We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A credible option for a New Orleans Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency New Orleans to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #84 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“A credible option for a New Orleans Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Like some of the other reviewers, I stayed at the Hyatt New Orleans in the run up to and during the Superbowl. On the positive side, the staff coped well with the enormous influx of guests and visitors. The welcome at reception was warm and professional. The serving staff also did a great job keeping pace with the demands of a tremendous number of customers. The breakfast was certainly one up from the normal mass produced chain hotel food. The rooms are well equipped and relatively spacious. The location, on the edge of the Central Business District but right next to a busy road, is OK. At least it's a reasonable distance from the madness of the French Quarter. Now to the downsides. The layout is strange and the hotel is certainly not somewhere for sufferers of vertigo to stay. The view are not spectacular. Indeed, they are pretty uninspiring. Finally, for a hotel chain that sells itself as business friendly, Hyatt needs to get its act together. The charges for computer and internet access were completely over the top. It really cannot be taken seriously with such poor business facilities. These should be treated as a way of helping rather than fleecing guests. That said this hotel is a credible option for New Orleans.

Room Tip: Go high and - if you do not like heights - avoid looking down in the corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear UK John N,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at Hyatt Regency New Orleans during the Superbowl! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and we will definitely use your feedback regarding the computer and internet access to help us improve. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best Wishes,
Whitley D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    557
    275
    127
    62
See reviews for
165
275
40
642
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

It was a long road back after Hurricane Katrina but this hotel has a new, more modern and much better life now! Nice rooms with great beds, modern amenities and great shower pressure. Food at the restaurants in the hotel is much better than before and now has a local flair and flavor. Very nice Regency Club and gym.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear PTelan,

Thanks for your review! We're happy you were able to see the hotel before and after the renovations. We'd love to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Best Wishes,
Lauren C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a wonderful but huge hotel. If you like intimacy, this is not for you. However, I was there for the Super Bowl and that being a huge event, it was a 24 hour party in the lobby and the 3d floor which houses the main bar and restaurant. Food was great and the service/staff all around was terrific. I would stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi Jackie O,

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Super Bowl! Thanks so much for you're review, we hope to have you back on your next visit to New Orleans!

Best Wishes,
Lauren C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I recently returned from a 3 day business trip in New Orleans the week before Super Bowl. This Hyatt Regency just opened maybe 6 months ago after finally finishing their renovations post-Katrina. The entire hotel was NFL themed, but was not hosting either team from the upcoming game. All NFL teams had their helmets on display plus all NFL teams had their names and logos applied to glass panels throughout the hotel.

Aside from all the NFL decorations, the hotel was beautiful, spacious and had a great location. I stayed on the 7th floor and didn't have much of a view. But many rooms face the Super dome and the views are amazing. The gym is on the 32nd floor (top floor) and has panoramic views of New Orleans, again featuring the Super Dome.

I dined at one of the on-site restaurants and had some sushi, which was good and not overly priced. They also had a very nice bourbon selection for anyone else who's a fan of good bourbon. The meetings all went off without a hitch and the staff on site were extremely helpful. The catered food for our group (250+ people) was actually surprisingly good. Usually large catered meals like that are less than par, but it was very good.

My room was comfortable, the shower was hot and very spacious. The ammenities were nice, they even supplied a tube of toothpaste! The TV was a little different than most... it was all computer based. You'd have to move a mouse / wheel on your remote to select that you wanted to watch TV. Otherwise you could view menus, hotel layouts, or tons of other on-screen services.

One restaurant to call out is on the 1st floor check in area... Borgne. AMAZING! Simply decadent food and excellent service. Attached is a picture of the desert we got which was basically a nutella pudding... delicious! I highly recommend you check it out. It's one of John Besh's famous New Orleans restaurants.

All in all this was one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in New Orleans. It worked great for our work function, and it would have also done well for a bachelor party, family outing or a getaway with my wife.

Room Tip: High floors with a view of the superdome are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Nick S.

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and our hotel. We love the sushi at Vitascope Hall as well! I hope we can welcome you again the next time you are in New Orleans.

Best Wishes,
Wilma C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the day our cruise docked in New Orleans. It was much nicer than I expected and the price was decent having booked online. The Superbowl is one week after us staying there so they were making the hotel all fancy with NFL pics and whatnot. It was a nice touch.

The staff were super nice and let us keep our luggage in the front storage room and gave us our room a few hours before standard check in. The elevators are this modern high tech devices that use a scan card to get you to the room. The elevators also traveled between floors very quickly.

The room had very modern and newish looking furniture. The bed as nice and comfy and the TV was a big size. The view of the Mercedes-Benz Superdome was also fantastic.

The bathroom was pretty clean, a couple stray hairs but other than that I would give it a 8/10 for cleanliness.

If I had to stay here again I would not hesitate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear jjmm626,

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your post-cruise stay with us! Thanks for your review and hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Best Wishes,
Lauren C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a great choice, staff Is friendly and helpful, The place Is beautiful and The location allows you To get To canal st, harrahs casino and bourbon st by walking.

Beds are comfty and rooms are quiet (even outside super bowl Party never stopped

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear 4dad3sparza,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and your stay. I'm so glad you enjoyed everything. I hope you'll let us welcome you again the next time you find yourself in New Orleans.

Warm Wishes,
Wilma C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Came to NO for a 40th birthday celebration. The time spent in the city did not disappoint and the hotel was fairly new so it was very clean. The layout is amazing, each floor has a purpose, the first floor is the lobby. Next level has the stores, restaurants, and bars. It is a small town literally. The elevators take you up to your room and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. I am a Hyatt member so I do like Hyatt in general but this one particular hotel is upgraded nicely. We had a view of the Superdome and it was cool because it had Mardi Gras colors the week we were there. Easy parking and the staff was amazing. Recommend it highly!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear faithngrace,

Thank you for celebrating such a special birthday with us! We're happy you love the upgrades and we look forward to having you back in the future!

Best Wishes,
Lauren C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency New Orleans re-opened in October 2011 after a $275 million redesign and revitalization and features 1,193 guest rooms and suites, 200,000 square feet of meeting and event space, expansive food and beverage offerings, and unprecedented service. Located downtown on Loyola Avenue, the hotel is adjacent to the Louisiana Superdome and anchors the vibrant Sports and Entertainment District. Hyatt Regency New Orleans borders the new Medical District, the Arts & Entertainment District and is just blocks from the French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and the Mississippi Riverfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.