We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome job” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency New Orleans to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #86 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Awesome job”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Took my fiance here for a suprize birthday trip and to propose, this hotel made our experince a memory. First of all looking at what they have done with the property since what the storm did, it's amazing what man can do. This is the best city location hotel I have stayed at so far in my life. The art and decor is great just the way everything is executed was just incrediable. Especially since they are recently opened, I can just imagine how much better it will be. Love the concept of the elevators I didn't even have to share them with anyone (wait why did they smell like mustard tho?) takes you directly to your floor quickly. Not to mention the whole ride up on the far side you can see the Super Dome (it was lit up green and red for Christmas). Our room was in the corner and gave us a spectacular veiw of the city on 2 sides it was amazing. Called for a toothbrush got it 15 minutes later. I lived at the concierge desk where Robert the nicest guy helped me find everything and get everywhere. Another employee a wonderful sales worker made sure everything with our stay was perfect. It really made our stay special and we are so grateful for it. The food was just great the lunch buffet isn't a buffet at all, it is just great food as the illusion of a buffet and the dessert selection on it will stop you cold in your tracks before you can even get to the quarter. A lot of people said the quarter wasn't in walking distance. It is really like a 5 minute crawl away through nothing but safe business neighborhoods. Unless your incrediably lazy which is fine to because a cab is $7 to the quarter, I however suggest the walk because you will eat so much food in New Orleans. I really can't say enough good things about this property, we just visted Hyatt Grand Cypress in Septemberish? and we thought it was our favortie hotel in south until we came here. I can't wait to see it completely up and running. If your going to New Orleans you have to choose this hotel it is 5 star luxury you'll love it. Oh and I always forget them but housekeeping my room was done so just great everyday, you guys never get enough love for making my stay more clean then my own home. Thank You Hyatt New Orleans will see you soon.

Room Tip: Get a room with the veiw of city or Superdome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear Irish311,

First of all let me say CONGRATULATIONS! I can't express how touched we are that you chose our hotel and our city as the backdrop for one of the most important days of your life! Thank you for your overwhelmingly wonderful review. My smile grew wider as I continued to read it. We are so thrilled your stay was everything you expected and every department was able to help you whenever you needed it. I will most definitely pass along your compliments to our staff. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you!
Wilma C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    490
    242
    116
    56
See reviews for
147
248
37
545
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed here for a recent weekend getaway using our Hyatt points. The property hasn't been open since Katrina and has gone through extensive renovation. We were not aware that we'd booked our stay during a bowl game next door at the Superdome. As result, they were packed to the brim with fans. The staff handled it perfectly. Check in and check out were both a breeze. Smiling staff met us on the escalator with iPads to expediate checkout. The beds and pillows were comfy and the Regency Lounge is well worth the extra bucks of you aren't a diamond Hyatt points member. It includes a continental breakfast, snacks throughout the day, and cocktails in the evening. We had one hiccup in the Vidascope restaurant. Two you waitresses were so busy flirting with a table of attractive men that they completely ignored us. We also went the several times to ask for service but no one ever came. Eventually Jaycee, I think she's operations manager moved us to another section where Brian gave us outstanding service. We even got a little happy on room later. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear msgrits,

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so happy to read you enjoyed your stay and were not completely affected by the crazed bowl fans! I'm very thrilled to know Jaycee and Brian were able to turn your experience at Vitascope Hall into a wondeful one. I'll be sure to pass along your compliments. We hope to welcome you again!

Best Wishes,
Wilma C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rather be in WDW
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay -- it was short -- but we were only there for the High School Football State Championship. Got there around 1:00 p.m. -- lobby was packed, but check-in was smooth & efficient, didn't take long at all. We stayed "club level." Room was immaculate. View of the highway though :(. Walk to the Dome was easy. Club level was nice -- good food. Very clean. Quiet.

Hope we get to do it again next year. :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear jrbdad,

Thank you for your review. Although short and sweet I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back next year (fingers crossed for a good season!).

Warm Wishes,
Wilma C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, LA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We recently stayed overnight at the Hyatt Regency in New Orleans. We live within 50 miles of the property and decided to make it a week-end in the city to a college bowl game . As others have stated, the property recently reopened after being slammed by Hurricane Katrina six years ago. Everything is new so that's a plus. Our room was on the 26th floor, supposedley upgraded. Room was nice, clean, and plenty large enough. It overlooked the rooftop air conditioning system (ugh!). The bathroom is extremely small. Our room had a shower only which the desk clerk did not tell us as we would not have accepted that room. We found the staff very friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the restaurant. However, be forewarned....valet parking is $38 a night (plus tax and tip) which I consider highway robbery. Parking in the city is expensive but $40+ a night is outrageous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Superdome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear wanderlustatheart,

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel for your bowl game weekend getaway. I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet all of your expectations. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our new amenities. Please feel free to contact me at wilma.cruz@hyatt.com to further discuss any of the issues you encountered during your stay.

Best Wishes,
Wilma C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Where to start……I have always heard that you should “Pat them on the back before you kick them in the rear” so……

I am a long time user of this website and VERY seldom have I written a negative review. Even now, I want to give them credit where credit is due and I will compliment what I thought was good, but I won’t be staying in this property again.

The freshly renovated property is lovely and very well appointed. Every facet of the construction states “quality and pride”.

From the moment we arrived, the staff in this hotel was as pleasant, warm, welcoming and helpful as they could possibly have been. Never have I experienced staff quite so obviously doing their level best to insure our comfort and satisfaction.

Let me say right off the bat, all the basic functions in the room worked: there was hot water, towels and the AC/Heater worked, BUT, the thermostat in the room works backwards from that in your home so it is counter-intuitive. We had to be instructed in its use. How difficult would it have been to have installed thermostats which were easy to figure out?

The troubles began to appear when we looked around our room……no coffeepot, no, microwave, and, in an era of total connectivity, NO free internet. They charge up to $20.00 for total connection ($10.00 for basic internet). It isn't that this hotel doesn’t’ think you need the internet, the obviously do, I made my reservation over the internet, checked in before I departed for New Orleans on the internet, and even checked out over the internet while in my hotel room. This just seems a disingenuous way of raising the room rate in order to successfully compete with other hotels which offer this basic service free of charge.

The internet thing seems simply cheap on their part and began to leave us with a feeling that we were going to be nickel and dime-d for everything. In fact, from the $38.00, per day, valet Fee (Not including a total of $5.00 tax per day) EVERYTHING in this property was only available at extra cost.

Getting connected to the internet proved to be a VERY difficult process. Nowhere in the room were there any instructions for doing so. After a trip to the desk I was finally able to get instructions from the IT guru for the property (located not in the building but in Colorado) and log onto the service I had paid for. The most frustrating online experience I have had in many, many years though because the system constantly and intermittently lost internet service. I was able to stay connected to the network itself, but the network was not able to stay connected to the internet reliably. The hotel refunded the connection fee, of course, but that did nothing to help me do what I needed to do online.

After the first night we left the room at 9AM and didn't return until 3:30 to freshen up for the evenings activities (New Orleans Bowl). The room had not been serviced when we arrived and in fact we had to call housekeeping to get someone to come to the room to service it. NOT what I call exemplary service in a property of this caliber.

Overall, the next time I am in New Orleans, I will stay somewhere else, this place left me with a VERY bad taste in my mouth.

Room Tip: Asj fir a room with a "City View"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear Mr. Reid,

I am so sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. Thank you for shedding light on the issues you encountered during your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly at wilma.cruz@hyatt.com to further discuss any of these issues.

Thank you,
Wilma C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

This Hyatt just reopened and they are still in the learning process. They have the potential to be a world class hotel, but they don't have a clue as to how to handle a huge crowd. I just learned that last night was the first sell out in this hotel, and when the crowd from the New Orleans Bowl returned to the hotel the staff was lost.

When we valet parked they told us we had to self park several blocks away. They did take care of us when they found out we had prearranged our parking.

The rooms are very minimalist. There is a very nice TV and an iPhone home player. The elevators are fun when they work.

Will I return? Yes, when they have a special. Otherwise there are other Places as nice for much less money.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear bandman,

Thank you for your review and we agree we have that potential and with constructive feedback like yours we will continue to fine tune our processes. We hope to welcome you again,

Warm Wishes,
Wilma C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Beautiful hotel with some of the hardest working staff I've seen in a long time. True the hotel is still working out some kinks, but nothing that impacted our stay. Love the high tech in-room TV system!

We appreciated the 10 min walk over to the French Quarter to work off all the great NOLA food!!! By the way, never felt unsafe walking anywhere. Keep your head up and walk with awareness and you'll be fine. A rule of thumb in ANY city.

We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyNola, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency New Orleans, responded to this review, January 1, 2012
Dear HockeyAJ24,

Great review and great piece of advice for anyone in any city. I'll be sure to pass on your compliments to our team! We hope to welcome you soon!

Best Wishes,
Wilma C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency New Orleans

Address: 601 Loyola Ave, New Orleans, LA 70113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency New Orleans 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency New Orleans re-opened in October 2011 after a $275 million redesign and revitalization and features 1,193 guest rooms and suites, 200,000 square feet of meeting and event space, expansive food and beverage offerings, and unprecedented service. Located downtown on Loyola Avenue, the hotel is adjacent to the Louisiana Superdome and anchors the vibrant Sports and Entertainment District. Hyatt Regency New Orleans borders the new Medical District, the Arts & Entertainment District and is just blocks from the French Quarter, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and the Mississippi Riverfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency New Orelans Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.