We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat visitor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Vincent's Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St. Vincent's Guest House to your Saves list
St. Vincent's Guest House
1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
DURANGO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Repeat visitor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have been staying at St. Vincent's Guest House since before Hurricane Katrina. This is the setting for movies sets such as as "Reds" and "Candyman 2" . My boys have stayed in several of the "5" stars hotels in New Orleans and given the choice always choose the guesthouse. We don't spend a lot of time in our rooms so like the cost of the room. There is a kitchen if we need one. Our rooms are always comfortable and clean. I am currently using the former orphanage as a setting in a book.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building on third floor are our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter073040, Owner at St. Vincent's Guest House, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    77
    48
    43
    183
See reviews for
30
70
45
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a horrible and miserable place to stay! The rooms do not have any HEAT! There are COCKROACHES all over the place! The rooms are dirty, the sheets are unwashed and had a smell, the people who work there are absolutely disgusting! Please AVOID THIS HOSTEL!!!

Room Tip: Please avoid this PLACE!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I can surely say by far that this was my worst place ever to stay. Rooms looked nothing like the pictures, they first booked us a room no microwave,refrig..,no cable and no heat. So then we switch rooms ,little bit better still no type of heat at all huge room bed is about 12-13 ft from a 24in tv . I guess the killing part for us is these rooms are not equip with any type of heaters. WHAT KIND OF ROOMS DONT HAVE HEAT!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxley, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I made a reversation on Wed 11-14-2012 gave them my card # to hold till we got there Fri 11-16-2012, called the next day Thur 11-15-2012 to cancel (because of all the bad reviews i read) The man i spoke with Gabrial was very nice and said my card would not be charged that i canceled in time. Soooo I look at my bank acct Sat morning and I have been charged!! Called the bank done the whole dispute thing, found out they spoke with the Hotel, and the Hotel employee lied and said I told them I would check in Thursday...I have now called the bank again to start another claim, and have told my bank to let the hotel know I called from my work to cancel the resveration, I work at a police dept and we have recorded phone lines..............we'll see

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at this guest house in November 2012 for three days and we could not wait to leave.The room was worn and shabby, the bed creaked and the television worked only occasionally. We suffered a personal emergency whilst in New Orleans and the staff were not only unhelpful but gave us misleading information which led to us making the 25 minute walk into the French Quarter. DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU ARE A TOURIST IT IS NOT WORTH YOUR WHILE

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

They are certified bed bug free..... but how about the other bugs. It was absolutely terrible! A long day of traveling and we just wanted to lay down and sleep. We pulled back the covers and 5 bugs scurried. Then we cleaned that off then we looked at the night stand and there were 10 different sized bugs. Little ones and HUGE ones we had to leave. Its looks fun and should have been a great piece of our story.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Okay, let me start off by saying that this is a hostel and, being a poor college student, I opted for the cheaper option for my New Orleans trip and booked at St. Vincent's. The location is great (15-20 minute walk from touristy places), and the staff is pretty friendly, plus the building is old and has a lot of character. The problem is that, being an old building, there are also a lot of issues. The pipes are not great and there's practically no water pressure, not to mention the tons of cockroaches that get into the room from the pipes. None of them are that big, but they are annoying because they crawl on the walls and some actually got into my suitcase, so I had to shake them out of all my clothes (yuck!). Really, this place had some cleanliness issues. It looked like they didn't do a very good job cleaning up or just generally maintaining the building. Overall, this was a good stay because of the convenience and price of the hostel, but if you're freaked out about bugs, I definitely would not recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Vincent's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent's Guest House

Address: 1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Vincent Guest House is Under New Management!!! As of December 1, 2013 The Guest House will be operated under a new management team that is dedicated to improving both the aesthetics and overall condition of the entire establishment. Steps are being taken to bring this beautiful and historical building to its fullest potential and offer our guests a wonderful experience and comfortable stay. St. Vincent's is not a full service hotel, it is more of hostel/quaint budget hotel that is both economical and located in one of the best areas in the City of New Orleans. (The Lower Garden District) First opened in 1861 as a orphanage; the building has a distinct and colorful history that is worth exploring. The lobby is adorned with photos that reflect the history and show the building's usage over the last 100+ years. Each room has an individual decor and design scape that will make you feel as though you are walking into an era of Nola history gone by... The grounds are well kept and offer several areas for outdoor seating for morning coffee, an evening cigar or just great conversations... Our staff have been trained and are dedicated to providing each guest with the highest level of customer services with courtesy and a smile. Although there are not a great deal of amenities available, every guest will find that the Guest House offers a tremendous value for the price. We have both private sleeping rooms as well as dormitories available. There have been several negative reviews that have been posted in the past and those reviews have been duly noted and taken into consideration for action as we move towards improvements... Likewise, there have been several positive reviews from guests who have enjoyed their stay and the experience at the Guest House; and for that we are thankful! We look forward to this new era at St. Vincent's and welcome each and every guest with open arms... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your St. Vincent's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
St Vincents Hotel
St Vincents New Orleans
St Vincent Guest House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Vincent's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.