We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great find in new orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrell House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Terrell House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1441 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Ideal for Business Travel
Ranked #4 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
washington dc
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“a great find in new orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I think I have been to every B&B in New Orleans [as well as a fair number of hotels] but Terrell House B&B is the best I've found. Located in the lower Garden District on Magazine Street, this B&B has been lovingly restored [in 2003 or so] and is beautifully decorated, and spotless! It's a charming grand old town home in typical New Orleans style, with high ceilings, filled with gorgeous antiques and art, but not at all stuffy or overdone. Attention to detail is evident throughout.
We stayed in the Gold Room which is actually a suite and were very comfortable. Water and the makings for coffee are available in the room, Our towels were replaced daily and the sheets on the bed felt soft and fresh. Some of the floor to ceiling windows can be opened if you wish and there is a ceiling fan [AC is quite efficient and quiet]. WiFi is also available throughout.
There is a pleasant interior courtyard for sitting [balconies too look over the courtyard; we also had a small balcony facing the street side] or eating breakfast. And breakfast is a feast - grits, homemade pastries, fruit, eggs - a variety each of the three mornings we were there and quite satisfying.
The proprietor is wonderful, taking an interest in what you're up to and being around "just enough".
The location is a good one - if you're a walker, you can walk for miles along Magazine Street, or around the Garden District; it's quite close to the Warehouse District too [and the phenomenal D-Day Museum complex].
I highly recommend this B&B for anyone who would like to stay in a beautiful "authentic" New Orleans town home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
97
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Terrell House B&B was a fabulous experience. I highly recommend it to anyone visiting New Orleans that is looking for a more unique place to stay in a quieter part of the city.

My husband discovered Terrell House after doing a lot of B&B online searching for NOLA. We ultimately chose them because of all the wonderful reviews and the pictures online. The crazy part is, while everything seemed great online, none of it does it complete justice-you have to experience it for yourself!

We were greeted by Linda, the owner, upon arriving. She gave us a brief tour, answered some of our inquisitive questions about the house, renovations, etc, and then were shown our room.

She was very flexible with whatever time we wanted breakfast, which comes with your reservation, which we thought was quite considerate.

Speaking of breakfast, it was just absolutely excellent both mornings. My husband and I both commented that she could be a chef, the breakfast was that good. It was a nice assortment of fresh fruit, cheesy grits, scones, french toast and an egg souffle type of baked dish. We were pleasantly surprised at the delicious offerings.

We stayed in one of their King Suite rooms, and it was wonderful. Very comfortable room with a great king bed and linens, walk in shower, working wifi, and high windows that let in great natural light.
It was our first time staying at a B&B and we were understandably concerned the other guests could be noisy, or we'd wake people up when going/coming...not the case. The house was pretty quiet, kept at a cool temperature (very important in the early September high humidity days!), and just overall very beautiful. It is clear that when Linda renovated it, she didn't cut any corners--every finish and decoration is fabulous.

The only downside is grabbing a cab isn't as easy staying here as it would be if you were staying at a larger hotel on Canal Street in the French Quarter. But, the quietness and quaint B&B experience at Terrell absolutely made up for that.

We both highly recommend Terrell House. In fact, we hope to go back again someday if we are headed back to NOLA!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

For a work conference, my team rented out all the rooms at Terrell house and it was absolute perfection! The bedrooms were very comfortable and we were able to use the living space in the house for meetings and spending time together. I loved that each bedroom had it's own thermostat! So important in the New Orleans summer heat! Their hospitality was incredible - everything was at our fingertips! Anika fixed the BEST breakfasts! The grits!? Oh my goodness, so good! I would highly recommend Terrell House for anyone visiting New Orleans - and it's a particularly brilliant idea if you're looking to do something different for your next work retreat. Thank you Terrell House!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

My wife booked a night here for my 43rd birthday. I loved the old New Orleans charm and architecture. Linda and her little dog were great hosts. We live just outside New Orleans and I don't like bourbon street but go one block over to royal street for beautiful art galleries and quaint shops. Our house was very nice with a small kitchen 2 bedrooms nice living room and flat screen tv's in all rooms. It was very clean and the king size bed and down pillows were perfect. We also had our own balcony overlooking Euterpe and magazine street. What a gem. Thanks Linda for making my 43rd birthday a memorable one.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A beautifully restored historic home on Magazine St. in the Garden District, this inn is the perfect retreat after a day of experiencing the sites of New Orleans. Linda is a true southern lady, whose charm and attendance to detail make her Inn a place where guests want to return over and over again. From the beautifully appointed rooms to the luxurious mattresses, linens and pillows every detail is designed to make you feel pampered. Delores and all the staff are warm and friendly and add to the charm and ambiance of Terrell House. Linda and her staff prepare delicious breakfasts, and will cater to any special diet requests with dishes that tempt the palate. The Inn is conveniently located in the Garden District, includes free parking, and access to attractions are easily accessible via taxi, bus or by car. You can also walk to the French Quarter, but it is a mile plus. A one-day bus pass is only $3 per person. I have stayed in a number of Inns around the U.S., and this is one of the nicest! I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the lower floor room in the building across the street from the main house. It was ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our family had never been to NOLA and were already on the road traveling so I was searching like crazy to find a B&B. After reading many reviews, calling a few places, we decided on Terrell House. You never know if the photos and descriptions are accurate until you get there. We arrived after a very long day tired and hungry. Linda and her wonderful staff made us feel so welcome and directed us to a local eatery (which was Joey K's & wonderful). The house is beautiful, comfortable, and squeaky clean. Our whole family, including my teenage daughter, wanted to stay for days. We stayed in the Gold room which has a separate sitting room with a twin bed which is perfect for an additional person. The bed was comfortable, temperature perfectly cool, water and coffee items in the room, and the staff around if you needed something. I would stay here again if returning to NOLA. It is located down the road from the Magazine St shops, not walking distance, but easy drive. Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathews, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Terrell House (red room) for the weekend celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. Linda and staff were very gracious...especially appreciated since we arrived 3 hours earlier than planned. The parlors are gorgeous! 14 ft. high ceilings, antiques, draperies... floor length windows overlooking the street and courtyard. Breakfast was a delicious variety with egg casseroles, grits, french toast, fresh cut fruits, apple and orange juices, and coffee. We met other guests for breakfast and had great laughter filled conversations before going about town for the day. Our room was was very clean, fresh towels daily, soft comfortable bedding, and all the modern comforts (iron and board, blowdryer, hangers, shampoo, bath soap, drinks including bottled water, coke, diet coke, tea and the most important while in New Orleans--community coffee both caff and decaf.lol Friday night, we picked up our meal and ate in the courtyard which was quiet and peaceful after our long day of work. We spent the whole day Saturday on Magazine St. walking, shopping, eating. The bus stops one block from the house so we cheated a few times and rode back and forth. Plenty of charming shops along the street, delicious bbq at Saucy's BBQ and sushi at The Sake Cafe. New Orleans is our favorite place to "just get away". I am so happy to have found the Terrell House. We loved the character of the area and are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terrell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1441 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrell House is a New Orleans Bed and Breakfast with southern charm and graciousness in the heart of old New Orleans. Built in 1857 for Richard Terrell, a wealthy cotton broker originally from Natchez, Mississippi, the Terrell House is a grand three story Italianate stucco-over-brick mansion. The main house features porches, galleries, and balconies framed in ornate cast iron and a brick New Orleans courtyard complete with several fountains and lush vegetation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrell House b&b
Terrell House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrell House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.