We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for a wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Terrell House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1441 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
“The perfect place for a wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you're thinking about getting married in the Garden District, do it at the Terrell House. Not only is it gorgeous, but the food is amazing and the staff is very accommodating and friendly. I stayed for two nights for a dear friend's wedding and could not have been happier. I was in the Yellow Room. There was nothing I was lacking and the room was right off the courtyard, which was nice. The bed was comfortable, the water pressure was excellent, and everything was very clean. I got 5 star service, complete with a tour of the property and an explanation of where everything was in the room. But you know what the best part was?? THE FOOD. Seriously, go to breakfast every morning. I know getting there at 9 AM may seem early but it's worth it. Annicka makes the food and she does a phenomenal job. Each breakfast was different and I never had a dish I disliked (which is impressive because I tend to be picky). They also catered the wedding, and the food was delicious then too. I honestly felt like I was staying at a friend's house, not at a b&b or hotel. The main breakfast area is so gorgeous as well. Everything is impeccably clean and didn't smell old in the least. There was no mold anywhere, which was wonderful given that I'm very allergic and can always sniff it out. I honestly cannot recommend this place enough. Oh and make sure to say hi to Jubilee, the cat wandering around the court yard. She's a total sweetheart! Next time I'm in NOLA, I will definitely be staying here!

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb stairs, stay in the yellow or red room; they're off the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Public Relations Manager at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
What a great review! Thank you so much for your kind words. We loved having you all! I'm happy that you enjoyed our breakfast. Our guests always have such positive things to say about it! Hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
90
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We loved our 3 night stay here at the Terrell House. We chose the Blue Room which is in their Carriage House. Be mindful that all rooms except two will require using steps so if you are sensitive to stairs or lugging a huge suitcase you may want to request one of the ground floor rooms. Our room was very tastefully decorated, immaculate and quiet. The fireplace is not a working fireplace. When you arrive you’ll need to find the call button at the front of the gate to be “rung in”. We were shown our room and given a basic run through on details of coming and going. We loved the lower Garden District location, however you’ll need to realize that you’ll either be walking a bit or needing to call for a cab to get around. One day we walked up Magazine Street to self tour the Garden District’s beautiful homes. When we wanted to go to the French Quarter we walked about 3 blocks to St. Charles street to catch the streetcar to the Quarter for $1.25 a ride. When we left the Quarter we either took the streetcar or the #11 bus which runs right up Magazine Street. Late at night when bus and streetcar become further spread out, you’ll want to catch a cab to return home from the Quarter which cost about $8.00. We so enjoyed the delightful courtyard where we could relax after a long day with some wine near the fountain. We didn’t have much luck locating a good wine store nearby. There is an ice machine and a shared refrigerator for guests to use. Breakfast is served at 7:30 or 8:30. You are asked which seating you prefer. You’ll sit in a gorgeous formal dining room at a communal table with some other guests. Each morning a beautiful, huge bowl of fresh fruit was offered along with different breads (scones or biscuits, etc.) and egg dishes which varied each day. We loved the delicious breakfasts and all the lovely touches. The website photos accurately depict the property. We appreciated Stanley, our cab driver, on our trip back to the airport which Linda arranged for us. In sum, we look forward to returning some day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Public Relations Manager at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for such kind feedback! The pictures in your review are so beautiful, by the way! Next time you stay here, we will definitely be sure to fix that wine store locating problem for you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My family of four just returned from a week in NOLA at the wonderful Terrell House. We stayed in the Creole House just across the street, which is part of the Terrell House complex. The main house is a gorgeous home, built in 1858, with high ceilings and sumptuous decor. Our accommodations were a two bedroom apartment, complete with living room and a small kitchen, just across the street from the main house. It was well-maintained and extremely comfortable, as well as reasonably priced. Linda, the owner, gave us a 10% discount because we were visiting Tulane University and another 10% discount for staying more than three nights. Breakfasts were delicious, if not a bit rich for our tastes. Linda and Annicka were extremely helpful. The location is fabulous for walking down Magazine street, just a few blocks from where the shops begin, and just a few blocks from the St. Charles streetcar, with easy access to the Garden District and French Quarter. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The Gold Room in the main house has a separate room with two twin beds and is very comfortable for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Terrell House is a great place to stay in New Orleans! A friend and I were attending a conference, and it's about a 15 minute walk away from the convention center, but there's a bus and easy access to the street car if you feel more like riding into town. It's convenient to downtown, a great price, and Annicka makes a fantastic breakfast. After that amazing food, we were able to skip lunch entirely. Everyone is friendly, even the BNB cat, Jubilee, and it was a peaceful, calm, and welcoming place to return to after a day of meetings (and maybe the odd side trip for beignets...).

Comfortable, clean rooms; friendly, warm staff; excellent food; convenient location. Yup, I'd stay there again, and I'll highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Public Relations Manager at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for offering to recommend us to your friends. We're glad that you were able to find convenience, solitude, and a full stomach at Terrell House! Can't wait to see you again, Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in one of the 2bdrm suites located in a house building across a side street from the main house. Both rooms were equipped with queen (or larger) beds and shared a modern bathroom.

The living area and kitchenette were lovely. The kitchen was modern with granite and stainless steel. Complimentary soda and bottled water provided.

Breakfast was delicious, served in the main house. Service was accommodating, asking when the best time for each guest to rise and eat. The house was beautifully decorated for Christmas.

Location is great, within walking distance if numerous restaurants and the magazine street shops. The French Quarter would be a long walk, so taking the bus or trolley is recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Public Relations Manager at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the suite! We definitely try to be as accommodating as possible for our guests. Thank you for the great feedback, and we'll have breakfast waiting upon your next visit! Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My family has been staying here for 2 years running, and couldn't be more pleased with our experience. It was Mardi Gras, and the Terrell House was like a calm amid the chaos. Everyone was very nice and gracious--even had our room upgraded to a suite (take their advice when they suggest a better room for you--they mean upgade when they say upgrade!). The breakfasts were 1st class as always, they treated my young daugther like their own, and they all take the time to talk to you like a person instead of a customer. They remembered us from our last stay and really treated us like friends--making our family feel very at ease. The fellow guests were just as sweet. As long as we travel to New Orleans for a yearly conference, we are staying here as long as they will have us.

Room Tip: Ask Miss Linda what room would be best for you--there are many types to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Public Relations Manager at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the glistening review! We would be glad to have you back as long as you still want to see our faces year after year! Thanks again for the feedback, and we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Terrell House was amazing from start to finish. The mattress was the best I have ever slept on, and I wanted to take it home with me. There are no words to describe the breakfasts. They were gourmet and abundant, and are eaten with the owner's family silver, which is antique and gorgeous. The main house is complete southern charm and grandeur. I stayed two nights here for business and then switched to another nearby b&b for two nights on my own dime, and wish I would have splurged on the Terrell House for the entire time - completely worth it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lolashouse, Public Relations Manager at Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
You are too kind! We wish you would have splurged on us too, but at least you know what to do next time. ;-) Our mattresses miss you. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1441 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans
Terrell House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.