We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a relaxing ride.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Streetcars

New Orleans Streetcars
Canal Street, New Orleans, LA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 163 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Trams, Other
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“It was a relaxing ride.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want to see the city in a slow-relaxing style . Do this specially not in the rush hour time. I loved it !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    723
    422
    122
    38
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Take a ride . . . back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a fun way to get around town. My first ride was from the French Quarter to the Garden District: started on the Riverfront line, transferred to Canal, then on the St. Charles line. On a separate trip, we took the Canal Street line from the Port of New Orleans to the City Cemeteries and part-way back we got off and walked to the St. Louis Cemetery #1. The ride is easy and you can see a lot of the city along the way. Exact fare is required or you can buy a day pass for all the rides you care to take. If you have the time, I recommend that you ride to one end and watch the way they change the seats before they go back the other direction.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were excited about the prospect of taking the riverfront street car to/from Canal St to the French Market in order to minimize walking as much as possible due to physical limitations. We purchased a one day pass. Signs said cars would not be running after 7pm that evening for service (likely due to Superbowl preparations) so we thought we had planned accordingly. We sat at NORTA stop # 5 from 6pm to 7pm and the train never came and the monitors and ride line phone number offered no assistance.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful Piece of History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We rode the St. Charles and Riverfront Lines. Not all of the lines are back online but the bus drivers were great in helping us figure out how to get from where we were to where we needed to go for the streetcars. You can purchase 1 or 3 day Jazzy passes ($3 or $9) for unlimited riding. Otherwise, you'll need $1.25 for each trip - exact change only. We did the St. Charles loop twice just to take in all of the scenery.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Historic and practical!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We rode the Canal Street Line and the Riverfront Line. Exact change required. The drivers were happy to assist any newbies in using the fare machines on-board the cars. We took the Canal Street line from the French Quarter to City Park and back. Be aware that the Canal Street line has two different destinations. If you want to go to City Park, make sure you board a car that is labeled "City Park / Museum". A real treat!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Streetcars also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Streetcars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Streetcars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.