We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel with everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency New Orleans to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #77 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Haynesville, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The hotel with everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

If you are looking for a city feel inside of a hotel this is the place to be. Everything from live performances, dancing, festive music, great food, smooth drinks, ornate in every aspect, elevators with a panoramic view, combos and bands playing a variety of tunes... This is it!

Room Tip: Our room provided a view of the city that faced the Mercedez-Benz Super Dome. I watched dogs and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    656
    322
    153
    70
See reviews for
209
323
44
822
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Great job with the remodeling. Very nice and modern atmosphere. Stayed there 25 years ago and it was memorable then. Now more modernized and very open with a stylish feel. Only problem was with checking in. Very crowded entrance. But other than that its a very nice place and I highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rather be in WDW
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

The service was great. Staff was very friendly. We stayed in the regency club room & enjoyed the offerings in the club. Coffee machine is great.

Room was a little small, but we were just there one night.

Would definitely stay again. AAA helped on the rate - which was still a little high.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Wow! For a large convention type of hotel that was jam packed all weekend, the service was amazing! The fabulous in-house reservationist, the front desk clerk, & concierge made my stay perfect! Everyone was helpful, hotel was clean, elevators ran smoothly, and you cannot beat the location if you are attending an event at the Superdome!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

In for a conference .. great hotel new elevator system which seems to be really efficient .. bar on the 3rd floor really SLOW service, room was clean and comfortable convention rooms very nice

internet package very expensive

Room Tip: try to get one facing the benz center preferably in the corner where there is a second door .. block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel looks great but is highly disorganized, especially the front desk and billing departments.
I booked a three-night stay for a conference in September and prepaid on hotels.com. When I arrived, the front desk said they did not have a record of my reservation and my hotels.com paid receipt was not an adequate confirmation. Two hours later, it turned out they did have my reservation but had messed up the confirmation number. Yes, they kept me waiting two hours in the lobby to check in.
Then the nice front desk person said he would upgrade me to a suite for my trouble. When I went to check out, they handed me a bill for a) the basic room I had already paid for and b) additional charges for the suite. It took about 30 minutes with a surly clerk to get that corrected. They also charged me for breakfast even though that was prepaid as well. The clerk was so rude that I just paid up. I paid all my incidentals in full on check out.
Subsequently, the hotel billed my credit card for three nights, a total of more than $420. This was in September and I am still trying to get the charges credited back to my credit card. I have contacted the hotel but no one responds. I contacted the credit card company to dispute the charge and they say the hotel claims the $420 is for incidentals (huh?). I have a receipt from the hotel saying it's for the rooms.
So the credit card company is trying to be helpful but taking the hotel at face value. The hotel is an unresponsive disaster.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
227 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I wish I could say this hotel was amazing but the staff really made it impossible for me to say "I would go back". Check in is a nightmare with long lines and slow front desk agents. They encourage you to utilize all their high tech devices like self check in and room selection but this only slowed and complicated the process. We had a group of 200 people in for a meeting and it was nearly impossible to get anything productive accomplished with any of the staff at the hotel. Our "contacts" like the front desk manager, convention service manager, etc... were not only impossible to get a hold of, when we did finally speak with them, they wouldn't do anything we had asked. Food was constantly running out at buffets, rooms weren't set correctly according to diagrams, etc. The property is brand new and quite beautiful. It is very clean and high-tech in rooms and public areas. It is conveniently located next to the super dome and a 10 minute walk to Bourbon St. There are three great restaurants on property as well. It's just really unfortunate that the staff doesn't match the quality of the property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#69 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 909 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#15 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#82 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
#72 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 3,592 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#12 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#73 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency New Orleans re-opened in October 2011 after a $275 million redesign and revitalization and features 1,193 guest rooms and suites, 200,000 square feet of meeting and event space, expansive food and beverage offerings, and unprecedented service. Located downtown on Loyola Avenue, the hotel is adjacent to the Louisiana Superdome and anchors the vibrant Sports and Entertainment District. Hyatt Regency New Orleans borders the new Medical District, the Arts & Entertainment District and is just blocks from the French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and the Mississippi Riverfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.