We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Free Tours by Foot

Free Tours by Foot
107 Verret St., New Orleans, LA 70130
+1 504-222-2967
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 169 activities in New Orleans
Type: Walking tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Free Tours by Foot is pleased to present the only FREE, name-your-own-price New Orleans tours. Learn much more than just Bourbon Street on our French Quarter Tour, about the well-heeled and their mansions on our Garden District Tour. Learn about New Orleans peculiar burial grounds on our St. Louis Cemetery #1 Tour. Foodies will love our food tours and everyone will get spooked on our New Orleans ghost tours. We now also offer bike tours and soon photography and bus tours. You decide what a tour was worth after the tour is finished. Pay-what-you-like tours are great tours for every budget.
Springfield, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our first trip to New Orleans and this was an awesome introduction to the city and the
French Qtr. Our guide was Joe and he has a great personality and tremendous knowledge of the city. It was a comfortable walk and he offered ma

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    100
    6
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“French Quarter Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I were in town for New Years and decided to take the tour. Joe was our guide and did a nice job describing some of the history of the area as well as provide recommendations on restaurants and other things to do in town. I'd been to New Orleans many times in the past but hadn't really seen the city before other than the hotels and Bourbon Street. Good use of 2 hours on a beautiful day to get to see parts of the city and learn some history. Tip as much as you want strategy seems to work well for them.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Tour Guide! Thanks Kate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Never been on a walking tour in New Orleans and the one in the Garden District was so much fun and informative! Even though it was freezing outside, Kate did an amazing job of keeping us all intrigued. Would definitely do it again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Garden District Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family and I (three generations from 5 to 60) went on the garden district tour as part of a week long visit to New Orleans. I regretted not taking the tour earlier in the week since we learned so much interesting information about the history of city that could have been helpful from early on. (We spent 2 days in the city prior to the tour). Our guide was great and was more than just a tourist guide, she really shows how much she loves the city and shared her enthusiasm. As some other reviewers have noted, this is not really free but you can decide how much to pay. Overall it was well worth the money, however for the kids (5.5 and 8.5) it was a bit boring and too long. My 8.5 enjoyed the chit chat with the tour guide while walking from point to point more than the actual information. So if your kids don't have the patience I am not sure this is the right tour for them.... am not sure there is an historic walking tour that is based on words that will be very engaging for young kids.... Anyways they survived and the adults appreciated the tour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lafayette No 1 and Garden District Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very enjoyable and informative tour. Highly recommend. A caveat, make sure the cemetery will be open on your tour day and during your tour times. Our tour was on Sunday and it's normally closed, but they run the tours anyway. We were lucky and the gates were open for a while on Sunday so we got in for a slightly abbreviated tour inside. The guide, Denver, was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Tours by Foot also viewed

 

Been to Free Tours by Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Free Tours by Foot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Free Tours by Foot to your Saves list