We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very user friendly public transportation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Streetcars

New Orleans Streetcars
Canal Street, New Orleans, LA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 172 attractions in New Orleans
Type: Trams
Attraction Details
pinole
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“very user friendly public transportation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is the first city I have ever traveled to that is so easy to get around on foot to almost everything and the public transportation fills in the blanks beautifully and is reasonably priced at just a mere $1.25 per ride or an all day "Jazzy pass" for just $3.00 with as many on/offs as you want. I completely recommend NOT renting a car for this city and relying completely on foot and by the trolley system. Also very accessible for folks in wheelchairs and the drivers are really nice about it too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    384
    112
    35
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth a ride, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I recommend trying the streetcars once. They are a great inexpensive way to see the city. But be aware that they don't really run on a regular schedule no matter what the RTA says, so don't ride if you need to be somewhere on time. And check in advance; if there's maintenance or a Krewe parade, they don't run at all.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holytown, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth doing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Buy a daily ticket have correct change no change given back. $3 per person. Covers all cars good views of the city canal street. Riverside used these two. Jump on jump off anytime.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“It was a relaxing ride.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want to see the city in a slow-relaxing style . Do this specially not in the rush hour time. I loved it !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Take a ride . . . back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a fun way to get around town. My first ride was from the French Quarter to the Garden District: started on the Riverfront line, transferred to Canal, then on the St. Charles line. On a separate trip, we took the Canal Street line from the Port of New Orleans to the City Cemeteries and part-way back we got off and walked to the St. Louis Cemetery #1. The ride is easy and you can see a lot of the city along the way. Exact fare is required or you can buy a day pass for all the rides you care to take. If you have the time, I recommend that you ride to one end and watch the way they change the seats before they go back the other direction.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Streetcars also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Streetcars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Streetcars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added New Orleans Streetcars to your Saves list