We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for the Essence Festival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #104 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Norfolk, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Stayed for the Essence Festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2005

Some friends and I stayed in a double bed/non smoking for 3days/2nights. We enjoyed our stay throughly. This hotel is at the corner of Canal/Bourbon. So we were in the middle of all the fun. The trolley also made a stop right in front. I do suggest that you request a room above the 4th flr otherwise your view will be blocked. The staff was courteous and always checked to see if we were in need of anything.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    573
    363
    189
    138
See reviews for
230
504
65
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2005

i loved the astor hotel and i loved New Orleans even more because of my experiecnce, as a first time visitor. All the staff were friendly and warm. The location is perfect as your in the heart if the french quarters and everywhere else to be honest. I hope to be back one day soon to get some of that southern hospitality. Until then my prayers and thoughts are with you all in this great time of need.

love you all
fiona anderson - london

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2005

My friends and I had the pleasure of staying at the Astor Crowne Plaza in June of 2005.

The staff was friendly and very competent and made our mini-vacation quite enjoyable. Ms. Kimberly Johnson was exceptionally helpful and should be commended for her fine efforts.

With its great location and exceptional service, I heartily recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

After a string of mediocre hotel experiences on our recent vacation, the Astor Crowne Plaza was a joy! The location was perfect for exploring New Orleans on foot. Every single staff member we encountered were professional and accomodating. The room was truly clean and appointed with special little extras that went beyond the call of duty. After a full day of touring, we couldn't wait to fall into the fabulously comfy bed, pillows and fresh linens. Our room remained quiet even as the New Orleans nightlife buzzed on the city streets below....we loved this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2005

Wonderful hotel visit up until the final day.....

After a long and relaxing vacation my wife and I approach the valet stand to retrieve our car for the long drive back to Florida. This is where the joke begins. After a 15 minute wait ... You and approximately 15 others are picked up, packed in and hauled off two miles down the road to a parking garage in a neighborhood which resembles downtown Beirut. Once there you are shoved out and left to wait while 1 valet attendent scrambles to get 15 vehicles.... What a JOKE ! are you kidding me ?? How and the heck can the Crown Plaza charge their guests $27 a day for this ?? I could have just parked my car in a full service garage behind the hotel and had a much more enjoyable experience. Next time I will just stay at either the Sheraton or Marriott and not risk my life retrieving my car in a parking gargage in the middle of one of the worst neighborhood's in North America ! Astor ... you should be ashamed of yourself !!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2005

My visit at the New Orleans Crowne Plaza Hotel was wonderful. Although it was a business trip, the food, the service and the people who worked to meet my individual needs were what made my stay unique.

As an early childhood professional I was attending a training conference while at the Crowne Plaza. One person in particular (Lorie Reine) worked to assist me with my checking in, computer needs, suggestions and recommendations and she had a sincere desire to help.

The evenings in New Orleans provided a magical touch to my stay. With the culture of the city, the friendliness of the people, and the jazz music on Bourbon Street, I was always glad to have a comfortable bed at night. Because I travel 75% of the time with my job, I am very conscious of the comfort of the room and the people who work at the hotel and I found them far superior to many hotels that I stay in during my travels. May I say the bed and bedding were far superior to many hotels that I stay in in my travels. This is the kind of bed I would like to have at home. The Crowne Plaza provided that for me.

I found the atmosphere of the hotel and food to be very good while attending the conference. The wait/staff were very good to attend to all needs. In fact, everyone from the doorman to the wait/staff were their to make my stay a good one.

Thank you Crowne Plaza for making my stay such a wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2005

My first visit to New Orleans during the busy Essence Jazz Festival weekend. The Astor Crowne Plaza was excellent the staff was very helpful, giving tour information, serving the room and dealing the needs of their visiting guest. This is a very busy weekend yet the staff was exceptional in providing excellent service. I would stay at Astor Crowne Plaza again and again. Perfectly located on the main corner of Bourbon and Canal the street car is direct outside the main door of the hotel. Jasmine and soft music CD. sleeping mask and ear plugs provide to easy the traveler to sleep. Our room view over looked Bourbon street.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.