We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hippest hotel in New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loft 523 New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Loft 523 New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loft 523 New Orleans
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   523 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hippest hotel in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Loft 523 two weeks ago. We loved it. Not only is it cool but it is in a great location. Just a block from Canal and the French Quarter but QUIET so you can get some rest after all the fun.

The hotel is really a loft space. I've lived in lofts before and wish mine were as nice. It is VERY CLEAN and WELL MAINTAINED. The loft was HUGE as well at 600 square feet. The bathroom was spotless, large and the double shower was perfect. You won't find in any other room in NOLA that large without paying suite prices. Speaking of price...it's a bargain for what you get.

The staff was very helpful and accomodating as we had weird arrival and departure hours. They made several restaurant recommendations including Jon Besh's Luke which is two blocks away as well as Felix's for the best oysters in town (three blocks away).

We have found our new favorite place to stay in New Orleans and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    54
    16
    16
    9
See reviews for
4
103
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We really enjoyed the hotel. It is a very quiet and quaint hotel with easy access to all the hot areas in New Orleans and the river. It is also really close to the trolley.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

If you're looking for a low key, modern, boutique hotel in a great location, this is the spot. Just read the other reviews. The good ones are true.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I have been going to New Orleans for many years being a graduate from Tulane University. Through Tablet I got a great rate and with the pictures I decided it would be fun to try when bringing down my girlfriend. All I can say is that I thought this hotel was amazing. It has truly unique decor with terrific contemporary interiors and huge loft style rooms that are true to the name. Being 2 blocks from Canal street its a great location to stay to access the French Quarter, uptown, warehouse district and everything in between. I will definitely make this hotel my go to from now on when visiting.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

After many trips to NOLA, I finally found this gem of a hotel. Not sure how many rooms but guessing 16-24, location is perfect, quiet neighborhood with walking access to the best of the city. Decor is modern, infrastructure is new, service is discreet, beds are comfortable. Will be back in a few weeks.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Perfect location for celebrating our Anniversary - right between the French Quarter and the artsy Warehouse District. Loved the large rooms with high ceilings and modern furnishings + white linens and down pillows on the bed. The bathroom is also very spacious and has a lovely Italian soaking tub. My only complaint is with the dim lighting in the bathroom (obviously designed by a man)...I could barely get my makeup on! The gals working the front desk were very helpful and knowledgeable, especially Stephanie, who is a fount of information on every aspect of New Orleans, particularly the restaurant scene. All in all, a great experience...we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Great amenities, big ceilings, great and welcoming staff. Comforable beds, relatively quiet, and nice interent wif-fi availablility.

Room Tip: even the rooms near the elevator are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loft 523 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft 523 New Orleans

Address: 523 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loft 523 New Orleans 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Loft 523 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loft 523 New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Loft 523 Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Loft 523

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loft 523 New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.