We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible time at the Astor Crowne Plaza” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #98 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Terrible time at the Astor Crowne Plaza”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

I read a few reviews before staying here & thought they were harsh. Unfortunately, the reviews were true. I stayed here 11/27-12/1/06 for work & had a terrible time. The hotel lobby was nice; hotel staffs were OK. The hallway has a mold/mildew smell & the carpet was old. I went to my room and could not open the door. I noticed there were dishes outside, so either the room was occupied or the hotel staffs have not cleaned the hallways. As I entered into the 2nd room, there was a disgusting smell (vomit & smoke); I had requested non-smoking room. So on the 3rd try, the room they gave me was much better. It was on the same floor as the Priority Club lounge (4th floor). There is only valet parking at this hotel; it cost $28. Vallet takes approximately 15mins to get your car. My 3rd day, it took over 45mins to get my car. Every time I asked about my car, the valet person told me it was coming. I told them that I could have walked to my workplace in 20mins instead of waiting for my car. They told me that they will not charge me for that day. I decided that I won't be using their valet service again. I ended up using another parking place; this was right behind the hotel ($20/night) and it took them 5 mins to get my car. When I returned to the hotel that night, again, I could not open my door. I went to the registration counter & was told that they checked me out already (Thurs.); I had a reservation til Friday. While waiting for the hotel staffs to sort out the issue, I spoke to other hotel guests nearby. Apparently these guests were having problems with their reservation; the hotel did not have rooms for them. At checkout on Fri, they charged me an extra day of parking. After trying to explain to the staff that I wasn't currently parking there and the guy was clueless, I gave up and left. I had a terrible time at this hotel & I don't recommend this hotel at all!

  • Liked — hotel lobby
  • Disliked — valet service & smelly hallway
  • Tips/Secrets — use the parking service behind the hotel
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    515
    303
    163
    117
See reviews for
209
455
58
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2006

I was very disappointed in this hotel. I realize that there are still some clean-up and service issues, but the ones here were not hurricane-related. The hotel was dirty and our non-smoking room smelled strongly of smoke. My mother's non-smoking room was a bit cleaner and did not smell smoked-in. The service was at best, mediocre. I would not choose this hotel again. There are many, better places to stay in the city.

  • Liked — the exit
  • Disliked — the service
  • Tips/Secrets — stay way from this property
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2006

What a fantastic hotel! Even had we paid full price, the value was there. This hotel is located at the corner of Bourbon and Canal, very convenient. The room was wonderful. We were put on the executive floor for no extra charge. This included free drinks and appetizers from 5-7 in the evening and a light breakfast from 7-10 in the morning. The room was very clean and the bed was extra comfortable. The staff could not have been better. I have no reservations in recommending this hotel. At bookit.com the hotel is listed as a mystery hotel for $69. If you are going to New Orleans, this is the place. The Bourbon Street restaurant in the hotel is incredible. We ate there two nights because it was so good.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Take a chance on a mystery hotel.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2006

My 4 day stay at the Astor Crown Plaza involved conflicting emotions: on the one hand it is really hard to beat up on a hotel which is struggling to come back from Catastrophe, while on the other hand there are certain minimum standards of "hotel civility" which are hard to ignore in the breach.

The ultimate "bottom line" is the price/value ratio --- in my case the rock bottom prices of the room --- avg $136 - $150 per nite (plus characteristic 18% tax + $2.00/nite surcharge) still made the hotel very, very competitive with just about anywhere else in the U.S.

I refuse to "criticize" the Astor Crown which obviously has staffing and service issues; rather I will make "gentle suggestions" which will make things more comfortable for guests:
1. Can you provide working ice machines on any other than the 4th floor?
2. Can you furnish edible room service (filet/chicken entrees were totally substandard) ?
3. Can you provide fresh towels (no add'l towels after 2 requests).
4. Can you, please, please fix the dripping faucet in the bath tub?

I missed NOLA last year because of Katrina. I was delighted to return and urge others to do likewise. It is still a great City. The Astor NOLA is a great bargain... only because the rates are so darn cheap, I will probably book there again !

JJH

p.s. Antoines and Commanders Palace back in full stride and worth the trip by themselves !

  • Liked — the price & the location
  • Disliked — service has not fully recovered from hurricane
  • Tips/Secrets — don't book here if the prices rise.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, LA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2006

Our first stay, and I was very pleased with the Astor Crowne. The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms were small, but elegant, and the attention to detail was fantastic! They included earplugs (which I used), a CD to help you relax, lavendar spray for the linens and even a romance novel in the bathroom! I think details count so much. We had a view right over Canal Street, so the earplugs came in handy. Also, right on Bourbon, can't get better than that!

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

For the price I was not impressed. After checking into our room, within 5 minutes another guest entered our room, they were given the same room. There was an swarm of ants in our room, after locating a phone in our room that worked I called housekeeping regarding the matter. They arrived and sprayed Raid over the entire bathroom , to the point that I had to spend time cleaning the Raid from counter top and floor.
Went to get ice, our floors ice machine was broken. We decided to order room service,when the bill arrived the menu item had a price increase of 52%. I called to inquire as to the difference, "you must have an old menu", I asked when did the menu change, "April 2006" , the hotel adjusted the food bill by 20%, but did not honor the old menu price.
When checking out we discovered a prior guests trash under the beds, so much for housekeeping.

If you must visit New Orleans I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean springs
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

This was the best hotel I have been to. We stayed in a Hotel in New Orleans a week earlier and it was nothing compared to the service and appearance of the Astor. The exquisite staff was top-notch. Valet was top notch. I had the privilege of being helped by 2 of the finest employees i have ever encountered. Ms. Keyana and Jamie were The Best of the Best. I will be sure to re visit the Astor on my future trips to New Orleans.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.