We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stately old orphanage converted into an affordable hotel…but still no ghosts…” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Vincent's Guest House

Save Saved
You added St. Vincent's Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Vincent's Guest House
1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A stately old orphanage converted into an affordable hotel…but still no ghosts…”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I’ve stayed at St. Vincent’s several times since hurricane Katrina, and it’s clearly improved every time I’ve visited New Orleans. It’s not a typical hotel by any means, and I can understand why it rubs some people the wrong way. But I’m more adventurous than most, and I enjoy the sense of being inside a living piece of New Orleans history. And during my last stay I noticed that the grounds, the management, and even the clientele had improved quite a bit. Even the entrances are secure at night, which is important in New Orleans, because even the nice neighborhood around the hotel has its share of suspicious characters. The most impressive new change was the lobby, which is now full of beautiful bronze sculptures. I’ll post photos since I can’t do them justice. The whole operation just feels classier, but it’s still the same old building, with a few familiar faces. Oh yeah, and it’s cheap. Really cheap. Like half of what the major hotels charge. A good value for a bargain traveler like me, but if you’re booking your honeymoon, best book a room at the Windsor Court for $300+/night, because St. Vincent’s isn’t a five-star hotel. It’s just a cool, kinda funky, but oddly charming and super cheap room in a terrific neighborhood. I’ll be back, maybe because I keep hoping to see a ghost traipsing down the hall one night, lol.

Room Tip: Ask for one of Miss Eloise's rooms, no joke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter073040, Owner at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and thank you for choosing St. Vincent's Guest House for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    77
    47
    43
    176
See reviews for
30
68
43
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Wanted to plan a trip from Houston to New Orleans on the cheap and found St. Vincent's online. Took the Megabus from Houston to Nola, the bus left at midnight and I arrived around 6 am. I took a city bus to St. Vincent's and got to the hotel. When I arrived the desk clerk had not arrived but I was invited to enjoy some coffee and breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The cook there is amazing by the way with over 25 years of experience.

After a wonderful breakfast and some great conversation the desk person arrived. I had an opportunity to chat with the owner Peter after breakfast and he asked the clerk to give me a discount. So at this point I had an early check in and a discounted rate couldn't get any better right? Guess again the hotel is not only really nice but has a ton of character. The rooms are very clean, there are not a ton of frills but the uniqueness of the place more than makes up for that, at least in my book.

I highly recommend staying here. You are likely to meet some wonderful people and have an experience that no "5 star" hotel can provide.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter073040, Owner at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and thank you for choosing St. Vincent's Guest House for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURANGO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have been staying at St. Vincent's Guest House since before Hurricane Katrina. This is the setting for movies sets such as as "Reds" and "Candyman 2" . My boys have stayed in several of the "5" stars hotels in New Orleans and given the choice always choose the guesthouse. We don't spend a lot of time in our rooms so like the cost of the room. There is a kitchen if we need one. Our rooms are always comfortable and clean. I am currently using the former orphanage as a setting in a book.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building on third floor are our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter073040, Owner at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a horrible and miserable place to stay! The rooms do not have any HEAT! There are COCKROACHES all over the place! The rooms are dirty, the sheets are unwashed and had a smell, the people who work there are absolutely disgusting! Please AVOID THIS HOSTEL!!!

Room Tip: Please avoid this PLACE!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I can surely say by far that this was my worst place ever to stay. Rooms looked nothing like the pictures, they first booked us a room no microwave,refrig..,no cable and no heat. So then we switch rooms ,little bit better still no type of heat at all huge room bed is about 12-13 ft from a 24in tv . I guess the killing part for us is these rooms are not equip with any type of heaters. WHAT KIND OF ROOMS DONT HAVE HEAT!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxley, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I made a reversation on Wed 11-14-2012 gave them my card # to hold till we got there Fri 11-16-2012, called the next day Thur 11-15-2012 to cancel (because of all the bad reviews i read) The man i spoke with Gabrial was very nice and said my card would not be charged that i canceled in time. Soooo I look at my bank acct Sat morning and I have been charged!! Called the bank done the whole dispute thing, found out they spoke with the Hotel, and the Hotel employee lied and said I told them I would check in Thursday...I have now called the bank again to start another claim, and have told my bank to let the hotel know I called from my work to cancel the resveration, I work at a police dept and we have recorded phone lines..............we'll see

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at this guest house in November 2012 for three days and we could not wait to leave.The room was worn and shabby, the bed creaked and the television worked only occasionally. We suffered a personal emergency whilst in New Orleans and the staff were not only unhelpful but gave us misleading information which led to us making the 25 minute walk into the French Quarter. DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU ARE A TOURIST IT IS NOT WORTH YOUR WHILE

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Vincent's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent's Guest House

Address: 1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Vincent Guest House is Under New Management!!! As of December 1, 2013 The Guest House will be operated under a new management team that is dedicated to improving both the aesthetics and overall condition of the entire establishment. Steps are being taken to bring this beautiful and historical building to its fullest potential and offer our guests a wonderful experience and comfortable stay. St. Vincent's is not a full service hotel, it is more of hostel/quaint budget hotel that is both economical and located in one of the best areas in the City of New Orleans. (The Lower Garden District) First opened in 1861 as a orphanage; the building has a distinct and colorful history that is worth exploring. The lobby is adorned with photos that reflect the history and show the building's usage over the last 100+ years. Each room has an individual decor and design scape that will make you feel as though you are walking into an era of Nola history gone by... The grounds are well kept and offer several areas for outdoor seating for morning coffee, an evening cigar or just great conversations... Our staff have been trained and are dedicated to providing each guest with the highest level of customer services with courtesy and a smile. Although there are not a great deal of amenities available, every guest will find that the Guest House offers a tremendous value for the price. We have both private sleeping rooms as well as dormitories available. There have been several negative reviews that have been posted in the past and those reviews have been duly noted and taken into consideration for action as we move towards improvements... Likewise, there have been several positive reviews from guests who have enjoyed their stay and the experience at the Guest House; and for that we are thankful! We look forward to this new era at St. Vincent's and welcome each and every guest with open arms... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your St. Vincent's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
St Vincents Hotel
St Vincents New Orleans
St Vincent Guest House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Vincent's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.