We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, bad service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Irish House New Orleans

The Irish House New Orleans
1432 St Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA
504-595-6755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Irish House New Orleans is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #255 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, European, English, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Melpomene
Transit: On the St. Charles Avenue Street Car line.
Pocatello, Idaho
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great food, bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

i went there twice. once for lunch and once for dinner. the food was fantastic, though pricey. the service however, was deplorable. i thought it was a fluke the first time. a second try proved me wrong. never again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IrishHouseNOLA, Public Relations Manager at The Irish House New Orleans, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear loozer75,

We are so sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your service at The Irish House. We strive to make everyone’s experience something special but, unfortunately, sometimes things are missed. We appreciate you taking the time to give us valuable feedback and we hope that you will give us another chance to prove that to you. Please let us know if there is anything else that we might be able to help you with.

Cate Cox
The Irish House
1432 St. Charles
(504)595-6755
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    63
    26
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pocatello
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food, terrible service, and worse drinks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The food was very good, as it should be for the price. The service was VERY slow, and not personable. Our drinks (two different ones) were like bad water. Without doubt, the worst drink I have ever had, and that says a good deal coming from an old man how has been to 44 coutries, and as many states.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrishHouseNOLA, Public Relations Manager at The Irish House New Orleans, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Kardell,

We are so sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your service at The Irish House. We strive to make everyone’s experience something special but, unfortunately, sometimes things are missed. We appreciate you taking the time to give us valuable feedback and we hope that you will give us another chance to prove that to you. Please let us know if there is anything else that we might be able to help you with.

Cate Cox
The Irish House
1432 St. Charles
(504)595-6755
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain House, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Long overdue review and for a return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I spent the week of St. Patricks Day at the Wyndham Avenue Plaza on St Charles Avenue. This was our first trip to New Orleans and I just happened to see the Irish House while headed to the French Quarter. We really enjoyed the outdoor entertainment fo St, Patricks Day. We decided that the next day we would have dinner there. We really enjoyed the atmosphere, food and great service we experienced at the Irish House. The food was tremendous and reasonably priced. The staff were inredibly friendly and quick to assist you. I enjoyed it so much I felt it necessary visit the Irish House Shop, where I could not resist purchasing an Irish House cap. I am sure if I lived in New Orleans, the Irish House staff would quickly know me by name!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrishHouseNOLA, Public Relations Manager at The Irish House New Orleans, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Danny K.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are always thrilled to hear about someone’s special event here at the pub! We hope to see you back again soon.

Cate Cox
The Irish House
1432 St. Charles
(504)595-6755
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good friendy service, a very attractive interior, excellentfood, and right on the St. Charles Street streetcar line. Can't get any better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrishHouseNOLA, Public Relations Manager at The Irish House New Orleans, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear J11209,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are always thrilled to hear about someone’s special event here at the pub! We hope to see you back again soon.

Cate Cox
The Irish House
1432 St. Charles
(504)595-6755
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Great Brunch, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Found the Irish House on St. Charles St, New Orleans on a recent Saturday. It had one of the most appealing brunch menus I've seen in a long time. I had a wonderful roast beef hash dish, and my friend enjoyed a fruit plate. The service was friendly and attentive. I definitely want to go back for lunch or dinner before my vacation ends and will seek it out on future trips to NOLA.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrishHouseNOLA, Public Relations Manager at The Irish House New Orleans, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Tilda54

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are always thrilled to hear about someone’s special event here at the pub! We hope to see you back again soon.

Cate Cox
The Irish House
1432 St. Charles
(504)595-6755
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Irish House New Orleans also viewed

 

Been to The Irish House New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Irish House New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.