We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #105 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We recently stayed at the Astor Crowne Plaza for 4 nights. It was a lovely hotel! Beautiful lobby and a great bar & restaurant downstairs (Dickie Brennans Bourbon House). Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Can't comment on the parking since we didn't drive there. And the AC worked fine for us. The only thing we didn't like was that there wasn't a fridge in our room, which would have been nice since it was extremely hot while we there& we would have liked to have had cold water in the room. But overall, our stay was great. The best thing about the hotel is the location - It's right on the corner of Canal Street and Bourbon, so it's very conveniently located to most anything you want to do. Go out one door and you're on crazy Bourbon St. Go out the other and you're on Canal - within steps of museums, the street cars, etc. It's within blocks to most everything !!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    572
    360
    188
    137
See reviews for
228
502
65
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

First of all let me say that we did not have a vehicle so I cannot address the valet parking problem.
We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. A/C worked fine and also had no shower or water temp. problems. The rooms are quite nice, clean and roomy. The last time I was in New Orleans I had an issue with critters in my room. None of that at this hotel. Lobby is beautiful.
We did not eat at the restaurant located in the hotel. I felt it was a little too pricey for us, but then again there aren't many bargains in restaurants in New Orleans. The one gem we found was" Eat "restaurant on Doumaine Street. You are able to bring your own bottle of wine with no corkage fee. Food is very good and what I considered average prices for New Orleans.
The hotel is at the end of Bourbon street and does require some walking to get to some things but everything is quite do-able.
The only complaint that I have is that the daylight staff at the front desk are not very helpful or personable. Had no problems with evening staff.
In my opinion you can't go wrong with this hotel unless you do not like to walk.
One other thing I would like to mention is that the hotel will not cash a traveler's check over $50.00.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I will never stay at this hotel again. First off, they charge $31 a night for VALET parking which is nowhere near the hotel. It took us 30 mins waiting to pull up to the hotel while multiple cars cut in line and proceeded to check in. The valet caption was stressed and overwhelmed. Not enough runners. Poor management!!! When leaving I called to give them my ticket number for them to pull my car up, I was instructed to bring it to the front door. After a 20min wait, we were told that it would be quicker to take the shuttle to the parking garage to get my car. Little did we know that it would have also been quicker to walk the 8 blocks than wait for the shuttle. This is UNACCEPTABLE
The AC wasn’t working when we arrived but after two calls it was repaired.

Also, there are major water issues with low pressure/lack of hot water. It took almost 15 minutes for hot water and then just warm at that.

Room service was ok but we kept it simple. They of course forgot the coffee and silver ware.
The bottom line is we should have stayed in The Monteleone Hotel. A real 4 star hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed one night at the Astor. The location is great -- within walking distance to most places in the French Quarter. We were pleasantly surprised by the size and decor of the room but immediately realized that the AC was not working properly. My husband called the front desk and was told that the AC has a "sensor" that adjusts the temperature when you enter the room and it should cool off within 30 minutes -- needless to say, this was a concocted excuse for poor maintenance, and the room never cooled off. Also, while taking a shower, the water would turn completely off and then back on again - quite annoying!! Last, but not least, the valet parking is a nightmare. After checking out, we stood in line for 30 minutes at the valet stand to get our car. When we finally got to the counter to give them our ticket, we were told that it would be at least 30 minutes before our car would be brought to us. A shuttle was available to take us to the remote parking lot (6 blocks away) to retrieve our car -- we chose this option and discovered that although we had paid over $31 for valet parking, we had to go get our own car from a public parking lot that had a sign posted "$3.00 per day parking." If we had known this, we would have gladly parked our own car and walked to the hotel. Needless to say, we will find another option for our next visit to New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

I've stayed here several times and this visit was the best one yet. The personal service and friendliness of the staff was much, much improved. Every employee we encountered from the moment we stepped out of the car until we pulled away from the curb went almost overboard to make us feel welcome and were extremely helpful. Parking is FINE here - don't be scared away by other posts. Literally step out door and you're in the action on Bourbon Street. Very clean room, very comfortable, tons of pillows.
Got an OUTSTANDING rate and I will stay here again and again. Very pretty place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Went to New Orleans with a friend for the first weekend in May following a business trip in the vicinity. We booked the hotel room through a price-bidding travel site and ended up being very pleased with the results.

The hotel is located at the corner of Bourbon and Canal Streets and is right in the middle of all of the action. We had a room overlooking Bourbon Street and we didn't notice any of the noise the first night we were there, but on the second night it was quite a bit louder from approximately 11 pm until 5 am or so. Even so, the noise was not so loud that it was bothersome as we are not light sleepers, but if you are a light sleeper I would recommend asking for a room on the other side of the hotel. It also helps that Crowne Plaza hotels offer free sleep aid kits in their rooms and earplugs are included in the kit.

We'd heard horror stories about the valet parking at the hotels in the area and instead parked in a nearby parking garage, which was less expensive and we had no trouble or wait in getting the car when we were departing.

The hotel is newly renovated and was very nice - plenty of marble and crystal in the lobby, and new carpeting on the floor we were staying on. All of the staff we came in contact with were very pleasant and willing to do whatever they could to improve our stay. The rooms are fairly standard, but nicely decorated and with very comfortable beds. It was within walking distance of anything you might want to see in the French Quarter, the Mississippi River, and the Central Business District. Guided tours for anything you might want (cemeteries, swamps, haunted tours) are all offered in the lobby. We spent the majority of our time simply walking around the French Quarter and exploring the historical streets and staying in a hotel that with such a great location made that much easier.

I don't recommend the room service unless you are desperate. Like room service in most places, it is over-priced and there are many much better options only steps away on Bourbon Street.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again - great location, great service, great staff, and and overall really nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

It was a very nice stay. The location is very convenient and is close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans

Address: 739 Canal Street at Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 707
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience 'Southern Hospitality' at 'The Place to Meet' in New Orleans! The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is located at the gateway to the world-famous French Quarter at the corner of historic Bourbon and Canal streets. Our location is unsurpassed in 'The Big Easy' and is within walking distance to all the downtown attractions and world-renowned restaurants! Enjoy the perfect blend of old world charm infused with modern luxury and convenience! This non-smoking 693 room, 4-diamond New Orleans hotel will welcome you with our warm and friendly staff, 24-hour in-room dining service, concierge and business services, valet parking, bell services, out-door pool, and fitness center. The Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel-New Orleans is honored to host Dickie Brennan's newest restaurant, the Bourbon House, offering seafood entrees and classic New Orleans Creole Cuisine. As the locals say Laissez les Bon Temps Rouler - Let the Good Times Roll at the Astor Crowne Plaza Hotel in New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.