We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic Boutique Close to French Quarter But Out Of The Fray” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loft 523 New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Loft 523 New Orleans to your Saves list
Loft 523 New Orleans
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   523 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Chic Boutique Close to French Quarter But Out Of The Fray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Loved the hotel. Breath of fresh air in NOLA! Could easily walk a short distance to everything without being in the middle of the madness of Mardi Gras! On the other side of Canal, so could skirt parades easier. Perfect choice!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    60
    18
    17
    8
See reviews for
4
111
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked a room here for four nights during Mardi Gras. Our room (a Loft Superior Studio) was huge. You could park a car in there. The loft style -- concrete floors, high ceilings, open space, blank walls -- may turn some people off, but we liked it. The bed was comfortable, there was space to work and to stretch out, and the bathroom was easily big enough for two people to get ready and not trip over one another.

Everyone working the front desk was great, and very helpful.

The location was perfect for Mardi Gras; we could walk to St. Charles, Canal, or Tchoupitoulas to see the parades. Even if it wasn't Mardi Gras there were lots of terrific restaurants (Luke, August, Bon Ton Cafe, etc.) within walking distance and the streetcar right there, so the location was great.

Even during Mardi Gras the only noise we heard was because our room was right next to the cleaning supply room. Tiny issues: the stereo in our room had no jack to let us play music from our phones, and the back was missing from our remote control. Not real complaints, mind you; just indications of some wear and tear that need to be addressed. Wouldn't stop me from staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Never having stayed in a "loft" hotel, I wasn't sure what to expect. When I walked into our 4th floor room, I loved it - the concrete floors, the spare but stylish furnishings and the huge windows. I felt at peace as opposed to overwhelmed with too much heavy, bulky furniture. The room was clean and well tended, however, there were a few drawbacks. We only had a shower (no spoon tub as the picture portrayed) and the water pressure was very weak. There is poor lighting in the bathroom so I was basically putting on makeup in the dark even though there was a lighted makeup mirror - still not enough light. Also, the makeup mirror was too high and placed in a very bad location. There is also no restaurant, however, the front desk did provide us with delivery menus (Daisy Dukes was great!). The lobby is small and stylish, but not really a place to relax. There is a private club attached to the lobby, but it opened rather late. Over our 4 night stay, we interacted with several staff members and they all were great - friendly and more than helpful when asked. After having read several reviews before our stay, I purposely asked for an upper level room and it worked out great. There was a little foot pounding noise from the top floor, however the street noise was minimal. I would definitely stay here again, however, my husband would not because if does lack the basic creature comforts that a standard hotel offers. Loved the artwork! Also, this is in a great location - close to everything New Orleans!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to get an upper floor, away from the bar connected to the hotel and also the bar across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

First things first, you've got to be interested in minimalist modernity. We're talking a huge room (we were on the 3rd floor) with high ceilings, concrete floors, sparse furnishings, monochrome, a very firm couch/bench, and 6" high nightstands. Even for us, it was 'colder' than anticipated. We were planning on lounging a great deal on this extended get-away weekend, but the room is not one for lounging (and there is no lobby). Style aside, the place is tired: mold in the shower, one outlet in the bathroom which is consumed by a lighted mirror and coffee maker, toilet rocks, ancient multi-disk DVD player (the only sound-system in the room) didn't work (the penthouse room (more on that later) had an iHome iphone sound dock! ... too bad it was a 30-pin connector.)

The guests above us were "running around", pounding on the floor, so we had to change rooms. The staff was very accommodating and put us in a penthouse room (top floor) so there would be no one above us. (BTW, the penthouse rooms are identical to the lower floors -- actually the ginormous bathrooms in this hotel are actually a bit smaller in the penthouse.) Unfortunately, in this room, the ceiling fan caused some metallic rattling inside the ceiling; and with the bed backed up to the elevator and the equipment on the roof, the range of noises that were generated were worse than the prior upstairs guests. So, we asked for further accommodation. Again, the staff was great and actually moved us to a penthouse unit in their neighboring "luxury" International House hotel around the corner. Three nights, three different rooms!

This tiny hotel has one person at the front desk (no bellman, etc).

Location is very good ... close to the French Quarter, but not too close. On a quieter side street. No signage though, so just look for the address!

Note that the bar/lounge next to the lobby of the hotel is not run by the hotel. It is a "members only" club (with complementary invites for hotel guests). It was never open over the Thanksgiving weekend that we were there, but just note that the hotel doesn't have "control" over what goes on/comes out of there (e.g. noise, given others' comments) -- not that we experienced any.

Room Tip: the penthouse rooms are identical to the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I originally booked two nights at Loft 523. My first impressions were wonderful. Friendly staff, great location, and one of the most stylish and beautiful hotel rooms I have ever seen. The room was vast, with a gorgeous bed, and lots of terrific details (i-pod station, tea and coffee maker, sofa, etc.). The bath was amazing (see pic).

Sadly, the hotel hosted a party in its bar, and my room was over the bar. Wow. It was insanely loud and literally humanly impossible to sleep. Impossible.

I came to New Orleans for a work trip and was scheduled to give a talk next morning, so getting some sleep was, um, crucial. They were all booked so couldn't move me. However, what they offered instead was a night in a quiet room in their sister hotel a block away. This was perfect.

I then returned to Loft 523 for my 2nd night, when there was no party. It was mellow and quiet.

So, all in all: I think this place is awesome but when you book it, if sleep matters to you, you really must find out if there's a party on.

Room Tip: Don't stay over the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay WI
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We spent 2 nights here for the New Orleans/Green Bay football game. The hotel was overbooked so our room was downsized and the other couple we went with, their room was up graded. Funny thing we both paid the same price. What's up with that? First the bathroom....the faucet comes so far into the middle of the vessel sink that it's really hard to wash your face, there are 2 shower heads. I would rather have one head with powerful spray than 2 with wimpy spray. Windows in our room were so small with no view. Felt like I was in a box Ceiling fans were noisy
It was very clean but we wouldn't stay here again

Room Tip: Get the penthouse. Has an awesome wrap around deck ( it's also shared with the room next store...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Loft 523, a converted 19th century forage warehouse in the Central Business District is way cool to see and lovely to stay at. Rates high as a small boutique hotel. Big, clean, quiet rooms, friendly, helpful front desk staff. Also, perfectly located near the French Quarter & the Warehouse District with its art galleries & trendy restaurants. Easy access to streetcars, buses and taxis for further destinations.

Only downside is no breakfast available. You have to go elsewhere. Other than that, I'll rebook at Loft 523 on my next NOLA trip.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loft 523 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft 523 New Orleans

Address: 523 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loft 523 New Orleans 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loft 523 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loft 523 New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Loft 523 Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Loft 523

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loft 523 New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.