We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pie Pizza & Pastas

Pie Pizza & Pastas
814 South Peters Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 528-2743
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #277 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
china
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Loved the pizza there. It was big and delicious. Glad we happened upon it after walking around that area for something to eat. Staff were I bit shy but friendly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fat Tuesday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It's difficult to find decent places open on Fat Th Tuesday so we were pleasantly surprised to find this eatery/bar right across the street from our hotel. The jambalaya was hot and spicy. The chicken bacon wrap fresh and a huge serving! Even the special Mardi Gras punch was great! A treat!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“mardi gras stop through”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This restaurant had excellent food and decent service especially for a Fat Tuesdday crowd. I had the chicken bacon wrap and a bowl of spicy gumbo! YUMM

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Pie-TERRIBLE service, terrible pizza”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went here, as suggested by the hotel, as a "family" restaurant within walking distance.

When we entered, no one acknowledged us. Finally we went up to the bar to ask if we could seat ourselves. The waitress ran back and forth past us and did not even stop at all. I had to flag her down to ask for a menu. Then flag her down again to order our drinks.

When our drinks came, it was basically a cup full of ice with a "shot" of soda! Geesh.

We finally ordered (after stopping her again). We ordered a small pepperoni pizza and a chicken bacon ranch wrap. The wrap was good and huge but the pizza's topping all slid off...even after it had cooled down and it wasn't very good.

The weird part about the entire experience is that everyone else sitting at the tables had their pizza served on a pizza platter standing up high on the table. Ours came in a to-go box. Everyone else had their food on actual plates....ours came in a to-go box. What part about coming in and sitting down at the table looks like we wanted it to-go?

They never once came to ask how the food was or if we needed anything. They never once came to refill our glasses. They didn't even bring us napkins. I ask her twice in passing and she never even bothered to acknowledge me either time. We ended up having to steal some napkins from a stack on another table after that family left.

This was by far the WORSE service that I have ever had at a restaurant. I really hope the waitress that was there that night doesn't work there anymore. She was the worse and doesn't deserve to be working at a place where customer service should be a priority.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Decent spot near downtown...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This place is pretty nice...

Ate here with a group of co-workers for lunch on a slow Tuesday. The service was quick, and food was tasty. The waitress was not all that talkative, but she did sport a pretty rad tattoo on her arm... and wasn't half bad-looking either.

But again - I don't dine to look at the help. Like I said - the food was great and the service prompt. The music playing in this place was a little loud - so conversation with your table mates is harder than normal. Another knock on an otherwise good place is that they ran out of chicken at the time we visited, with the waitress telling us it would be a 30-minute wait to cook it up. There are like 5 dishes with chicken in it, so that limited our choices somewhat...

Overall - this spot is a good one to come if you like good food, decent service... and get a kick out of somewhat moody, but attractive brunettes with creative body art serving your food orders.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pie Pizza & Pastas also viewed

 

Been to Pie Pizza & Pastas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pie Pizza & Pastas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.