We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, contemporary place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loft 523 New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loft 523 New Orleans to your Saves list
Loft 523 New Orleans
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   523 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
“Cool, contemporary place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Mod, minimalist space in a great location near the Quarter and the Warehouse district. The place has a cool nightclub and the staff were just extraordinarily helpful and friendly. The outside noise was a bit loud as there was a movie filmcrew working just outside our room. A nice sound system in the room, but no alarm clock...we did have just the basic room.

Room Tip: Get a room away from Gravier if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    59
    18
    17
    8
See reviews for
4
110
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Huge room - Very nice design. Staff at the desk were not very reliable - forgot my wake up call both days I was there - but all friendly and helpful. Was very quiet (but club downstairs was closed both nights I was there - not sure what it is like when the club is open). Water pressure in shower is too weak, but otherwise the bathroom is great with a large, soaking tub. In general, I was very impressed and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011 via mobile

My husband I had a wonderful stay at Loft 523. The room was just as pictured on website. The staff was friendly and helpful. I'm a neat freak, but even I had no complaints. We stayed on the second floor but luckily the adjacent club was closed on the days we stayed. We received a $50 bar tab which we couldn't use because bar was closed, but they were kind enough to let us use it after checkout dates since we would still be in town after checkout. I was a little turned off by the bar. The door guy gave my husband a hard time about his jewelry and made him tuck it in. It really wasn't a big deal, I was just annoyed because other males inside the facility had jewelry on. Just left me wondering why the door guy was against the Buddhist ohm symbol?

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed here during the French Quarter Festival. It was everything I was looking for. Very cool design elements and a large spacious living area. The built-in speakers complemented the music we brought with us. And the Italian designed soaking tub was a welcome indulgence after a full day of music and dancing. The staff was friendly and always helpful. The bar was also very hip and a great place to come back to for more night life.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Stayed at the 523 property while in NO for a conference. My room was modern, stylishly appointed, spacious and most importantly, comfortable - a quality achieved by a rare few hotels.

What truly set my experience apart was the quality of the staff at 523 and its sister property, International House Hotel. Over the course of my 5 days in NO, the day and night staff at 523 and the stellar concierge at International House (just round the corner) repeatedly pointed me in the right direction, whether it be fantastic music spots on Frenchman st, 'must go' dining spots in the french quarter and treme, or more close to home, the fantastic Loa lounge at IH Hotel. All of the recommendations were seriously on point, amounting to a very memorable stay while in NO.

I travel frequently and found my stay at Loft 523 to be one of the best, if not the outright best, work/travel experience to date. The hotel has character and the staff are truly first class. Well done, all around.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Great central location. Amazing modern design inside and understated outside. Small, cozy environment gives you more a feeling of staying in an apartment than a hotel. Very good value and the staff was fantastic - more friendly and helpful than I've ever experienced.

Room Tip: Loft Will Rock You suite sits above bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

The front desk is Great!!! The hotel Rooms are contemporary and so close to everything you want to experience in New Orleans. From Jazz to great restuarants and fabulous lounges they are all within walking distance or a short cab ride. Whether you want to see the french quarter or go to Bourbon...it's all right there! I've stayed in the Loft as well as the Penthouse suite and all I can say is I Cant Wait to Return. They offer an elegantly private get away if you are with your girlfriends or that special someone this is the place to be.They also offer a lounge downstairs with great drinks and a DJ that somehow doesnt effect the personal time you spend in the room. Not overpriced and an overall great New Orleans stay!

Room Tip: ask for the rock suite if you are a nite owl!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loft 523 New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft 523 New Orleans

Address: 523 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loft 523 New Orleans 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loft 523 New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loft 523 New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Loft 523 Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Loft 523

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loft 523 New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.