We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy holiday dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The velvet Cactus

The velvet Cactus
6300 Argonne Blvd., Harrison & Argonne Blvd., New Orleans, LA 70124 (Lakeview)
504-301-2083
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #559 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Lakeview
Metairie, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“happy holiday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I loved the atmosphere in the outside dining area, fully equipped with heat lamps and Christmas décor. I enjoyed every bite of my enchiladas. At first since it was chilly I thought I wanted to sit inside but they sat us inside near the server screens and I just wasn’t feeling it. After I moved outside I realized that is the place to be. Cute Mexican blankets to line you chair with and cozy tree cover made it a lovely night out. Plus the patron margaritas were two for one!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“A Really Fun Place with Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had heard about this restaurant several times over the last few months and were looking forward to trying it. An opportunity to eat there sprung up so we went with it. It is a very entertaining place both visually and in atmosphere. We tried their signature margaritas and some of the more ambitious things on the menu. The margarita was ok, but for $11, we expected more. The crawfish appetizer was good, however the Louisiana seafood boil quesadillas were not. The flavors and seasoning were somewhat off. The summary around the table was that the food was passable but far from the excellent Mexican cuisine we have experienced at other restaurants resulting in an average grade.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent evening out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The velvet cactus had wonderful food; hubby and I both really enjoyed our meals. I had the burrito and it was huge and so flavorful. Hubby had the shrimp fajitas and they were so fresh, perfectly seasoned, and cooked to perfection.

We will definitely go again!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bad Mexican and Terrible drinks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

From the outside this restaurant looks like it could be a great place to bring your family. However, it is pricey for what they serve. The food is very low quality and does not taste good. The drinks are worse

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Amazing Look and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

What drew me to this place was its wonderful appearance. Not to be out done by it the food and service and great as well. The outside seating is gorgeous and surprising cool in summer months. Margaritas, tequila shots, blanco dip and chips, amazing large portion meals - What’s not to love?

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The velvet Cactus also viewed

 

Been to The velvet Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The velvet Cactus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.