ceiling in the room was painted indigo blue and the walls were bright white--definitely a bold design move. Bathrooms were done in white marble. Just a minor note, but the shower pan was really slippery. So, I asked for a bath mat. It was immediately delivered to my room.

On a related note, the hallways had really funky lighting. It was intended to take you back in time to the shadier side of New Orleans. Creative idea, but, it really doesn't work. Rather than creating a mood, it just makes guests wonder what ich the light camouflages.

Without a doubt, the best assets in the hotel are the staff. The front desk staff and especially the doorman, whose names I'm afraid I've forgotten, were unbelievable!!!! They looked forward to offering great restaurant and jazz club suggestions. We loved their suggestion of Snug Harbor, a great jazz club on Frenchman Street.

Wonderful museums and galleries in New Orleans. We especially enjoyed the Ogden Museum.
Beautiful building and an amazing collection.

I bid 4 starts in the French Quarter on Priceline and got The Saint Hotel for $162/night. Not bad. Don't know how The Saint or the Ritz next door can reconcile the problem; but, it was hard to get a tranquil night's sleep with sirens roaring outside at all hours. We were on the 8th floor and it was still a problem.

Room Tip: To avoid the sounds of sirens jarring you from your sleep, you might try a room on the back side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl H, General Manager at The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We are so delighted you had such a wonderful stay with us at The Saint Hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about it. Thank you for your comments about our decor, location and staff. We strive to provide excellent guest service. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A., CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Not a bad place overall. But the devil is in the details. Broken towel hooks in the bathroom, chipped paint and poorly set tiles, not particularly helpful front desk staff - all this adds up to color your experience. The Saint feels like a chain hotel that's had a superficial makeover. It lacks the real personality of a boutique hotel or the service and attention to detail of a 5 star place like the Four Seasons.

All that being said, the doormen were awesome!!! Friendly and helpful. And if you can't abide by ornate and floral, The Saint is a decent alternative to other New Orleans hotels. It's also well located - close enough to the quarter but far enough away to not be in the middle of a drunk frat party.

Also they currently only have one room size available and it's small for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl H, General Manager at The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Saint Hotel. We appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention and will certainly discuss these details with our staff. Thank you for your comments about our location and doormen- they are great! We hope to have the opportunity to provide your lodging accommodations again in the future and show you how your comments were used constructively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

came to NOLA to run the Rock and Roll 1/2 marathon. planned to stay at the Saint. had stayed here before so nothing of a surprise. the rooms are nice but a little small. the staff is very nice and friendly. unfortunately, there really arent too many staff people.

the decor and the set up of the hotel is actually very nice and suprisingly pretty. the dining room downstairs is a sight to see. it looks like something from Alice in Wonderland. the bar is also done very tactfully. there is live music on the weekends.

as for the entire stay, it turned out to be great. essential to the success was the location of the hotel. only two blocks off of canal and bourbon. had a chance to see and look around but was not overwhelmed by the craziness of bourbon. was close to the street cars and also canal place.

i would definitely stay here again. in fact im going back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl H, General Manager at The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Congratulations on running the Rock N' Roll half marathon- that is awesome! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Saint Hotel. Thank you for your comments about our property, location and staff. We are looking forward you visiting again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 931 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.