We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroaches and No Heat” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St. Vincent's Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St. Vincent's Guest House to your Saves list
St. Vincent's Guest House
1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cockroaches and No Heat”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a horrible and miserable place to stay! The rooms do not have any HEAT! There are COCKROACHES all over the place! The rooms are dirty, the sheets are unwashed and had a smell, the people who work there are absolutely disgusting! Please AVOID THIS HOSTEL!!!

Room Tip: Please avoid this PLACE!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    77
    48
    43
    181
See reviews for
30
70
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I can surely say by far that this was my worst place ever to stay. Rooms looked nothing like the pictures, they first booked us a room no microwave,refrig..,no cable and no heat. So then we switch rooms ,little bit better still no type of heat at all huge room bed is about 12-13 ft from a 24in tv . I guess the killing part for us is these rooms are not equip with any type of heaters. WHAT KIND OF ROOMS DONT HAVE HEAT!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxley, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I made a reversation on Wed 11-14-2012 gave them my card # to hold till we got there Fri 11-16-2012, called the next day Thur 11-15-2012 to cancel (because of all the bad reviews i read) The man i spoke with Gabrial was very nice and said my card would not be charged that i canceled in time. Soooo I look at my bank acct Sat morning and I have been charged!! Called the bank done the whole dispute thing, found out they spoke with the Hotel, and the Hotel employee lied and said I told them I would check in Thursday...I have now called the bank again to start another claim, and have told my bank to let the hotel know I called from my work to cancel the resveration, I work at a police dept and we have recorded phone lines..............we'll see

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at this guest house in November 2012 for three days and we could not wait to leave.The room was worn and shabby, the bed creaked and the television worked only occasionally. We suffered a personal emergency whilst in New Orleans and the staff were not only unhelpful but gave us misleading information which led to us making the 25 minute walk into the French Quarter. DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU ARE A TOURIST IT IS NOT WORTH YOUR WHILE

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

They are certified bed bug free..... but how about the other bugs. It was absolutely terrible! A long day of traveling and we just wanted to lay down and sleep. We pulled back the covers and 5 bugs scurried. Then we cleaned that off then we looked at the night stand and there were 10 different sized bugs. Little ones and HUGE ones we had to leave. Its looks fun and should have been a great piece of our story.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Okay, let me start off by saying that this is a hostel and, being a poor college student, I opted for the cheaper option for my New Orleans trip and booked at St. Vincent's. The location is great (15-20 minute walk from touristy places), and the staff is pretty friendly, plus the building is old and has a lot of character. The problem is that, being an old building, there are also a lot of issues. The pipes are not great and there's practically no water pressure, not to mention the tons of cockroaches that get into the room from the pipes. None of them are that big, but they are annoying because they crawl on the walls and some actually got into my suitcase, so I had to shake them out of all my clothes (yuck!). Really, this place had some cleanliness issues. It looked like they didn't do a very good job cleaning up or just generally maintaining the building. Overall, this was a good stay because of the convenience and price of the hostel, but if you're freaked out about bugs, I definitely would not recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We saw an ad for this place at the Amtrak station and it looked great, the building is full of potential and really quirky and interesting however this is not a guest house, it is a hostel with several multi occupancy rooms as well as 'private rooms' . There is a communal kitchen which is filthy and as a result there are cockroaches in the bedrooms. We had to keep the light on to keep them at bay. The furnishings, sheets and towels are worn out and need to thrown away and replaced. You have to pay on arrival and there are no refunds. We dont mind roughing it a bit but there is a certain basic level that is expected and St Vincents doesnt provide even that. On the plus side, the location is fantastic, the people are very nice and it is extremely cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Vincent's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent's Guest House

Address: 1507 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Vincent Guest House is Under New Management!!! As of December 1, 2013 The Guest House will be operated under a new management team that is dedicated to improving both the aesthetics and overall condition of the entire establishment. Steps are being taken to bring this beautiful and historical building to its fullest potential and offer our guests a wonderful experience and comfortable stay. St. Vincent's is not a full service hotel, it is more of hostel/quaint budget hotel that is both economical and located in one of the best areas in the City of New Orleans. (The Lower Garden District) First opened in 1861 as a orphanage; the building has a distinct and colorful history that is worth exploring. The lobby is adorned with photos that reflect the history and show the building's usage over the last 100+ years. Each room has an individual decor and design scape that will make you feel as though you are walking into an era of Nola history gone by... The grounds are well kept and offer several areas for outdoor seating for morning coffee, an evening cigar or just great conversations... Our staff have been trained and are dedicated to providing each guest with the highest level of customer services with courtesy and a smile. Although there are not a great deal of amenities available, every guest will find that the Guest House offers a tremendous value for the price. We have both private sleeping rooms as well as dormitories available. There have been several negative reviews that have been posted in the past and those reviews have been duly noted and taken into consideration for action as we move towards improvements... Likewise, there have been several positive reviews from guests who have enjoyed their stay and the experience at the Guest House; and for that we are thankful! We look forward to this new era at St. Vincent's and welcome each and every guest with open arms... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your St. Vincent's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
St Vincents Hotel
St Vincents New Orleans
St Vincent Guest House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Vincent's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.