We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a ride, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Streetcars

New Orleans Streetcars
Canal Street, New Orleans, LA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Trams, Other
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth a ride, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I recommend trying the streetcars once. They are a great inexpensive way to see the city. But be aware that they don't really run on a regular schedule no matter what the RTA says, so don't ride if you need to be somewhere on time. And check in advance; if there's maintenance or a Krewe parade, they don't run at all.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    440
    125
    38
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holytown, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Worth doing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Buy a daily ticket have correct change no change given back. $3 per person. Covers all cars good views of the city canal street. Riverside used these two. Jump on jump off anytime.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“It was a relaxing ride.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want to see the city in a slow-relaxing style . Do this specially not in the rush hour time. I loved it !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Take a ride . . . back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a fun way to get around town. My first ride was from the French Quarter to the Garden District: started on the Riverfront line, transferred to Canal, then on the St. Charles line. On a separate trip, we took the Canal Street line from the Port of New Orleans to the City Cemeteries and part-way back we got off and walked to the St. Louis Cemetery #1. The ride is easy and you can see a lot of the city along the way. Exact fare is required or you can buy a day pass for all the rides you care to take. If you have the time, I recommend that you ride to one end and watch the way they change the seats before they go back the other direction.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were excited about the prospect of taking the riverfront street car to/from Canal St to the French Market in order to minimize walking as much as possible due to physical limitations. We purchased a one day pass. Signs said cars would not be running after 7pm that evening for service (likely due to Superbowl preparations) so we thought we had planned accordingly. We sat at NORTA stop # 5 from 6pm to 7pm and the train never came and the monitors and ride line phone number offered no assistance.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Streetcars also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Streetcars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Streetcars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.