We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak I've Ever Had!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chophouse New Orleans

Chophouse New Orleans
322 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA
504.522.7902
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chophouse New Orleans is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Poydras
Description: Chophouse New Orleans has crafted a niche by serving a USDA Prime-only menu including chilled Carpaccio, expertly broiled Filet and a monster 40oz. Porterhouse for two. The restaurants relaxed sophistication complements the great food and bustling, live entertainment nightly. Top ratings from previous diners attest to an exceptional experience ahead.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Steak I've Ever Had!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Saw some great reviews on Chophouse and we gave it a try. Very nice atmosphere and very pleasant wait staff. I had the Rib Eye Filet and it really was the most tasty and juiciest steak I've ever had. I like mine medium-medium well and it was cooked perfectly. The other person had the Pan Sauteed Red Fish and unfortunately it was not cooked like she thought it should be. It had a crust to it and she sent it back. The asparagus were cooked perfectly also. The wait staff and host did everything they could to please us and we appreciated it. If I'm ever back in New Orleans I'm heading back here for another steak!They also have a very cute piano bar with live entertainment.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    52
    21
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“14 oz Filet! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I read some great reviews on Chophouse, while looking for a new place to dine in New Orleans. The reviews were outstanding and our dinner lived up to my expectations. My husband and I shared a 14 oz filet and each had a broiled lobster tail. They have a great wine list as well. I will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A brilliant Steak Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Went here during our short stay in New Orleans and had our best meal of the trip. We both started with the Shrimp Cocktail which consisted of four massive King Prawns with a separate dish of piquant cocktail sauce. We also both had the same main course, the Rib Eye Fillet which was brilliant and was actually the cheapest cut on the menu!
Great atmosphere with a lady playing the piano and singing songs, good waiters and an excellent wine-list. What more do you need!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, California, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth going there twice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went there because we were staying in the hotel next to it and were totally surprised by the atmosphere, the piano bar, the attentivenes of the staff, specially Kelly, our waitress and Matt the maitre'd who went out of his way to get us a table in a sold out night.
So impressed was I that even after leaving the hotel , I still went there for a second time, and it was also a great experience, Not a typical creole food, but a top notch restaurant in ANY major city.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalusia, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great New Year's Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Excellent service, food and drink. Atmosphere very appropriate for New Year's Eve could not have asked for a better celebration.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chophouse New Orleans also viewed

 

Been to Chophouse New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chophouse New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.