We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #97 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2005

The staff was exceptionally polite & helpful! From the valet to the front desk staff, EVERYONE at this hotel ROCKED!!! You will not find better service in this city. Rochelle Williams & Eric Dejean were so helpful and friendly during check-in that it started our trip off with a pleasant aura! THANKS!!!

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    517
    472
    277
    149
    109
See reviews for
196
419
55
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2005

The Astor Hotel is located at the corner of Canal and Bourbon Street. There are so many things with-in walking distance, the Bourbon Street strip, Antique and boutique shops on Royal Street, Harah's Casino and the Riverwalk with its associated shopping mall, just a few blocks away. The hotel was beautiful and the staff goes out of thier way to make your stay pleasureable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2005

My husband and I just returned from a weekend trip to New Orleans. I booked our hotel from an online travel service, so it was sight unseen. I was very pleased with the location and room at the Crowne Plaza Astor. One day of our three day stay the room was not cleaned by 3:00PM, but other than that, the hotel was a real pleasure for both of us. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in at a hotel, and the hotel provided earplugs, lavender spray and an audio CD to help guests relax and get a good night's sleep. Since the hotel is right at the corner of Bourbon and Canal Streets, some folks may need the help! The staff was very courteous and friendly. Several of them went out of their way to help us enjoy our weekend and give two newcomers some tips on where to go, what to see!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2005

We enjoyed our stay at the Astor Crowne Plaza. It is located in the French Quarter, which is a great place to visit. The service was excellent especially, Susie who was very friendly and helpful during our stay. I recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to experience a true New Orleans adventure.

Stayed May 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2005

I have stayed at the Astor Crowne a total of three times. I love this hotel and will not think to stay anywhere else when i visit New Orleans. Besides the excellent location, the front desk supervisor Erick Dejan (not sure if i spelled it right) made us feel really welcomed. Service and a smile really goes a long way. See you next year!

Stayed March 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2005

We travel to New Orleans every year for the Essence Festival. What we discovered is that many of the hotels say they offer discounts for the Essence Festival, but when we checked regular rates, it turns out that many of the hotels were actually charging higher rates for festival goers. The Astor Crowne Plaza actually charged a slightly lower rate than their regular rate, and had rooms available. Their staff was EXTREMELY polite and patient from the reservation agent to the valet parkers. The rooms were exquisite. Each bed had a featherbed on top that caused us to miss many events, being unable to get out of bed! Security was super tight. When they saw a lone man get on the elevator with me and my friends (all female), security stopped the elevator two floors later and got on and asked us if we were okay! All in all, the festival in 2004 was a bust, and we decided not to attend anymore in the future, but the Crowne Plaza was definitely the best part of the trip. The only complaints that I have is that the hotel does not have on-site parking and the bar closes too early. I can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2005

Our conference for over 300 people from several southern states was handled with professionalism beginning with the original meeting with Susie to plan the conference. The details of check in, the meeting rooms, meals, and sleeping rooms were all as promised and we were not disappointed. The GM actually checked on us to be sure we had everything we needed. The location is terrific for those wanting to see the city at night.
We plan to use the Astor again.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.