We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but somehow awkward” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency New Orleans to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #85 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice, but somehow awkward”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel beside the Super Dome is nice enough. The bed was comfortable, the staff was outstanding. However, there were just some little things that were off. Maybe it was their major renovations post Katrina, but it just seemed, somewhat awkward. The best way I can describe it is as if the hotel was designed by an architectural student: Most everything on the checklist for a hotel room was there, but nothing was "just right".

Specific examples include: the lamp was so low over the chair that you hit your head when sitting down. The light switches were either too high or too low to feel natural. The placement of the toilet v. the shower controls required you to get into the tub to turn it on. There are drawers and a stand-alone closet, but not the "normal" amount of storage space. There is no coffee in the room, (it actually took me 3 days to find the drinking glasses that were hidden below the hotel safe inside a cabinet beside the mini-bar-fridge). As has often been stated the A/C is LOUD. It goes from silent to full blast and then back to silent again. TV remote control is overly complex with a track ball and a bunch of unneeded buttons.

It's the details that are just a bit off--not terrible, but certainly room for improvement.

With all that said, the location is good and was able to walk to the French Quarter, casino, etc. However, I couldn't find an exit on the Superdome side, the entrance from the hotel to the parking garage is difficult to find from inside the hotel, etc. Like others have said, you need to go up two escalators, past a bar and restaurant only to find the (correct) elevators to the rooms. Press the button on the outside of the elevator. Wifi is expensive (shame!)

Overall, I probably would try a different New Orleans hotel if coming for leisure, but as if I was here for a conference or other event, it is good enough..

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    558
    276
    127
    63
See reviews for
165
276
41
645
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is the best location for attending events at the Mercedes Benz Super Dome or New Orleans Arena. It was recently renovated and re-opened late Fall 2011. The property is essentially all inclusive, with restaurants, bars, Starbucks, and store. The rooms are new, clean, and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only downside is that it is not conveniently located for walking to and around the French Quarter, but cabs are readily available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

9th June 2013. We have just returned after spending 2 weeks in USA, the first 4 nights being in New Orleans. The Hyatt is well placed, close to the French Quarter, but also the rest of the city which I would prefer to recommend. The hotel staff are helpful, I had to join a loyalty scheme to get free Wi-Fi, but our room was of decent size and we had a balcony. NO was quiet at this time of year, still a lot of music in the bars, even if some parts of the Quarter had a foul smell, particularly early in the day. The national WW II museum was well worth a visit and the Steamboat Natchez trip was also enjoyable.. Overall a good place to visit.

Room Tip: there are two internal squares, one overlooking the pool, the other some tables and pot plants. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt for a large conference. Hotel is very large, nice & overall clean. Conference services, catering, etc was all good. The staff is very friendly, especially in the Regency Club Lounge. The restaurant "Borgne" is very good for lunch.

The bed was very comfortable, But the A/C in the room was very loud and would turn on & off often at night. It's surprising that the A/C is so loud considering the rooms wee renovated. One day the room was never cleaned, had to call at 5pm to have maid service. Other days maid came, but garbage wasn't emptied or cleaned too well.

Pool is just OK. There is some type of large compressors nearby that are extremely loud and make it difficult to relax.

Regency Club Lounge was very nice, breakfast was good, but the rest of the day the food / snack selection were lacking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is a lot nicer than I expected and I enjoyed my stay there. It's a typical Hyatt regency regarding size, layout, service etc., but Hyatt did a great job remodeling it recently, as it feels brand new and is a lot more modern and nice than other HRs I have been to.

I really liked the elevator system and didn't understand the complaints from other reviews. It is very efficient and easy to use. It lets you know which elevator you would be taking so you don't have to keep looking around, and no need to touch any button. Wish more hotels would be using similar system. There are signs and even videos showing the guest how to use the system, if you couldn't figure it out on your own.

Sure it's a little far from the lobby, but I don't think the distance and walk is any worse than any other mega hotel.

The room is modern and clean and feels new. All public areas are well maintained and staff are very friendly.

There are a few things I didn't like. The room is not well insulated, regarding to both heat and sound. At night, you have to keep AC running otherwise the room will be in high 70s in a few minutes. You can hear all the noise from the street and nearby construction even on the 20th floor. I had a walk-in closet in the corner room, which faces west and has no blind, so the afternoon sun baked everything in it.

The regency club is new and nice, but the food offering is very poor. I used to have breakfast in the club but had to go somewhere else during the stay here. The fitness center is small. It's on the 32nd floor while the pool is somewhere on the 5th, which is quite inconvenient if you like to do both.

Overall it's a very nice hotel. Just make sure you choose a high floor room. The view to superdome is nice but I would suggest a room on the east side for less noise and heat.

Room Tip: high floor and on the east side. the regency club is overrated if you have to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very nice staff & very helpful. Trolley is right outside of the hotel for convenience. 15- 20 minute walk to French Quarters.The only down side is there is no complimentary coffee but they have a starbucks on site & you have to pay for internet. Great comfortable beds & pillows, I was a little upset that we stayed in the older wing but it turned out to be fine. Very modern and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: go for the city view instead of pool with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great hotel! My fiance and I are huge fans of New Orleans and chose to celebrate our anniversary there. The hotel has recently been remodeled and is absolutely beautiful. Here's some quick facts:

- The hotel provides a way to self check-in and check-out. Super convenient if there's a long line.

- The elevators can be a bit confusing at first. There's a touch screen dial pad instead of an up/down button. You select your floor and it directs you to which elevator you need to take. You also have the option of pressing your room key to the sensor on the dial pad. This will take you straight to your room's floor.

- The are several restaurants on site and most are great. My fiance and I really enjoyed the 24/7 market (room service ends at 12am so if you're hungry at around 2am from a crazy night on Bourbon this is the place to go for a quick sandwich or pastry). The Starbucks inside is also really convenient if you're a coffee junky like I am. The only downside to the restaurants for us was 8 Block Kitchen & Bar. We planned on partaking in their breakfast buffet on our last day. When we arrived at 10am and were seated, and proceeded to order our waitress informed us that the buffet was closed and they were preparing for lunch. This annoyed us a bit since all of the information on the restaurant informs you that the breakfast buffet is open until 11am. However we shrugged it off and ordered from the traditional menu. I ordered the shrimp eggs benedict BLT sandwich and my fiance ordered eggs and ham. After waiting what seemed a long time for such a simple meal, I was disappointed when I received my sandwich and there wasn't a single shrimp in sight. Not one to complain much and on a short time schedule, we shrugged it off and paid for our meal. However my fiance and I both agree if we could go back in time we would have chosen to get up early and head down to the quarter for something else.

- The fitness facility is very well appointed and clean

- The pool area is stunning and absolutely amazing. Definitely order a drink poolside!

- The hotel is incredibly close to the Superdome. If you're planning on visiting for a sports game this is the hotel for you.

- The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

- There is quite a long walk from the hotel to the french quarter. It's not unbearable and can be quite pleasant, but if you're visiting around the time we did (Late May/Early June) and it's hot outside, you may want to consider hiring a taxi or taking the Streetcar. It's a fairly easy walk should you decide to go that route so don't worry about getting lost.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely do so again. I'd recommend this hotel to guests who were hosting an event (wedding/social gathering/corporate) there are several amenities the cater to that type of clientele from several ballrooms and conference rooms, a FedEx on site and lots of business tools. Guests coming into town for a Saints game will also enjoy the hotels close proximity to the stadium and the sports themed bar inside. However, if your main area of focus is the french quarter I'd recommend skipping this one and instead choose a place that's right in the heart of it all.

Room Tip: Hire a taxi to take you to the french quarter! It's much faster, inexpensive, and will save you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency New Orleans re-opened in October 2011 after a $275 million redesign and revitalization and features 1,193 guest rooms and suites, 200,000 square feet of meeting and event space, expansive food and beverage offerings, and unprecedented service. Located downtown on Loyola Avenue, the hotel is adjacent to the Louisiana Superdome and anchors the vibrant Sports and Entertainment District. Hyatt Regency New Orleans borders the new Medical District, the Arts & Entertainment District and is just blocks from the French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and the Mississippi Riverfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.