We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique ride” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Streetcars

New Orleans Streetcars
Canal Street, New Orleans, LA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 172 attractions in New Orleans
Type: Trams
Attraction Details
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Unique ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A good way to move about New Orleans core. We used the riverfront and city park routes to get us around. Only 3.00 /per person for the whole day and .40/ seniors I heard. Just remember that the time schedule is a bit Louisiana style so be prepared to wait 15-30 minutes....ya just don't know :)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    381
    112
    35
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Okay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

When we got on the Streetcar the Lady Driver literally threw us off saying " I am going in the other direction" we got off and the Streetcar continued in the direction it was headed!!! Very confusing, Driver disgustingly rude as were the other Drivers on the Streetcars. The seats are very pretty all wood and well maintained. At least they didnt' talk back. I guess my Bro and I felt intimidated by the unhelpful drivers. No I wouldnt ride these Tramcars again until the folks steering them get a life. Jump in one of those Ricksaw 2seater Bikes that takes you where you need to go and the person transporting you more than glad to divulge info. On the City and grateful for your patronage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kenner, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This is by far the best way to get around in NOLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We are locals and hate to pay to park or the hassle of driving around looking for a spot. We parked down by Carrollton and hopped on the streetcar. You can bring a drink on as long as it has a top, so we stopped in a little bar got a drink and rode down to the french quarter, what a great way to meet new people and enjoy the view. Way better than driving.
Check the times that they stop running we lucked out and the one that we were on continued past 2am but if we would have parked a bit further we would have been out of luck and had to walk.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinole
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“very user friendly public transportation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is the first city I have ever traveled to that is so easy to get around on foot to almost everything and the public transportation fills in the blanks beautifully and is reasonably priced at just a mere $1.25 per ride or an all day "Jazzy pass" for just $3.00 with as many on/offs as you want. I completely recommend NOT renting a car for this city and relying completely on foot and by the trolley system. Also very accessible for folks in wheelchairs and the drivers are really nice about it too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth a ride, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I recommend trying the streetcars once. They are a great inexpensive way to see the city. But be aware that they don't really run on a regular schedule no matter what the RTA says, so don't ride if you need to be somewhere on time. And check in advance; if there's maintenance or a Krewe parade, they don't run at all.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Streetcars also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Streetcars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Streetcars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added New Orleans Streetcars to your Saves list