We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Downtown

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 O'Keefe Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Yorkshire England UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We got back a week ago from Nola this being our second time this year and our second visit overall. We stayed 11 nights at the Quality Inn on O Keefe Ave which is a nice place to stay, we were going for a budget holiday this time as our first visit to Nola was this June so a little tight on money.

We arrived at our hotel 11 pm after a 22 hour journey from the UK. We were greeted by the Hotel clerk very courteously who immediately told us he would up grade us from Queen Beds to a suite Free of charge. I was going to give him a good tip later when we had sorted our belongings out. So of to our suite we went to find our bearings when the phone rang, having an idea it would be the clerk on the other end, I answered him as he ask if I was satisfied with the suite which I replied yes and that I had intended calling down to see him later.

After sorting a few things in our room and freshening up we headed a couple of blocks away for a quick bite and a few drinks to take to our room, not before visiting the clerk at the reception desk. My tip to him brought a wide smile to his face ‘Great’ he was happy and we were more than happy.

Our Hotel the Quality Hotel include what they called a complementary Continental Breakfast which is really good, well it’s a little more than continental as you get scrambled egg boiled egg and alternative meat days of bacon, sausage and 3inch burgers. Apart from choices of cereals fruit juice yogurts grits waffle makers toasters to make yourself, breads and rolls muffins jams fresh fruit, coffee and teas, which all were replenished swiftly.

All in all a clean Hotel in all areas and the staff were helpful and obliging at all times I can recommend The Quality Inn to any one “well done team”.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    182
    41
    10
    9
See reviews for
75
296
46
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Quality Inn is a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance of the French Quarter. Mr. Art, who checked me, gave me a charming introduction to New Orleans and very kindly upgraded me to a suite! The staff were consistently service oriented and the complimentary breakfast was more than the usual bread and coffee. Although not a 4-star restaurant in style, it is pleasant, comfortable, safe and definitely worthwhile for the price. The Waldorf Astoria is around the corner and you're definitely getting a better deal than the Astoria.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcell, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Staff is excellent (George!!) and will provide local suggestions for the specific NO experience (food, shopping, music, etc) that you desire. Centrally located. 4 blocks from Bourbon, 4 blocks from Superdome, 3 blocks to the streetcar which will get you anywhere in the Quarter, and also get you to the Garden District, cemetaries, etc. Amazingly, while centrally located, there is very little street noise at night. When I travel to NO again, which I hope to be soon, this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed there for five nights last week. The hotel is located a block from Canal and four blocks or so from Bourbon; much more expensive hotels are within a couple blocks going towards the French Quarter, although not a lot of activity in the immediate area of the hotel. We were able to easily walk from the hotel all through the French Quarter; Jackson Square was perhaps a 20 minute walk; we even walked easily to Frenchmen Street although the staff suggested it was far enough that a cab might be warranted. It's also a couple of blocks to either the Canal Trolley or the St. Charles Trolley which gave us all the mobility you need for a short visit. When we arrived the staff couldn't do enough for us and upgraded us to a suite with a king bed instead of the queen room we had reserved. They act as a true concierge service and have great recommendations for things to do. The physical hotel is not much to look at and the breakfast is passable, although pedestrian, but as a place to drop after touring all day and going to the nightlife late into the night, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding in October 2011. It is within walking distance of everything and you can't beat the price or cleanliness of the room. THe pillows were so comfortable I considered bringing them home with me!! I should have looked at the brand. I had a great stay at this hotel and the staff was very nice and made us feel welcome. We got one of the rooms with two queens that actually has a door separating them after the bathroom so it feels like you have two rooms when you only have one! It was great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

My wife and I visited New Orleans for the first time and stayed at the Quality Inn & Suites for 4 nights. I chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor ratings and price; other than that I was flying blind and had no idea about location, etc. My experience mirrored most of the reviews on this hotel. We arrived at about 10am and stowed our bags so we could get around. When we showed up later in the afternoon the manager offerred to upgrade us into a King Suite which was very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast is included - has eggs, fruit (not just garbage), free internet, microwave, refrigerator so you can save money for splurging on more fun things. Every staff person we interacted with from top to bottom was polite and customer oriented. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from the French Quarter and a 10-minute walk to the St.Charles St. Trolley which for $3 takes you to the Warehouse district (museums), Garden District, and Uptown, so even without a car you can see a lot of the great neighbohoods without paying big bucks for transportation. This is a no frills place, some things are looking a bit dated, mostly clean, but with a friendly and accomodating staff, great location and a rate at least half of what most surrounding hotels are charging, if you are value-oriented and were planning on spending most of your time experiencing New Orleans rather than hanging out in your hotel room watching ESPN, staying here is a no brainer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We traveled in early November and stayed 3 nights at the Quality Inn on O'Keefe. It is within easy walking distance to Bourbon St., the Mississippi River, and Jackson Square. The trolley is within a couple blocks and an all-day pass is only $3/person. The price was under $300 for 3 nights which is incredible. The hotel was quiet which is important, located just a block from Canal St. but out of the crowds. The only drawback was that parking was $15/night, but it was in a secured parking garage just a half block down. Unloading/loading was easy, right in front of the hotel, although we stayed off season and during the week to avoid huge crowds. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel, but there are many restaurants close-by on Canal and further, including a McDonalds, a Subway, and an IHOP. The greatest advantages were the location and the price. A very comfortable, clean, safe place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Downtown

Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn And Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel
Quality Inn Downtown
Quality Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Quality Inn
Address: 210 O'Keefe Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.