We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to stay there again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #98 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
A TripAdvisor Member
“Can't wait to stay there again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2005

The Astor Crowne Plaza was fantastic. It was clean and comfortable and felt like home. One of the employees, Susie, helped with all of our needs. She was friendly and polite - always smiling. She really cared that we had everything we needed. Great employee for a great establishment. Thanks for doing such a great job. We can't wait to go back for another great visit. Dianne Latour, Lafayette, LA

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    478
    278
    151
    110
See reviews for
197
421
55
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2005

I am a smoker. I like to smoke in the privacy of my room, perferably with a view. Unfortunately, at the Crowne Plaza, smokers are banished to the fourth floor of the Crowne Plaza--the only floor with smoking rooms without views ( unless you count the view of the pool with lounging people whose heads are up against your room window as a "view"). I had such a room and of course I could not open the curtains, therefore, my room was pretty much in the dark unless I turned on the lights during the day. On my second day at the hotel, I requested a room change, I told the front desk I needed some sunlight, and they moved me to a room overlooking Bourbon Street, which was fine, except, just a view of the roof tops and neon signs. Oh well. Just a warning for those requesting smoking rooms at the Crowne Plaza

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2005

Average hotel. Great location (Corner of Canal and Bourbon Street). A room on the south side of the hotel (side opposite of Bourbon Street) is very noisy. There are large cooling towers on the building next door that create a low level roar all night. I don't recommend a room on this side of the building. The pool is very small and quickly fills with quest. The French Quarter food is excellent. Bourbon street was a bit more trashy than i expected. I much preferred the east side of the French Quarter.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2005

I travel regularly, in good business class hotels which can make you a bit fussy when you come to travelling for pleasure. I was in New Orleans for 6 nights during Jazz Fest and also some conventions. The hotel was great, busy and in a location that really doesnt get much better in terms of accessing all of New Orleans attractions. The beds are also really comfy. I was concerned it would be noisy as it is at the corner of Bourbon Street but it was fine. Having the outdoor pool was also great. I would highly recommend staying here either for business or pleasure. The tours that were recommended by the concierge were also spot on not sure what one of the earlier comments meant by them adding on a cut as I didnt see this. Would almost definitely stay here again when we come back to New Orleans which we definitely will be.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2005

we stayed here last labor weekend and i kept meaning to write a review, we were originally booked into the sister hotel but when arrived found out we were staying in the crowne plaza...great, it was a better star! the rooms were nicely decorated and the convience of the location was the best for us, we could just fall in the door after a night around bourbon st, but it was quiet too, the pool was a nice place to relax after a hard days sightseeing, the staff were nice and friendly. I love new orleans and when i go back I will definataly stay at the crowne plaza.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2005

The hotel itself is in a nice location but the overall experience wasn't top rate service. I would not recommend doing any tour bookings with the hotel concierge - terrible service and they will try and sell you anything. Be careful and my advice is call the tour company direct as the hotel adds their cut to the cost.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2005

Great location and great staff. Close to the quarter but far enough away from the action so it's relatively quiet. Our room was in great shape, very clean and the bathroom facilities were top notch. A little pricey but well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.