We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quality and modern Hyatt.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #87 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice quality and modern Hyatt.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed at Hyatt New Orleans for a convention. Had a great experience and the rooms were very nice and newly remodeled. Very high tech hotel, maybe too high tech for some. I would not say the location is very convenient and mostly a cab ride away from most locations you want to go. Nice bar and restaurant. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    377
    197
    100
    48
See reviews for
122
194
24
427
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt last week. Looked at many hotels before booking and pleased to say that we made the right choice. How this place is ranked so low on trip advisor is unbelievable. We travel very often and I'm very particular where I stay from cleanliness to comfort to staff to price to location and extras. This place has all! To whoever is looking for a place to stay in New Orleans look no more! Outstanding in all phases!

Room Tip: Corner rooms with views of super dome!! Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This would have easily been a 4 star review if I hadn't seen today that they charged me an extra $ 5 for a bottle of water they leave in the refrigerator in the room. The hotel is modern and centrally located, the staff was nice, but I'm kinda upset about the water.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for the Sugar Bowl and enjoyed our experience here. It's the best place in New Orleans to stay if attending an event at the Superdome. Here's my recap of the experience.

1. The restaurants here are fabulous. We enjoyed the food here very much so. They are on the expensive side but that's pretty standard in city hotels.

2. Arrived at check-in and the room wasn't ready at 3:30pm. They quickly had it ready but I thought it should have been ready by then. They accommodated my room request.

3. The room was good. We had two queen beds. There were several problems with the room (to their credit they fixed them). The first was the thermostat was broke (maintenance came and fixed it), the 2nd was the TV remote wasn't working (another maintenance person fixed). The next was the bathtub didn't work (didn't bother calling). The last complaint was housekeeping was pretty standard at best. Left a note to get more than three towels and two washcloths (since we had four people) but a rough time with that.

4. The valet and bellman were very good.

5. The velet parking was pretty high. $40 per day, maybe that's standard around this city.

I would stay here again in a second. It's a shirt taxi ride to French quarter or a 20 minute walk if you choose. It's a five minute walk to Superdome. Hotel has a nice upscale feel to it overall my overall experience was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful 3-night stay in New Orleans at the Hyatt Regency for football in the SuperDome. I had not stayed at this hotel since prior to Hurricane Katrina and the post-hurricane hotel restoration. Hyatt got this property right with the restoration -- reconfigured atrium and meeting space, new, efficient check-in desk, efficient elevator service and great customer service. We enjoyed Club Room access during our stay and I cannot say enough about the friendly, efficient and personable customer service we received both from the Club Room staff and the entire staff in general. Of course, our room was clean and comfortable as you might expect at any Hyatt Regency property. Although we generally don't dine in hotel venues, preferring local eateries - especially in New Orleans - we dined in the hotel one evening at Block 8. We enjoyed for the Prime Rib/Seafood buffet and have to say it is the best deal in the CBD. In closing, this hotel is in a great location for both sporting events and CBD access. The French Quarter is walking distance or, if you prefer, a $6 cab ride away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel was huge with nice, large, clean rooms, and good options for sit down meals, drinks, or casual fare. I didn't leave the Hyatt for 3 days but it was so large that I never felt confined! My only issue was the long line at the taxi stand on Friday night when I was relocating to a hotel in the quarter for the weekend. The staff was very friendly and this was an excellent conference venue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel but very cold feeling. We stayed here for three nights and had no contact with any staff members except for the valets and they were different every single time. The parking fee was not explained to us, we pulled in and the guy said "Hand over your keys." I looked at him like he was crazy. I didn't even have time to unpack and had no clue I had to pay for parking. Make sure you factor that cost in. It can be pretty steep.
The rooms were nice. Although twice our room wasn't cleaned by 4 p.m. and we had to call for service.
It is an amazing hotel though and fun to just walk around.
I would suggest that Starbucks stay open until late though. It closed way too early.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency New Orleans re-opened in October 2011 after a $275 million redesign and revitalization and features 1,193 guest rooms and suites, 200,000 square feet of meeting and event space, expansive food and beverage offerings, and unprecedented service. Located downtown on Loyola Avenue, the hotel is adjacent to the Louisiana Superdome and anchors the vibrant Sports and Entertainment District. Hyatt Regency New Orleans borders the new Medical District, the Arts & Entertainment District and is just blocks from the French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and the Mississippi Riverfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.