We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Modern Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loft 523 New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Loft 523 New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loft 523 New Orleans
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   523 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Greenwell Springs, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Modern Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed here for the weekend for a pre- birthday/ and a wedding! I loved this location! Rooms are very spacious and bathrooms are huge. This is the hotel for you if you love modern spaces. Everything about the hotel screams modern. Platform bed is very comfortable, spoon tub was wonderful along with the shower. Room did not feel like a hotel room because of the space. Hotel was very quiet. Great location. Attractions and restaurants are all walking distance. Like others have posted, there is no sign outside so it maybe a little hard to find but once you are close you will know you are there. I would recommend Loft 523 to anyone who is looking for a different stay while in New Orleans. My only complaint which is small are since the doors are so heavy, you will be able to hear when other guest leave their rooms.

Room Tip: Request a room with the spoon tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    54
    16
    16
    9
See reviews for
4
103
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sea Cliff, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our room was wonderful. We loved the design of the room, it was so open and spacious. The bathroom was big with plenty of counter space. It was nice and quiet as well, though we visited in a slower time of year. The location was unbelievable. Walking distance to all the sights, and great restaurants close by.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Our one-night stay here was very pleasant, with all as it should be -- clean room, quick service at the desk, and relative quiet.

As another reviewer noted, it did take a little doing to spy the street number, but it was easy once we saw the clear 520 address across the street. The name and number are cleverly spread out across the front of the building. Street parking is difficult here, but the hotel guest parking just up the street served well for unloading and leaving the car until the valet arrived.

The lobby, bar, and lounge were nicely decorated in the same taste as the rooms. The guy who checked us in was quick, efficient, and personable. The big elevator is great for those who may be laden with lots of bags!

The penthouse room was spacious, with ample area for the semi-separate sitting, working, and bed sections of the loft. The lighting from varied sources was moody but also adequate for real work if needed. Our room was situated away from the street, so we had zero street noise; however, the view was nothing to speak of. The bathroom was also large, with a grand tub and the double-headed shower noted on the website. The lack of door on the shower led to a wet floor, but a well-placed floor mat kept things mostly in check. There was plenty of space in the closet for a long stay. The bed was comfortable; I would have appreciated a warmer comforter, but one could raise the room temperature instead, I suppose. And the place had all the amenities I would expect, plus a pair of slippers to boot.

We would happily stay here again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and I spent one evening at the Loft 523 (we were supposed to stay for three). I knew the minute I walked in it wasn't for me. It is very minimalist - not warm or inviting at all. Our room was sparse with all concrete floors. The art was weird and even the bedding was on the minimal side. No duvet - just a sheet and a thin blanket. The curtains were see-through and the blinds on the 15 ft. tall windows did not block out the light at all. The only redeeming thing about the room was the bathroom - huge and very cool.

The decor was not the only thing I disliked. The room lacked lights, plugs, and the furnishings were dusty. To top it all off the room was quite noisy (second floor street facing) every truck that went by and their seemed to be a lot woke us up.

Lastly the halls smelled a bit musty/moldy - never a good sign.

To avoid losing our deposit on the room we asked to move to their parent property - The International House. Our stay there was much more comfortable!

Room Tip: avoid anything facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Quiet area in NOLA just a couple blocks from the French Quarter. Very modern and cool atmosphere. Perfect for a nice getaway. This was our first trip there and we really liked the place. Surely we'll try to come back to Loft 523.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

If trendy minimalist is what you dig, then this place is for you! No name outside, just the subtle number "523" etched on to the door to the subtle smell in the lobby, the artistic chair and the large painting -- this place screams hip!! The rooms are large, large as are the bathrooms with double showers (we stayed in 4b). There is a new british team lounge (not associated with the hotel) on the ground floor which can be your last pit stop:) Its an easy walking distance from the FQ which can be a good thing if noise isn't your thing after a point. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Loft 523 is certainly a place to stay if your interested in a convenient location but something out of the French Quarter turmoil (it's in the CBD between Canal and Poydras). First, if you're driving there, input the address into your phone navigator because, as others indicated, there is not sign and the address, 523, is difficult to locate. No big deal. Next, parking is non-existent while you're checking in unless you're lucky enough to find a place on the side of Gravier. If you do as we did, and park in front of the hotel, there is a fire hydrant which will result in a 40$ ticket from the independently contracted parking police (not a part of NOPD) who appear almost out of nowhere to give unsuspecting people parking tickets. Case in point -- I parked, walked in, and while I was checking in, a got a ticket. The wonderful person at the desk went outside to talk some sense into the "cop" but the "cop" would not listen. I got a ticket, but the hotel took care of it. Many thanks.
It's the little things that keep this hotel from being great, yet. One of the towel fixtures in our room was falling off the wall, which is easy enough to remedy, but it should have been done. Again, no big deal. When we checked in, there were no toiletries in the room. One call and less than five minutes later, we had all we needed. Again, not a big deal. The pocket door leading to the bathroom was not plumb so the door would not stay closed. A quick fix and certainly not a deal breaker, but these are the little things that hold the hotel back.
The staff is fantastic and extremely helpful, responsive, and informative. The rooms are large and extremely comfortable. The location can't be beat. The hotel was working on some sort of bar/lounge in the lobby when we were there. That addition will result in even higher ratings next time we stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loft 523 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft 523 New Orleans

Address: 523 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loft 523 New Orleans 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Loft 523 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loft 523 New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Loft 523 Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Loft 523

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loft 523 New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.