We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel Within Walking Distance to the French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Downtown to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 O'Keefe Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel Within Walking Distance to the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We spent 3 nights at this Quality Inn over NYE weekend, and it was a great choice. It is only two blocks away from Canal Street, at which point about you're only two blocks away from Bourbon Street. The free breakfast had all kinds of hot and cold options, and tea, coffee, and fruit juice is available all day (though they do shut down the juice machines at night).

The beds are comfortable, the rooms are quiet, there's plenty of hot water and good water pressure in the showers, and the staff is helpful in providing directions to places that are beyond the map they give out.

Two very minor things that wouldn't affect my decision to stay here again were that the toilet kept refilling the bowl because the seal wasn't tight enough in the tank, and the reception on the TV wasn't that great. But really, we weren't in the room long enough for these things to be a big deal, and they didn't negatively affect the trip at all.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    230
    48
    12
    8
See reviews for
97
351
56
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend and we were lucky to snag a reservation for the Sugar Bowl. Our room was upgraded at no extra charge and we were able to check in early. Our suite was clean, quite, spacious, the bed was very comfortable and THE PLUMBING WORKED! :-) The complimentary breakfast was great with eggs, bacon, waffles, etc. This hotel was very reasonable for the area and within walking distance of everything you'd want to do in New Orleans.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Hotel is very close to French Quarter, however about 2 blocks in the wrong direction. The immediate area around the hotel is basically a business district, unfortunately in some immediate areas its a slum -- abandoned buildings, shady bars, low-rent liquor stores, etc.

Lobby, staff, breakfast area are all fine, in fact some members of the staff are excellent. Real downside of this hotel is actually a City of New Orleans problem -- road construction immediately outside the hotel; this included jack hammers and cement saws at 3AM. The staff did an excellent job of re-locating us, refunding our room for the night, and refunding all parking fees for the entire stay -- however if we ever return to New Orleans, we'll likely stay somewhere else.

If not for the road construction this hotel would have been a fair deal for the price -- road construction really ruined it for us.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washginton, DC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We would definitely recommend this hotel for the following reasons:

- great customer service
- convenient location
- clean
- reasonably priced
- comfortable and good size room
- good breakfast!

Prior to our trip and in reading the reviews, we knew the hotel is a good value. We were pleasantly surprise with our stay as it is so much more. It was priced in the lower range compared to other hotels near the french quarter but you get so much more for your money. The room/bed is very comfortable and the cleaning crew did a good job. The compimentary hot breakfast was a good start to the morning. The staff were always friendly and helpful and we also received a room upgrade when we checked in.

Minor complaints:

- bathroom did not have vent so to prevent fogging, we had to open the door
- the room we got was close to washer/dryer and we sometimes hear the machines running

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

Came in for one night. Room kinda adequate. Nothing special. Not the type of place I would say I'm coming back every time I come to N.O.!! I think there may be some puffing going on here. Location to the 'Dome is OK.. Breakfast. OK. Check rates of other places. Would stay here if nothing elses is available. Been to N.O. TOO MANY TIMES to say this is the #1 place on Trip Advisor. Good walk to french quarter. bars nearby. would not pay more than $80-$90 for this location.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

This hotel is good. First of all, good affordable price. The staff is so friendly that they help you in everything-upgrades of rooms, parking, directions to tourist places, conventions centers, restaurants, internet connection, keeping luggage safe, what else you want. I would say that in this country, I have never seen such helping and good staff anywhere in any hotel. No doubt this hotel is number one in New Orleans. Also it is pretty safe and walkable to all the important conference venues and tourist places.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

I confess that I was hesitant to book this hotel since prior experience with Quality Inns did not lead me to expect actual quality, but I carefully read the TripAdvisor reviews and decided to take the plunge. I'm so glad I did!

My husband and I, joined by two friends from Australia, enjoyed five terrific days and nights in New Orleans, based at the Quality Inn & Suites. We took a bus from the airport that deposited us less than 3 blocks from the hotel. The staff had selected rooms across the hall from each other and let us look at them before we checked in to make sure they were acceptable, which they were. (On the phone, they had said the room with two queen beds is small but it was much larger than they had described!)

Everything - common areas, bathrooms, bedding, hallways - was quite clean and fresh smelling. The "continental breakfast" was extensive with eggs, grits, and waffles in addition to muffins, toast, fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee, etc. The coffeemaker in the room created an acceptable brew too.

The location was great - one or two blocks to the Canal Street and St. Charles streetcar lines and easy walking distance to all of the French Quarter. Every member of the staff we encountered was gracious, friendly and helpful. Directions and restaurant recommendations were cheerfully given. And the price just can't be beat!

I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone who does not require fancy accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Downtown

Address: 210 O'Keefe Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#34 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn And Suites Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.