We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Cheese Company

St. James Cheese Company
5004 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
North Carolina
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I am a cheese lover so I was in heaven. I read about this place in Gun & Garden a while back and had been anxiously waiting to eat here. My husband and I shared a cheese platter and meat platter, all selected by the chef. While some cheeses and meats were better than others, we had a blast pairing the cheeses and meats with different jams and spreads. We went on a Sunday for a late lunch, and the place was crowded during our entire visit. I would make a special effort to go out of my way to eat here if I were ever in the area again. Note that if you do come from the French Quarter, the green line tram is closed in between the French Quarter and Garden District for construction while the city gets ready for the Superbowl in Feb 2013. To get back to the French Quarter, you can call a cab or take the bus. We took the bus, which was clean and safe.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cheese-tastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We got lunch at the St. James Cheese Company. They had some fantastic looking sandwiches, but we went with a cheese board, the better to try their cheese. And their cheese was fantastic. We especially liked what I think was the Fleur de Maquis. But they were all very good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

On Prytania in the uptown section of NOLA, this small retail cheese and sandwich shop is a gem. You won't find many tourists here, just locals looking for really good food at more than reasonable prices. My wife had the SMOKEY BLUE SANDWICH (the description is from the website)
House smoked Mycella blue cheese, top quality roast beef, Worcestershire mayo, tomatoes and lettuce on toasted Wild Flour multigrain bread. $8.95
This was the best sandwich I've ever tasted. The blend of distinct yet wonderfully combined flavors is really outstanding.
I had the "Hooks Cheddar" sandwich, and without adding from the website it is a blend of turkey and veggies on Ciabatta that absolutely satisfies.
Compared to what you get for a couple of bucks less at chain restaurants this is an amazing value and an authentically tasty place. Oh, and the Creole Creamery is just about a block away, so dessert is taken care of as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A little out of the way, but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I tried to convince them to sell me some of their chutney it was sooo good. My brother lives in NOLA, so this is an out of the way place that he took us to. It was totally worth it. The food was fantastic. It is a limited menu, but everything I tried was great.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dreamin of cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have thought about this since I left. I loved it. Crowded but worth it. Yummy!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. James Cheese Company also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to St. James Cheese Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Cheese Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.