We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy,Discusting,Stay Away,Run,Save your money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St. Vincent's Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St. Vincent's Guest House to your Saves list
St. Vincent's Guest House
1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Filthy,Discusting,Stay Away,Run,Save your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place by far is the worst place I've ever stayed in. Infested with roaches horrible service. The worst experience ever. Beware. Don't go! Thieves are everywhere. Had a case of bed bugs. Literally the worst hostel to ever exist water leaks from ceiling no proper heating dirty bathrooms. U name think of it this place has it. This place has more negative reviews than positive for a reason. If thinking about staying here check the rooms out first then make your decision. Do not give them your money first. THIS BUILDING SHOULD BE CONDEMNED AND THE PEOPLE THAT WORK HERE SOME OF THEM I KNOW OF TWO DEFINITELY STEAL YOUR STUFF WHILE YOUR OUT OR WHILE THEY COME CLEAN, SO BEWARE!!!! please for your health and safety book your reservations somewhere else.....The pictures on the internet are misleading and very untrue. I have video that I will be placing on YouTube to show everything that contradicts there misleading pictures on the internet....no free breakfast kitchen is actually closed probably due to rodents eating half the food there really is no telling. I'm not proud of what I'm about to say however I will say it. I went to prison before and it is cleaner in prison than this place..,..I am going to notify and send video dept. of health. Mold everything the other reviews stated is true. Thank you for reading this and God bless you. Stay Away!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    77
    48
    43
    181
See reviews for
30
70
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was the worst accommodation experience I have ever had. I have stayed in hostels all over the world for 15+ years and know what to expect. From the moment I checked into this abominable hellhole, I felt uncomfortable (keeping in mind my experience in all sorts of hostels). The scatterbrained aussie guy at the front desk demanded that I give him change for a $100 bill that he had received from another guest (he did not even ask) and I refused. He then cursed at me for not indulging his idiotic request To say the least, it was uncomfortable. I did not want to stay at that point but all reasonably priced hotels were booked at the time since I was in town for a large conference. Once I got to the room, NOTHING that the confirmation e-mail detailed was actually in the room. There was NO internet and there was NO safe available in the room. There was ONE old dirty towel (it smelled like month old unwashed feet) in the bathroom. It wasn't even a shower towel. It was only a hand towel. We braved two nights before we left in absolute horror (keep in mind, we were both SEASONED hostel travelers). The reason we left? OUR PASSPORTS WERE STOLEN FROM OUR ROOM. WHEN WE LEFT, OUR ROOM WAS LOCKED WITH OUR PASSPORTS HIDDEN INSIDE (SINCE THE SAFE THAT WAS PROMISED DID NOT EXIST), WHEN WE RETURNED, OUR ROOM WAS ALSO LOCKED, HOWEVER, OUR PASSPORTS HAD DISAPPEARED. We called the police and they informed us that we were crazy to stay there because they were there CONSTANTLY (they stressed that 3 times) for the same thing - people come into locked rooms, steal items, then lock up behind them. No one from the hostel ever sees or hears the crooks and it's as if it never happens. Rest assured, we are living proof, it does happen. IT IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED AND I WOULD NOT TEST THE THEORY THAT IT WILL NOT HAPPEN AGAIN. The hotel owner is a piece of work. He said we (DRUNKENLY) took our things and left them in the courtyard and forgot them and that we were SO LUCKY that their staff went and found them for us. This is entirely false. We never, EVER, went into the courtyard, nor did we EVER remove our passports from our room. Oddly enough, our passports were recovered in their courtyard next to the wallet of another guest whose credit cards were stolen and used all over New Orleans that same day that our passports were stolen (I bet that's just a weird coincidence... ). The owner will do his absolute juvenile best to discredit you if you ever have a problem with the establishment. He did the same to us when we disputed the charges on our credit cards for our stay at the hostel after they refused a refund to us. I fully expect a ridiculous response to this review stating that we were drunk idiot patrons who disturbed the whole hostel for the duration of our stay (that we cut short by numerous days because we could not stand the brutal conditions) but that is plain nonsense.PLEASE READ PLENTY OF OTHER REVIEWS FOR THIS HELLHOLE TO GET AN IDEA FOR THE CHARACTER OF THIS GUY IF YOU DO NOT BELIEVE ME. We were never intoxicated while we stayed there and we were never a disturbance.

The bottom line is that if you have a reasonable expectation that you will not be robbed by the very people that are providing you with a place to stay, DO NOT EVER STAY HERE. You are more than likely safer sleeping on the streets of New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter073040, Owner at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
These 2 young male college students enjoyed their stay in New Orleans by visiting Bourbon Street in the French Quarter nightly and returning to the hotel in the wee hours of the morning completely inebriated and swearing that the front desk clerk was an Aussie with an Australian accent, i.e., we do not have any Australian front desk clerks. Towards the end of their stay, they panicked one morning and claimed that their passports were missing and called the police. The police came and made a report but the following morning their passports were sitting in their computer bag on one of the benches in the courtyard, which they had to go through to get to their room which was obvious they left it there. Subsequently, they asked us to refund all their money for their complete stay because they were "inconvenienced". We argued this chargeback with the bank and I believe we were successful in retaining our rightful lodging fees. I really am suprised at their behavior as I have thought that Australians are straight forward and honest, somewhat reminding me of America in the 1950's. P.S. My children are Australian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I’ve stayed at St. Vincent’s several times since hurricane Katrina, and it’s clearly improved every time I’ve visited New Orleans. It’s not a typical hotel by any means, and I can understand why it rubs some people the wrong way. But I’m more adventurous than most, and I enjoy the sense of being inside a living piece of New Orleans history. And during my last stay I noticed that the grounds, the management, and even the clientele had improved quite a bit. Even the entrances are secure at night, which is important in New Orleans, because even the nice neighborhood around the hotel has its share of suspicious characters. The most impressive new change was the lobby, which is now full of beautiful bronze sculptures. I’ll post photos since I can’t do them justice. The whole operation just feels classier, but it’s still the same old building, with a few familiar faces. Oh yeah, and it’s cheap. Really cheap. Like half of what the major hotels charge. A good value for a bargain traveler like me, but if you’re booking your honeymoon, best book a room at the Windsor Court for $300+/night, because St. Vincent’s isn’t a five-star hotel. It’s just a cool, kinda funky, but oddly charming and super cheap room in a terrific neighborhood. I’ll be back, maybe because I keep hoping to see a ghost traipsing down the hall one night, lol.

Room Tip: Ask for one of Miss Eloise's rooms, no joke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter073040, Owner at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and thank you for choosing St. Vincent's Guest House for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Wanted to plan a trip from Houston to New Orleans on the cheap and found St. Vincent's online. Took the Megabus from Houston to Nola, the bus left at midnight and I arrived around 6 am. I took a city bus to St. Vincent's and got to the hotel. When I arrived the desk clerk had not arrived but I was invited to enjoy some coffee and breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The cook there is amazing by the way with over 25 years of experience.

After a wonderful breakfast and some great conversation the desk person arrived. I had an opportunity to chat with the owner Peter after breakfast and he asked the clerk to give me a discount. So at this point I had an early check in and a discounted rate couldn't get any better right? Guess again the hotel is not only really nice but has a ton of character. The rooms are very clean, there are not a ton of frills but the uniqueness of the place more than makes up for that, at least in my book.

I highly recommend staying here. You are likely to meet some wonderful people and have an experience that no "5 star" hotel can provide.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter073040, Owner at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and thank you for choosing St. Vincent's Guest House for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURANGO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have been staying at St. Vincent's Guest House since before Hurricane Katrina. This is the setting for movies sets such as as "Reds" and "Candyman 2" . My boys have stayed in several of the "5" stars hotels in New Orleans and given the choice always choose the guesthouse. We don't spend a lot of time in our rooms so like the cost of the room. There is a kitchen if we need one. Our rooms are always comfortable and clean. I am currently using the former orphanage as a setting in a book.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building on third floor are our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter073040, Owner at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a horrible and miserable place to stay! The rooms do not have any HEAT! There are COCKROACHES all over the place! The rooms are dirty, the sheets are unwashed and had a smell, the people who work there are absolutely disgusting! Please AVOID THIS HOSTEL!!!

Room Tip: Please avoid this PLACE!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I can surely say by far that this was my worst place ever to stay. Rooms looked nothing like the pictures, they first booked us a room no microwave,refrig..,no cable and no heat. So then we switch rooms ,little bit better still no type of heat at all huge room bed is about 12-13 ft from a 24in tv . I guess the killing part for us is these rooms are not equip with any type of heaters. WHAT KIND OF ROOMS DONT HAVE HEAT!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Vincent's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent's Guest House

Address: 1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Vincent Guest House is Under New Management!!! As of December 1, 2013 The Guest House will be operated under a new management team that is dedicated to improving both the aesthetics and overall condition of the entire establishment. Steps are being taken to bring this beautiful and historical building to its fullest potential and offer our guests a wonderful experience and comfortable stay. St. Vincent's is not a full service hotel, it is more of hostel/quaint budget hotel that is both economical and located in one of the best areas in the City of New Orleans. (The Lower Garden District) First opened in 1861 as a orphanage; the building has a distinct and colorful history that is worth exploring. The lobby is adorned with photos that reflect the history and show the building's usage over the last 100+ years. Each room has an individual decor and design scape that will make you feel as though you are walking into an era of Nola history gone by... The grounds are well kept and offer several areas for outdoor seating for morning coffee, an evening cigar or just great conversations... Our staff have been trained and are dedicated to providing each guest with the highest level of customer services with courtesy and a smile. Although there are not a great deal of amenities available, every guest will find that the Guest House offers a tremendous value for the price. We have both private sleeping rooms as well as dormitories available. There have been several negative reviews that have been posted in the past and those reviews have been duly noted and taken into consideration for action as we move towards improvements... Likewise, there have been several positive reviews from guests who have enjoyed their stay and the experience at the Guest House; and for that we are thankful! We look forward to this new era at St. Vincent's and welcome each and every guest with open arms... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your St. Vincent's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
St Vincents Hotel
St Vincents New Orleans
St Vincent Guest House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Vincent's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.