We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and will stay there again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loft 523 New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loft 523 New Orleans to your Saves list
Loft 523 New Orleans
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   523 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We loved it and will stay there again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Hip, modern design with huge rooms and luxurious bath.
Downtown location makes it an easy walk to the French Quarter, yet it's away from the crowds.
Very easy, relaxed, modern and cool.
Only drawback there are no services:
No restaurant, no room service, just basic great style.

Room Tip: Upper floors away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    57
    18
    16
    8
See reviews for
4
108
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, MS
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

This is really a cool place, with great rooms and bathrooms large and awesome. Stayed here a few times, but will have to strongly reconsider next time. The "music system" was broken and dirty in all of the rooms we stayed in (we moved at least twice). The little things have not had attention paid to them - the sort of things that are easy to do, like remotes that work and things being clean. The real issue here is noise. This place is tucked away on a side street that seems like the perfect place to get away. But the nightclub below is preposterously loud, and goes on for the better part of the night. You cannot sleep, even after being out yourself and being tired. There were no rooms we moved to that didn't vibrate with a constant base that couldn't be covered up, even with earplugs. We were moved to the top far end of the hotel and still heard and felt it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I'm a budget traveler for sure. So when I found a great deal on the stylish-looking Loft 523, I was pretty excited for a change of pace from the usual type of hotel I stay in (the kind where you try to spend as little time as possible in the room).

My hubby and I loved New Orleans and we loved this hotel. It was located within walking distance from the bus stop (we took the public bus from the airport). We were able to check in at about 10:30am after our red-eye flight from CA. We immediately loved the concrete floors and modern furniture.

Later that night, about 1am, after returning from partying in the French Quarter, we discovered why they call it the "We Will Rock You" room - the noisy bar below was indeed noisy. But guess what? When we discovered the I-pod dock next to the flat-screen TV, we suddenly didn't care anymore. The speakers ROCKED, i think there was even a subwoofer! We played our tunes over the noise of the bar and had a blast.

We were so sad to check out. This place even SMELLED good. I could live there! The staff was very polite and helpful.

Our only slightly negative experience was the second night when we visited the attached bar, LePhare, to use the credit they gave us (I am guessing they give the "We Will Rock You" guests bar credit so they don't complain about the noise from the bar below). The manager kept making us move (3 times) so he could accomodate other parties. We asked how many times we would be asked to move and he gave us some attitude. But whatever, free drinks, so how can I complain (although I'm sure that's what he was thinking too).

Go, enjoy, soak it up! This place rocks.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I have nothing to but great things to say about this hotel for a couple coming down for a weekend in New Orleans. The modern rooms are great, very sleek, with an amazing bathroom. The room is affordable, but still quite large. Ours came with a patio which was nice. There is a loud nightclub in the lobby, but we couldn't hear it, I think it only affects one room so make sure to ask not for that one. Also, you're in New Orleans for fun anyways so who cares! Anyways, spend your money on booze and food and stay in this great little boutique hotel.

Room Tip: ask for the one with the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

I just returned from a business trip I had to NOLA and after reading reviews was a little hesitant to see what my experience would bring. I am pleased to say that I had a great stay. I was on the third floor and was blown away by the size of the room. The Whole Foods snack options were great. The front desk was always helpful and pleasant. I never heard this night club that folks complain about. The Aveda products were also a nice touch. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I was very unhappy with my stay at Loft 523 and had to leave and check into another hotel in the middle of the night. The "bar" that is on the first floor is actually a very loud nightclub. (note that "nightclub" is the word the front desk worker used at Loft's partner hotel, the International House) And the bar is open only on the weekends. I chose to stay in the Deluxe Suite, and not the cheaper "Loft Will Rock You" suite precisely because of my concern about the noise. What they do not tell you is that all of the rooms are exposed to the noise. I returned to my room at 1 a.m. and the music was very very loud. I could use earplugs but I still heard the base. When I called downstairs to see if I could switch rooms, the receptionist and I both had to yell in the phone to hear each other above the music from the bar. I finally checked out and left the hotel for another place in the middle of the night because the noise was so annoying.
If you don't mind the noise this place is an okay place to stay. It is sleek and the monochromatic coloring is soothing to the eye. But there were definitely some stains on the lamp shades, curtains and floor, and hair in the bathroom so it did not feel completely clean. And this was particularly disturbing since the decor is all off white.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We took the "Rock Star" room (#2B, room above the bar) with discounted rate + $50 bar tab however, we were there Wed. night to Sunday and the bar was not open at all except starting around 9-10PM on Fri and Sat nights only; The opportunity we had to get in the bar late one night, the deafening base was too uncomfortable for us oldsters but fortunately up in our room the noise was nicely muffled and we slept soundly. We were surprised the bar was never open for Happy Hour; We wanted to bring friends by were discouraged that the bar was not open.
All that said the place has a great contemp feel with minor maintenance issues (light burnt out, robe hook broken); It does seem like they keep a skeleton crew there but Devon, on loan one day from the Int. House, was great with attention, advice, and recs.
I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loft 523 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft 523 New Orleans

Address: 523 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loft 523 New Orleans 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loft 523 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loft 523 New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Loft 523 Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Loft 523

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loft 523 New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.