We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Terrific Experience at Terrell House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Terrell House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
1441 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #6 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“A Terrific Experience at Terrell House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I had a terrific experience at the Terrell House. Beautiful suite, delicious breakfast, restful and charming courtyard. After spending the day exploring the city, it was great to return to such a lovely and quiet place. Overall a grand time in a unique city.


  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
65
118
7
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first B&B and New Orleans experience. The house was beautiful with the decorations and trim. The courtyard was a very relaxing place to sit and have a couple drinks or just chat. Breakfast was superb! Each day had a different selection. Each day was very tasty with a clean display. There was one breakfast that I would love the recipe to, it was delicious!! The staff were always very polite and knowledgable about the area. There is a street car stop about a 5 minute walk from the house which makes it a quick trip into the quarter or you can stay near the house in the beautiful garden district. I would definitely look at staying here on my next trip into New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for writing such a kind review of the Terrell House on TripAdvisor! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got married here and had our whole out of town family stay at the bed and breakfast. The Terrell House itself is stunning - with more than comfortable accommodations and absolutely delicious food. Linda, Shannon, Arthur and the rest of the staff made what could've been a stressful weekending into the easiest, stress-free get away we could've ever asked for! Everything was taken care of with the utmost attention and the venue was perfect, even with a little bit of rain! I highly recommend the Terrell House to all brides looking for a sweet, intimate setting that is a one stop shop!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 days ago
I am so thrilled to hear that you were pleased with everything at your wedding! It was truly our pleasure to host you and we hope that you will return should you have another even to plan or need a place to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a huge treat. We were two women friends from Chicago wanting to explore New Orleans, away from Bourbon Street. The comfort of the room, courtyard, overall house beauty and Garden District location was perfect. I can't say enough about the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff. We will definitely bring our husbands and come again!

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind review of the Terrell House! I am so happy to hear that y'all enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travel to NOLA every year. We have stayed in some lovely places and some not so lovely places. Our experience at the Terrell House was absolutely wonderful. We stayed there for a week. The 1st half of trip we stayed in the Creole House, a beautiful 2 bedroom suite across from the main house. The 2nd half we stayed in the 3rd floor suite. Each room had a stocked fridge with cold bottled water and coca cola. They even had community coffee in to self brew in the morning. Both are great for a family. They serve a delicious breakfast every morning in there magnificent dining room. The best part was that even though the Terrell House was luxurious, it also was homey. The warm and attentive staff were definitely a part of that as well. We highly recommend staying there on your next trip.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review of the Terrell House! It's so nice to hear that y'all enjoyed your extended stay with us - and I do hope that you all choose to stay with us each year when you return to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Terrell House is a lovely B & B in a great section of New Orleans. Convenient to the French Quarter and the Garden District, on Magazine Street which is full of fun places to eat and shop. The accommodations are old style Southern elegant with modern convinces. The breakfasts were delicious, a little rich for my California blood but a wonderful treat while on vacation. Free bottled waters and cokes are restocked in the rooms as well as wine and bear in a nearby fridge. Highly recommend the Terrell House!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review here on TripAdvisor. I hope to have you all stay with us again the next time you're in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Linda's home provides a perfect base for a visit to New Orleans. We experience the genteel south in her beautiful home and she and her staff couldn't have made us feel more welcome or made our stay more enjoyable.

I was ups recommend Terrell House to anyone who wants to really feel they are in New Orleans - we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We were in the King Room in the main house and it was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Owner at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review of the Terrell House! I am so thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable trip with us. We hope to host you again the next time you are in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1441 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Terrell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrell House b&b
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.