We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Downtown

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 O'Keefe Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Brookville, Ohio, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Quality Inn and Suites because of the all the great reviews on trip advisor and the price. When we arrived at the hotel, we were immediately greeted and helped with our bags. Our room was upgraded without even asking, check in was a breeze and we were in a suite within 5 mins of arrival. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. The suite was large and very clean. The hotel offers free Wi-fi, a decent free breakfast (include typical fare plus a few extras). The hotel was perfect for us, it is a really nice budget hotel. The location was ok, we spent most of our time in the French Quarter and the Garden District. It took us 5 mins to walk to Bourbon Street and 7 mins to St Charles street car. It took us about 20 mins to walk to Jackson Square. I felt safe walking in the dark to the hotel. The staff even called the airport shuttle (without asking) because they were late. This hotel has a lot to offer at the right price!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    399
    195
    44
    10
    9
See reviews for
81
311
50
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

This is our second stay at this hotel in less than six months. This is NOT a five star hotel but it exceeded our expectations in every way. Very clean, breakfast included, staff went above and beyond to be friendly and helpful and the price is right. The location is a three minute walk to the Quarter. I would stay here again and again. Close enough to be convenient, far enough away to be quiet.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This hotel does not look like anything special and it does not have a courtyard or any New Orleans architecture but the service and location are great. The manager Stanley and his team do a fantastic job of making you feel welcome and like part of the family. They are very knowledgeable about New Orleans and all that goes on there. This is a multi-year award winning hotel.

Located just two blocks from the French Quarter it is very convenient to all major attractions and street car lines. But it is just far enough away from the craziness of Bourbon and Canal streets.

I have stayed here 3 times and I would highly recommend. A complimentary breakfast is included.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed at the Quality Inn & Suites Downtown in October 2011. It was my first trip to New Orleans, and I was travelling alone, so I was looking for somewhere not too expensive, within walking distance of the French Quartet but safe.

I really couldn't have done better! My room was very spacious, with a separate living area and bedroom. Breakfast was included, and it was pleasant and plentiful. I felt very safe walking from Canal Street to the hotel as another hotel a little further down the street has a 24 hour doorman out the front, so help would have been at hand if I had needed it...which I didn't.

The front desk staff were just lovely. The gentleman who welcomed me to the hotel recognised me by my accent as an Australian, and offered me a Tim Tam! (Australian chocolate biscuit!). He greeted me by name every time I entered and left the building for my whole stay. He also very kindly allowed me to use the internet the moment that I arrived, prior to even checking in, as I had something very urgent to attend to online. He provided me with a map and some excellent advice on what to see and where to eat.

The building is old and quite plain looking, on the outside, but everything was very clean and well maintained. For the price I paid for the room, I really feel like I got a terrific deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We chose this hotel based on the reviews and ranking on this site. It wasn't as close to the French Quarter as I had hoped. The room had an odor in which there was an air purifier going when we entered the room. Soon after, someone came in and removed it. The sink was stopped up and the water drained VERY slowly.

The staff was great and very helpful and the breakfast was a plus.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This was the perfect hotel for our girlfriend weekend getaway. Checkin was a breeze and very helpful-- even recommending a good place to catch a bite after a long flight. We got a room with 2 queen beds and were surprised to find that it was actually two bedrooms separated by the bathroom and a kitchenette. Perfect for a little privacy, and the free wifi and the minifridge to store water were the only frills we needed!

We did not partake in the continental breakfast as we wanted to save ourselves for beignets and brunch @ commander's palace, but it smelled good each morning as we left!

I read quite a few reviews of this hotel before our trip, so to discount the two things that came up most in my reading:

1. "Hotel needs updating." We had flatscreen tvs in both bedrooms, and while things weren't new-new, everything was spic and span clean, smelled pleasant (and not like an air freshener cover-up job !) and the beds were very comfortable. This is a no frills place to stay but who comes to New Orleans to hang out in a hotel room?

2. "Location is in a bad part of town." I would say that just in every city you have to be street smart and New Orleans is no different. In our experience whether we were leaving the hotel at 9am or 9pm, the streets are well travelled and there were always other people around. It is a short 2 block walk to Canal Street, and then 2 blocks south to Bourbon and the St. Charles Streetcar. After one night on Bourbon Street we were so thankful to be able to walk away from it back to the quietness of our hotel. I can't imagine staying any closer to that insanity.

If I find myself in New Orleans again I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We had booked a room with 2 queens as that was the only room available when we booked & when we arrived they asked if we would mind being changed to a King room - this was an upgrade so we were pretty happy. The room was very comfortable and quiet, we were on the end so we had a view from both sides. It is walking distance to the french quarter & we felt very safe walking around late at night. The people on the front desk were very friendly and greeted us happily everytime we walked passed. We would definitely return to this hotel. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Downtown

Address: 210 O'Keefe Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn And Suites Downtown
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.