We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Piece of History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Streetcars

New Orleans Streetcars
Canal Street, New Orleans, LA
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #20 of 166 attractions in New Orleans
Type: Trams
Attraction Details
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful Piece of History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We rode the St. Charles and Riverfront Lines. Not all of the lines are back online but the bus drivers were great in helping us figure out how to get from where we were to where we needed to go for the streetcars. You can purchase 1 or 3 day Jazzy passes ($3 or $9) for unlimited riding. Otherwise, you'll need $1.25 for each trip - exact change only. We did the St. Charles loop twice just to take in all of the scenery.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    307
    95
    28
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, NY
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Historic and practical!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We rode the Canal Street Line and the Riverfront Line. Exact change required. The drivers were happy to assist any newbies in using the fare machines on-board the cars. We took the Canal Street line from the French Quarter to City Park and back. Be aware that the Canal Street line has two different destinations. If you want to go to City Park, make sure you board a car that is labeled "City Park / Museum". A real treat!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“City and Cemetery Tour from Cajun Encoounters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We started at the hotel, traveled all over the city to each point on the brochure. Our guide Jason was very informative and knowledgable of both the city and the little known facts. When the tour was over he offered the riders the opportunity to return to their hotel or be let off back in the French quarter near the market.
This was great and we got off at the market and began our walk to various businesses in the French Quarter. Later we caught the bus back to our hotel. Did a tasting of local beers and food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Take it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is one of the coolest ways to see the city. I know they are doing some work on the St. Charles line right now, not sure what is shut down currently. But if you get a chance, hop on at Canal and ride it all the way up St. Charles and back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“LOVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I know this may sound crazy but I love, LOVE the streetcars. I would ride them back and forth all day if I lived in NOLA. I love the drivers, I have learned so much from them about the history of the city and the streetcars themselves. Did you know that the streetcars can't stop very well?! They CAN'T! Especially if it is raining. People pull out onto the tracks and sit there like the streetcar sees them and will stop for THEM. They are so silly! Many cars have been hit this way. They also don't have windshield wipers - they wern't invented yet when the line started. And if you stay on the car and go to the end, they take the seats and flip the backs so you will face the opposite way. SO COOL! Nostalgia take me away!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Streetcars also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Streetcars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Streetcars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.